We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit...will not be the last!”
Review of The Fairfax Arms

The Fairfax Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 15 October 2018

My husband & I visited The Fairfax Arms for Saturday evening meal whilst we were staying in nearby Crayke. We were shown to a table in the conservatory, which was nice, bright & airy, making the dining area in the pub seem rather dark & dismal. The staff were friendly & attentive, although no one person seemed to be responsible for our table.
My husband enjoyed his chicken meal which was served with vegetables & chips, & I enjoyed fillet steak which was cooked to my liking & was served with vegetables & chips.
For desserts we had pear & cinnamon tart ta tan served with ice cream & Blackberry Cheesecake also served with ice cream, both were delicious. We hope to visit again next time we are in the area.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Glynis636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2018

Our 2nd visit to this lovely pub and we were not disappointed. We rang late Sunday morning as we were in the area. Unfortunately they were fully booked, however 10minutes later they rang back and offered us a table. We had roast beef Sunday lunch which was very tasty, beef was excellent. Lovely vegetables especially the cauliflower cheese.

The only reason we haven’t given a 5, is because the vegetable portion size is rather small for 2 people.

Highly recommend and will definitely return.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Carolyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

Sunday lunch is the best Sunday lunch ever, had roast pork was absolutely delicious followed by Eton mess, heaven on a plate can’t wait to go back!! service is excellent great food spotless clean what more could you ask for xxx

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank sonnyjersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 September 2018 via mobile

We were joined by two friends from the South who love coming up North. We were fed in the Orangery - excellent setting. The food came quickly and it was superb - 2 lamb pies ,a half chicken and a salmon which was quite large.We 2 men had a starter - the scallops in garlic butter were yummy. I had a creme brulee .With 6 drinks it came to £104 which we thought was Good value for the quality. Very attentive service - a visit is recommended. If you can raise a group of friends and live or are staying within a 10 mile radius of the pub they will lay on a free collection and return mini bus. Ask for James to discuss.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank welburnhandyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 September 2018 via mobile

We recently went to the Fairfax Arms with family for dinner. We sat in the new conservatory and had a good meal , with good service for what I thought was reasonable value for money. The pub favourites were excellent as were the daily specials and so after all of this we decided to return the following Friday and booked a table for 5 . The food on our following visit was just as good but the table I’d specifically booked for the night wasn’t available and the service in the bar area wasn’t as good as the the service we’d experienced in the conservatory. A good eatery 5 star first visit / 4 star on the second.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank 251pg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fairfax Arms also viewed

Ampleforth, North Yorkshire
Ampleforth, North Yorkshire
 
Wass, North Yorkshire
 
Hovingham, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Fairfax Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing