We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch on the rocks”
Review of Harbour House

Harbour House
Ranked #3 of 30 Restaurants in Kalk Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Harbour House Restaurant is located in the heart of an old working fishing harbour.Come and experience fine dining as the waves splash up against the windows while you enjoy the freshest seafood and line fish caught from our own boat.Window tables are a must so reservations are essential!
Reviewed 4 April 2018

I love this restaurant and was pleased to find that it was as good as the year before. We had the best seat in the house, a table by the window overlooking the rocks. Our waiter looked after us beautifully, the food was exceptional stunningly presented. We could have stayed there for hours and will definitely return.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank DorsetTruffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarbourHouseG, Manager at Harbour House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear DorsetTruffle

Thank you very much for the great review on TripAdvisor.

I am very pleased to hear you had an enjoyable experience at Harbour House Kalk Bay. We pride ourselves with great views, service and food.

I hope there are many more visits and amazing experiences with us in your not too distant future.

Kindest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,885)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 36 of 1,885 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Been coming here for years. But Saterday 5:30pm upstairs deck was an experience I would like to forget. Service slow, poor and forgot my cheese cake. House salad -a few sprinkled leaves. If you like poor local service Don't eat here

Thank dager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarbourHouseG, Manager at Harbour House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear dager

Thank you for taking the time to post this review and for your recent visit. Our sincerest apologies for your poor experience at our branch when you visited.

I would really like to make contact with you, please could you send me your contact details to Merinda@harbourhouse.co.za.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

We had the pleasure of eating here and sitting right by the sea. (Try to sit on the outdoor table if you can). The food was delicious, especially the sushi, which was some of the best we’ve had.

You get a lovely view of the sea and normally there are seals playing around right by the restaurant.

Make sure to book as well to be safe.

Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarbourHouseG, Manager at Harbour House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Alex R

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor following your visit to Kalk Bay.

The team aim to please and provide our guests with the best possible guest experience when dining with us. We pleased to hear that we achieved this on your visit with us.

I hope there are many more visits and amazing experiences with us in your not too distant future.

Kindest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

We have been regulars at the harbour house for the past 3 years but over the past 6 months standard have dropped as prices have increased. The seafood platters have doubled in price and the restaurant gradually decayed. Seriously in need of a rethink as choice is plentiful and the previous allure is fading. Plenty of alternatives for seafood with a view in short proximity. Will from now on go there.
What a pity, from “must visit” to “tourist trap ripoff”
M

1  Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarbourHouseG, Manager at Harbour House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Michael O

Thank you for taking the time to post this review and for your recent visit.

Our sincerest apologies for your poor experience at our branch when you visited. I would really like to make contact with you, please could you send me your contact details to Merinda@harbourhouse.co.za.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 March 2018

We were invited to harbour House for dinner. The view and proximity to the sea remain spectacular! We were delighted to see that the previously sandy parking lot had been tarred, but the walk from the lot into the restaurant was shabby and grubby. The concrete stairs were broken and uneven, the smells emanating from the drains were unbearable and we ran into the restaurant to escape them. Our table had an excellent view, but the floor boards were uneven, making the seating wobbly. The tracks of the glass were filthy and full of bird droppings. The paint work was peeling and badly in need of attention. Sadly the food was also not the standard we have known it to be before, my medium fillet steak came tough and cooked through. We were disappointed and encourage management to seriously evaluate their property and food, as it is currently is currently we can only recommend the views but not the restaurant.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Wheezela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarbourHouseG, Manager at Harbour House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Dear Wheezela

Thank you for taking the time to post this review and for your recent visit.

Our sincerest apologies for your poor experience at our branch when you visited. I would really like to make contact with you, please could you send your contact details to me- Merinda@harbourhouse.co.za.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbour House also viewed

Constantia, Cape Town
 
Muizenberg, Cape Town
Kalk Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to Harbour House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing