We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveler rating
26
52
44
11
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
52
44
11
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbigger hotelshot tubbeach lakeroom was cleanharvey's casinocasino hotelswithin walking distanceconvenient locationthe main dragmotelmicrowavelinens
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 155 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2017

We attended a wedding up in Tahoe and only needed a place to place to get ready after the drive up, and a place to sleep after the reception. The Alpine Inn fit what we needed.

The hotel sits right on the state line, and it's walking distance to most of the activities in 'downtown'. From a location perspective, it is great. As for the rooms, we weren't impressed. I could be because we were put in a handicapped room (neither of us are), but the room was small (not sure how it met ADA requirements) and the amenities were basic.

The room had a nice tv with cable, a refrigerator, and a clean basic bathroom. The lady at check in said that there was a spa in every room, but unless they consider a handicap shower a spa, we didn't see one. The room was clean and the linens fresh. Unfortunately, the ceiling fan was so far off balance we thought it would crash down on us, so we had to use the AC which ran all night.

In the morning, we could hear the people above us as if they were in the same room, so we'd recommend that you request a room on the 2nd floor. Parking is a challenge here, particularly if you can't get a spot on the street.

We'd try the place again and make sure to request a room on the 2nd floor.

Room Tip: Top floor, towards the back are probably the best rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 August 2017

Rooms are clean and comfortable and the setting is much nicer than your average motel. Pool area is lovely and a lot of effort goes into maintaining the gardens which makes a difference. Pool and hot tub are clean and a nice addition. Location is great; just a short walk to town for the bars and restaurants and also to the lake. Prices are also very reasonable.

Only slight negatives are that we didn't find the staff to be very friendly or welcoming and breakfast (carrying everything back to the room) isn't ideal. But overall still an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 August 2017

Room was small but very comfortable bed, great shower and hot tub in the room. Very clean inside and outside. Great location...near the beach and Harvey's and nice restaurants. Very nice staff....hardworking and helpful.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are quieter.
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ken0246352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 July 2017

The people at this location are trying very hard to give their guests a good experience. The rooms are updated, well cared for and very clean. The beds are comfortable and they have blankets - not hot comforters! We didn't need to use the AC, but it was there. The grounds and swimming pool are also very clean and well cared for; lots of green lawn and pretty flowers. It's an excellent location, just a half block from Harvey's, and the price is reasonable - with no hidden fees!

Breakfast was adequate, although there is little space to sit so we took the food back to our room. The one big downside was the parking. There really isn't enough for all of the rooms, which can be a problem.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank SacramentoCalGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

My family comes up annually in the summer to Tahoe area. After a very bad experience at another hotel last summer we decide to try some place new. The hotel is a cute little property and has a very inviting feel to it. The price was a little high but no more than other places of similar category for summer in Tahoe. This place fits our needs as far as location goes but lacks in a few small areas. 1) the room size- it's a bit of a tight squeeze entering and exiting the bathroom. 2) the fan in our room did not work which made it a bit stuffy. 3) the walls are thin and you everything your upstairs neighbors are doing. It's muffled so it's only a real issue at night when trying to sleep. 4) office closes a bit early so if you need something after hours you're out of luck until morning; not too big of an issue though. All minor issues that were inconveniences but not major issues.
Now for the positives. The beds are super comfortable!! Was very pleasantly surprised by how well everyone in our family slept. Location is great- walking distances to casinos, shopping and dining and nightlife, Heavenly Village, grocery stores, and a beach/the lake. For how pricey Tahoe can be during the summer, the price was ok (but could be a little better).

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank April H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews