We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Dumplings and Wontons”
Review of Din Tai Fung

Din Tai Fung
Ranked #9 of 718 Restaurants in Taguig City
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed our lunch here at Din Tai Fung. We waited about 3 minutes for a table. I've been to DTF in Los Angeles and I have waited 45 minutes to an hour for a table. They opened a restaurant in San Jose, Ca too but we haven't visited because of the long wait times there! This restaurant in Bonifacio is spacious and bright.

For those not familiar with DTF style dining, the portions here are not the usual Chinese Restaurant ala Carte portions that feed up to 4 ppl. Appetizers and noodle dishes are generally smaller portions that feed about 1-2 ppl.

We enjoyed our lunch here. This is my spouse's first time dining here and she loved that the wrappers of the dumplings and wontons were not too doughy and chewy. It is quite funny that I was able to take her to a DTF in the Philippines instead of the DTF where we live in California! It was perfect.

We ordered (2ppl):
Green Beans
Pork XLB 10pcs
Pork & garlic XLB 5 pcs
Spicy noodles with Shrimp & Pork wontons
Spicy Vegetarian Wontons
Red bean Mochi
Ice Tea x 2

Total bill was about 1416.xx PHP.

Service was prompt and friendly. I really like that they have this purse/bag valet where you place your bag or items next to your table.

Date of visit: March 2017
1  Thank tiglao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

91 - 95 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2017

DIN TAI FUNG
BONIFACIO HIGH STREET C1
CENTRAL BGC, TAGUIG.

Along Bonifacio High Street, there is a big display of “soup dumpling” in a simulated steamer. The “Xiao Long Bao,” the dough spread out thinly enough to wrapped around a pork filling called “soup dumpling” is drawing crowds to Din Tai Fung restaurant. We were one of them lining up to try and observe the process. The juice of the pork supposedly releases a tasty broth.
We ordered and followed their instruction how to chomp them. The dumpling which is much smaller than a golf ball must have only a small portion of filling not enough to extract more liquid to have a tasty broth. We tried five of them all with the same results, a minuscule amount of liquid and not tasty at all.
We also ordered beef with tendons noodle soup. The tiny meat portions and tendons were tender, but the broth and noodles need more condiment adjustment to be luscious. The fried rice appeared delicious with the strips of meat and scrambled egg mixed with finely chopped green onions, but emerged tastefully weak, and so with the soy veggie wonton.

While waiting to be called, they have a seamless approach to have the diners checked what they want to order, so there’s only a little wait after being seated.

The place is quite big enough to draw a big crowd, clean and excellent service. A big glass covered room separated the diners from the team of “dumpling wrappers.”
The tables are small enough for two diners especially if you order more dishes. For ladies, no need to worry where to hang your bag. It’s all taken cared of.
On our part, the dishes we ordered didn’t even overwhelm us a bit.

3-12-2017

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank niki9621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

It's a big place , quite .. Very clean .. quick .. the food was delicious .. small portions .. kind of tapas..but really nice ! And I think everything is home made so .. that's really great .. btw you must try the mango desert ❤

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank mariai874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 March 2017

We were a party of six, and quickly were seated at our table.
We filled in our order - the menu is available in English, including vegetarian options.
We ordered several appetizers, soup, dumplings, fried rice and mango sago for dessert. Food was delicious and surely there were some highlights, as the fried dumplings garnished with mushrooms or the fried rice with fish.
Service was fast and professional.

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hazinheira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 February 2017 via mobile

First time in this restaurant as their Megamall branch always has a long queue
There was a long line here also but it was orderly & the wait was quite brief (for a party of 10)
We were led to a room with a big round table & attended by Lean who was very helpful & efficient, even giving a short "briefing" on the dip mix for their xia long biao"
Ordered other dish, all good.
A pleasant experience, food & service-wise.
Definitely, would not hesitate to recommend this place

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank loloninoah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Din Tai Fung also viewed

Taguig City, Metro Manila
Taguig City, Metro Manila
 
Taguig City, Metro Manila
 
Taguig City, Metro Manila
Makati, Metro Manila
 

Been to Din Tai Fung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing