We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveler rating
4
5
4
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
5
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ferry terminal backyard driveway units kitchenette harbour
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 14 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2015 via mobile

A great place to relax. Every thing you need if you wish to self cater and the beds are sooooooo comfortable. Very clean.
The owners are very helpful and friendly. The motel is close to all you need to explore in Devonport.
Will definitely be back.

Stayed: January 2015, traveled solo
1  Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Devonport is a great spot in Auckland, and we stayed there overnight in summer in order to take a ferry trip to Waiheke island. It is a short walk from the motel to the local restaurants, and to the ferry. The owners seemed to be on holiday during our 1 night stay, and those standing in didn't seem to have much local knowledge (I assume this was just a temporary situation). The two units out the back are comfortable and quiet, and the back garden is very pleasant. We had no noise and slept very well. Parking is a bit of a problem for a "motel". We were okay parked overnight on the street outside, but parking on the street is P120 so leaving the car there all day would be a problem (there is only space for 2 cars off-street, one being the owners). However, there is plenty of free parking outside the ferry terminal for those going to Waiheke Island. WiFi signal was a bit weak in the unit, but worked reliably for me okay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Duncan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The three stars don't mean it isn't a good place to stay, it is. It's just a bit different from the other Devonport B and B's. The place looks like a two unit motel in the back garden of a house, which is on a quiet residential street. Each unit has a bedroom and a small kitchen/sitting room. Oh, and a bathroom. Very clean. Not too private since the family uses the back garden but it's pretty there so you'll want to keep the drapes open anyway. The property backs on the businesses along Victoria Road and you may hear some noise from them, particularly the Patriot Pub, but it ended pretty early the night I was there. Recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 234stevenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Great location if you want a tranquil place to stay in Auckland. Close to the front at Devonport and the ferries over to the CBD.

There are 2 units in the owners' back garden. They are well appointed and the owners are very friendly. There is an interconnecting door between the units. Luckily there was no one else staying there when we were there, but we would think that the units be best hired by people who know each other....

The room could also do with some curtains in the high windows at the back of the unit as the light comes through strongly. However we enjoyed our stay and would go back if we went as a group with folk we knew having the next room.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shardlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 April 2011

The hosts, John and Anne, are lovely and accommodating without beinf intrusive.

They have a little schnauzer called Ollie who quietly pokes around the backyard, and when invited (but only when), comes up for a pat. Most importantly - he doesnt bark and doesn't leave a mess in your yard!

The units were very comfy for my girlfriend and i, and our friends shared the adjacent unit and loved it too.

The street is quiet and pretty and only a stone's throw from town, the water and the ferry wharf.

Thanks John and Anne - we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LP881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews