We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Savory Ilocano cuisine but service needs improvement. ”

Rufino's Cafe Paoay
Ranked #3 of 8 Restaurants in Paoay
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 June 2018 via mobile

It was scorching hot at Paoay church and we were hungry as well when we found Rufino's cafe at a nearby building.

Their menu was the usual Ilocano food, and for me the taste was just ordinary, maybe except for the chocolate and the blueberry cheesecake that my kids loved. Their sizzling dinakdakan and pinakbet were ok. I guess I have expected much since I was really hoping to taste and experience authentic Ilocano cuisine. It wasn't bad but something was lacking.

The service needs improvement since we have to find seats for ourselves considering that the place wasn't packed when we came there. The receptionist/waiters should have been more attentive and accommodating.
The waiters also took some time before taking our orders and the food arrived like 45 minutes later after our first order. We have noticed that the waiters were pointing fingers to each other whenever customers need to be served. Refilling our drinks took at least 5 minutes! It would be a total waste if Rufino's legacy will be tainted by mediocre service.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank radjap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 5 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Highly recommend their pizza - all flavours. Crisp and thin crust with perfect toppings! Value for money. Waiters are very friendly!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank CFBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

Flip side:
-cozy ambiance
-airconditioned place
-attentive and accomodating servers

Down side:
-it took forever before our orders were served (more than 30mins for a simple salad)
-taste and texture of the food was mediocre
-pizza crust tasted like old bread
-salad greens looked and tasted unappetizing

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank cosiewozy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 March 2017

Aside from the delicious food, cozy ambiience and view of Paoay Church, what stands out about this Cafe is the amazing customer service given by the owners, Chef Nic and his wife Ms. Gwen. Highly recommended for small group dining. Ms. Gwen is very helpful in coming up with a customized buffet fare for an intimate group gathering. Just a tip, at sundown, when Paoay Church is glowing in splendor, Cafe Rufino is just perfect for a romantic dinner.

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 April 2016

Next to the beautiful church of Paoay and just before going to the sand dunes wild ride (have to have something in the stomach for this adventure) is the very nice restaurant Ruffino located, A/C and very good food - in fact same best quality like in the headquarter restaurant Bistro in Candon - a pleasure to visit and to enjoy the quality of a Swiss trained chef and his crew. Congratulations.

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank marcwerder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rufino's Cafe Paoay also viewed

Paoay, Ilocos Norte Province
Paoay, Ilocos Norte Province
 
Batac, Ilocos Norte Province
 
Laoag, Ilocos Norte Province
Paoay, Ilocos Norte Province
 

Been to Rufino's Cafe Paoay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing