We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$186/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
US$359
US$279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Landing Resort & Spa(South Lake Tahoe)
US$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stardust Lodge(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
US$149
Stardust Lodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
7 Seas Inn at Tahoe(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
US$127
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
US$269
US$220
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Azure(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
US$232
US$222
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marriott's Timber Lodge(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
US$559
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveler rating
144
8
3
5
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
144
8
3
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblack beanswonderful hostsour honeymoonplace to stayhot tubstayed nightscomfortable bedcan't wait to come backbeautiful propertyfireplaceweddinghikingsummerlodging
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 164 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2018 via mobile

My husband and I had an amazing stay at the Black Bear Lodge. The lodge is beautiful and serene. The owners are so welcoming and accommodating and made us feel at home. The rooms are clean and cozy, the beds are amazing, and I loved the smell of the shower gel. The homemade baked goods were delicious, the breakfast was a perfect start to every day. We loved staying here and can't wait to come back on the summer.

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Elisabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 February 2018

We had our wedding at Black Bear Lodge and it could have not been a more spectacular experience from booking, to "i do" and beyond! Rachel and Greg are simply just great people. They were the best hosts, and made our experience the most memorable trip of our lives. They were so helpful and accommodating. All of our family and friends could not say enough great things about the weekend, and what an amazing time they had. The breakfast goodies are delicious and the main lodge and all of the bungalows are so comfortable and just beautiful. If you ever have the opportunity to stay at Black Bear Lodge with Rachel and Greg and Lola (their beautiful lodge dog!) YOU MUST!!!! It will be an experience you will never forget.

Room Tip: No bad choice! All the rooms are beautiful!
  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nicole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 January 2018

My husband and I visited the Lodge for a few days including New Years Eve! We were absolutely thrilled with all things Black Bear!! From our Hideout, the beautiful Property, the Owners hospitality and of course Lola :-) Thank you for helping us ring in the New Year in your majestic, peaceful Lodge. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel C, Owner at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Thanks for staying with us Beth! We look forward to seeing you guys next time. -Greg, Rachel & Lola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 October 2017

We visited the Lodge during our honeymoon and it was great.
We were preatty tired after hiking in Yosemite and this place was perfect - Beautiful, warm and clean property. The room had a fireplace, very comfortable bed and a great view over the 'garden'. We enjoyed our stay in this calm and nice area very much.
We really liked home made breakfasts and the hot tub in the evening was a cherry on the top :)

The new owners Rachael and Greg are wonderful hosts and they have an adorable dog - Lola :)
Thank you !

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marysia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 October 2017

Fantastic lodge with very comfortable beds, fireplace in the room, very clean. Beautiful property and within walking distance of a number of excellent restaurants.
The new owners Greg and Rachael are wonderful hosts and make a home made continental breakfast each day.

Room Tip: The cabins have room for 6 with a bunk bed that my grand-children loved. We stayed in the lodge and our room was perfect.
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank chrisrobinson5040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel C, Owner at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Thanks, Chris! It was so great to meet you and your family. We'll see you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews