We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Japanese Food”
Review of Izakaya Potts

Izakaya Potts
Ranked #3 of 20 Restaurants in Pottsville
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We heard great reviews about this little Japanese Restaurant in Pottsville, and as we were staying in Kingscliff for the weekend, we had to book in and give it a try and we were blown away with how great the food was. We had a seat at the bar which over looks the chef's cooking area and it was just amazing to watch and interact with them as well. We would love to go there more often but we live in Sydney so we will have to keep flying up there ever now and again just so we can enjoy this great little place.

Date of visit: March 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Johnnkaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2021

Isakaya Potts is one of those great out-of-the-way finds. You wouldn't expect a place serving accessible and delicious Japanese (and sake) in Pottsville, but here it is. Cute and busy with friendly service. Really enjoyed the Waygu beef teriyaki and the Suntory lager on tap. You will need to book on weekeends and during the summer holiday period.

Date of visit: February 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lootichoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 December 2020 via mobile

Very Popular in Pottsville. Make sure you book by phone. We have been here before and once again not disappointed. The food was delicious & service very friendly. We ordered the eggplant which was recommended by the waitress, chicken karaage, yakitori, wagyu skewers , lotus chips, edamame & devine prawns. All what we ordered was delicious!! I was disappointed they don’t have gyoza on the menu. It the best restaurant in town.

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank kylielarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 October 2020

Terrible communication terrible service dodgy billing we received 8 glasses of white wine on our bill that we're never drunk which they probably took off when point it out very difficult to make reservation don't answer their phone but otherwise the food's kind of ok business mentality is really poor

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank A4188WHjeremyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 August 2020

First to arrive for booking at 17.30. Told " not ready" - "come back in few mins" . Seated and order placed ahead of one other table by 17.40. Gave up waiting for meal service & left 50 minutes later!! It appears staff too busy catering to take away orders and new arrivals to attend to already seated clients! Fact that it was our anniversary evening made the experience even more disappointing!! Won't be returning to be ignored again!!!

Date of visit: August 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank alexphelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Izakaya Potts also viewed

Pottsville, New South Wales
Pottsville, New South Wales
 
Cabarita Beach, New South Wales
Pottsville, New South Wales
 

Been to Izakaya Potts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.