We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveler rating
15
13
8
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
13
8
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbush campingblack cockatooportable toiletscamping experienceno mobile phone receptionbath matgreat campingrope swingdump pointcleaned dailygreat weekendamenities blockpowered siteself containedcowscreekcampers
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 44 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Beautiful bush camping site with so many exciting and exclusive sites. If you are looking for a caravan park, perhaps reread the description.
This is remote bush camping and flat caravan sites by beautiful creeks with cattle and horses.
Some toilets and showers, but if you don’t like country camping, don’t winge about the services which are far better than some.
You get access to a private farm, not a council caravan park. You get to bring your dogs and cut your own firewood.
If that ain’t great, what is.

Stayed: April 2018, traveled with family
2  Thank Brett T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

We went for the Easter weekend 2018, for which we paid a flat rate for the whole weekend (from memory it was $68/adult). What we paid for I am not sure as we camped in cows' paddocks, in very long grass and VERY far from the toilets (we had to drive 10 minutes on dirt tracks to get to the nearest toilet). The camp ground was very crowded and there was no restriction on how many more people could come, but no extra amenities were supplied to accommodate all those people. If you are going to make people pay to stay and are going to always take more, then you need to provide more amenities (even temporary chemical toilets would have been better than this). There was no drinking water and only taps at the (few) toilets with what I can only assume was water from the creek. On top of having to bring all our drinking water, we had to take all our rubbish with us as there was no bins. The (few) toilets were somewhat clean as someone was mopping the floors and bringing toilet paper a few times a day. There was no handsoap. My friend tried the showers at Banshee Valley and said the female shower was dark and repulsive. She ended up using the male as it was brighter, but she said it was still not "clean". Wildlife was very limited as there were cows and horses everywhere. No kangaroos, no brush turkeys. These are people who collect your money to let you camp among their cow poo. Very disappointing. Yes, the scenery is nice, but you also need facilities.

Stayed: April 2018, traveled with family
Thank clo980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 March 2018

We were very disappointed with our experience with Gordon Country. We had booked to stay in one of the cabins and due to circumstances beyond our control, were then unable to keep the booking. We phoned in advance to inform the owner of the situation and we were told that we would be able to get a credit for future use (book another weekend etc) for the money we had paid. Two days after the original booking we were then informed that we were now unable to use the credit and have therefore forfeited over $600!! The owners have refused to honour their original statement - very dodgy business practice and very poor customer service and communication. We are extremely disappointed not to mention, have completely lost over $600 which Gordon Country have very happily pocketed. We would not recommend anyone book to stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 January 2018

Stayed over the New Year long weekend Plenty of space for families and friends to enjoy witout getting in the way of other campers. Showers and working toilets are the only concessions to modern lifestyle with camping and all it entails the main reason for going there. No mobile phone reception is a god send. The creek is a great place to cool off after a day of bushwalking.

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kev B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 January 2018

This campsite is a little pricey at first, but it is well worth it and we just keep coming back.

The idea of total off the grid camping is fully achieved here with total separation from any other campers anywhere on this massive property. We took a few drives up the 4WD tracks to collect firewood for each night and had the freedom to just relax in our private section of the creek during the day.

A fantastic feature about Gordon Country is there is no mobile phone reception, so we are forced to use the good old UHF for communications which gives this camping experience a whole new feel.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Shammy01011101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews