We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
9 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$496
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$527
View deal
Traveluro
US$527
US$257
View deal
Hotels.comUS$527
eDreamsUS$496
Orbitz.comUS$527
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (267)
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveler rating
194
45
12
6
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
194
45
12
6
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews juanillo beach short shuttle ride don mario rental car food and beverage manager all inclusive package cap cana concierge staff special dinner great relaxing vacation our room was spacious private beach timeshare presentation pools were clean great person staff went out of their way coco bongo
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 267 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2021

Pre Covid days I would bet this resort would have been awesome. But the resort is trying to get back to normalcy. Only 1 restaurant open and a very tiny bar that was open. The room was very nice and cleaned very well every day. The pools were very nice as well but there is no jacuzzi type area. Its hot in the DR but still to be a 5 star resort you need a jacuzzi. The employees were very nice but they did not speak English that well in the restaurant. That is not a huge deal as we are in another country but just saying it would have been slightly better. Overall I would come back there but I would not pay 5 star prices. Georgina was awesome. She was very pleasant to deal with.

Date of stay: March 2021
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank michaelcox1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancora Cap Cana, Guest Services / Front Office at Ancora Cap Cana - Marina Resort & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2021

Dear Michaelcox1977,

We appreciate your visit and the time taken to leave us your opinion on your stay in Ancora Cap Cana. Please know that our 11-2 restaurant per night rule has to do with Dominican Government covid regulations. We also have swimout rooms in our hotel. Thank you again for the time taken to leave us your comments, we will also be sure to share with Georgina from our vacation club.

Warm Regards,

Amanda Guevara (aguevara@ancoracapcana.com)
Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 March 2021

This was our first visit to an all-inclusive resort. Not surprisingly, there was some good, some bad, and some okay.

The good: The staff is wonderful. Everyone is incredibly friendly, and very helpful. We didn't need anything special but I got the sense that they would go above and beyond to make it happen. The grounds of the hotel itself are really cool, too. We entertained ourselves just wandering around one night - so many interesting things to look at! There are diverse european/colonial architectures that work together, so you get a lot variety but it still feels cohesive. There was clearly a lot of money and attention to detail when it was first built, especially in the little shopping zone. Almost everything was closed and a lot looked totally empty (not sure if they went out of business with covid or if it's always more temporary shops), but it felt like we were walking through the downtown of a mostly empty village in Europe! It's also interesting to walk along the marina and see the big yachts on the other side. And, there are multiple pools that are all very nice. Even though they're on the second story, it's easy to forget that because they're surrounded by lawn!

The okay: the food didn't blow us away. (Not counting the drinks - we really enjoyed the open bar and had some very tasty cocktails.) While we were there dinner was rotating between the four restaurants and the buffet with only one or two open every night, but we suspect that when there are more guests you have more choices each night. None of the food was bad, but none of it was really spectacular either. The one exception might have been the salmon at Il Cielo ("the Italian restaurant"). Be warned, not every restaurant in the complex is included with the all-inclusive stay! The staff were very clear about this, but on our first night when we were tired from traveling we still managed to mess this up and ended up at a different, not included Italian restaurant. So, it was entirely our fault, but an unexpected expense!

The hotel isn't on the beach, but they have a partnership that allows guests to access the beach and get chairs at a nearby beach (Playa Juanillo). There is a free shuttle that runs from the hotel to the beach, but we had a rental car so we didn't take advantage of it. The beach is beautiful, with palm trees, white sands, and turquoise water. It was clean and not crowded.

The bad: the excursions. These are run by other companies, but they have some sort of partnership within Ancora and get pushed pretty heavily. We did two excursions--the "boogies" ($80 each) and the trip to Saona Island ($100 each). We felt that both were overpriced for what you got. The island trip involves about an hour ride in a van to Bayhibe, where you get on a big tourist catamaran sailboat with a lot of other people from a lot of other hotels. Even supposedly at 60% capacity, the boat felt really full (maybe 30-35 people). Apparently it is a party boat - which means playing music way too loud (we couldn't hear each other without almost yelling) at 10:00 a.m. and having rum and coke offered frequently (no water though). The coast that you sail past is beautiful, but we would have much enjoyed a more peaceful experience. Once you're there, you have a few hours to just relax on the island's beach and swim, which is amazing. The water is very comfortably warm, and the beach is beautiful, though a little crowded because multiple tour companies do the same trip at once. They feed you lunch, but the food was merely passable to bordering on bad. We then took a speedboat to another area along the coast where you are out from the shore a bit but the water is only waist deep. Again, the water was very nice, and if you're into rum and coke more of that is available. The speed boat then takes you the rest of the way to Bayhibe and you get back into the shuttle to go to your hotel. we were in a bigger, catamaran speed boat so the ride wasn't too uncomfortable, but other people in our shuttle said that they were in a smaller speed boat that went faster and there was a lot of painful impacting on their backs. It's an all day excursion (leave at 8, return around 5). The boogies excursion was shorter at ~5 hours, but with a lot more stops! again, they pick you up at the hotel, and you ride in an open-air truck about 30 minutes to the facility. After some time to peruse the gift shop, you visit an adventure park where you see a "traditional" Taino dance, swim in a cave, and visit Macao Beach. Each stop is brief (20-30 minutes) and I think a lot of the appeal is supposed to be getting to drive the boogies in between the stops. However, you have to stay in a line with the other tourists, and the boogies are from mad max, but with rules and a top speed of maybe 15 mph. When the boogie in front of us accelerated it blew radiator water like a little gyser. We found it boring and slow and wanted to be able to explore a bit more. We would have liked to hear a lot more about the history of the Taino people and culture (it was just a few minutes of the dance, and then being basically forced to pose for photos with them). This was also the only place in the entire country where we felt like the people trying to sell things were overly pushy, especially at the beach.

Both tours had professional photographers who really want you to pose for them. Some of the photos were good, but the prices they were asking for them were outrageous ($50 for 24 photos) and it's all or nothing (they wouldn't bargain!).

If you don't want to do the excursions and you don't want to spend every day at the beach, there isn't a lot else to do in the area.

Getting through the gate into the entire complex can also be a pain when you haven't checked in yet! The security is rather tight so bring documentation of your stay to show them.

Overall it's a gorgeous resort and good relaxing experience, but so touristy that it is suited for a resort-oriented stay, and not for getting to know art history or DR culture.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank landofskybluewater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancora Cap Cana, Guest Services / Front Office at Ancora Cap Cana - Marina Resort & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2021

Dear landofskybluewater,

Thank you for you visit and the time taken to leave us such a detailed account of your stay, which is of the utmost importance to us!

While you seem to have thoroughly enjoyed our resort and the detailed service of our staff, we have taken note as to how we can improve with the excursions we offer from partner companies.

We do hope you will visit us again!

Sincerely,

Amanda Guevara (aguevara@ancoracapcana.com)
Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 February 2021

It is well managed hotel and resort. with three nice pools, very nice and clean. The staff were extremely friendly and Professional. The weather was perfect, plus the beaches were clean and nice. they were 15 minutes away with the hotel shuttle.
would like to review a few very nice people: Damars, Nicolas, Regino, Gjanalisa and Jorgina, these people very helpful and friendly. Overall experience was very nice and relaxing.

Room tip: nice rooms with a great view.
Date of stay: January 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Adventurer699053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancora Cap Cana, Guest Services / Front Office at Ancora Cap Cana - Marina Resort & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2021

Dear Adventurer699053,

Thank you for your visit and for taking the time to leave us such kind words! We will be sure to share your lovely comments with the staff members mentioned.

We await your return her ein your home in Cap Cana!

Warm Regards,

Amanda Guevara
Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 January 2021

Hard to not like this place. I’m 28 years old and came here with family. The service at the restaurants was absolutely amazing. Confesor (guy seems to work everyday all day) Freddy, and the chefs were by far the best staff I’ve ever encountered at any resort that I’ve been at (I travel frequently for work and leisure). They were constantly attentive, friendly, never pressured us for tips (common practice at other resorts), and remembered the small details we’d share on previous days for future meals. For example, today Freddy brought me tea at the end of my dinner because I’ve asked for it on two other occasions. He is paying attention to what I like and that’s a gesture I really appreciate. And the food is F*CKING AMAZING! Dinner exceeded my expectations every single night. Truly a great dining experience.

The two different pools is nice. One is calmer, the other has the bar next to it. Richard is a great person to talk too. Amazing energy and charisma that can brighten anyone’s day. Considering covid, Ancora has a good grip on bow to follow protocol but still provide some type of social experience through their staff. If you’re aware that covid can limit somethings, you won’t be bothered by what they have done to limit any surges on the property.

One downside is that the beach is not on the property which isn’t Ancora’s fault. A five minute shuttle ride will get you to one of the most beautiful beaches you have ever seen.

The rooms are huge! I was in just a junior suite and had more than enough space. Towels were changed everyday. Wifi works fine. Can be spotty but it comes right back as soon as you walk five feet down. It works more than it doesn’t. AC is cold.

Gym is one of the better ones that I’ve been at for a resort. Sauna is inside the locker room which is a nice touch.

I can’t wait to go back. I’m definitely going to miss this place. Thank you for the amazing experience in such a tough time for all. This truly left me satisfied.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank josegnova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancora Cap Cana, Guest Services / Front Office at Ancora Cap Cana - Marina Resort & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2021

Dear Mr. Nova,

It's been truly a pleasure for our team to receive your comments. We are honored to know that you enjoyed your stay, including our facilities and the dedicated service of our staff. We will be sure to share your kind words with the staff members mentioned.

It would be a pleasure for our team to be able to welcome you again soon! Here in Ancora Cap Cana, your home away from home.

Sincerely,

Amanda Guevara (aguevara@ancoracapcana.com)
Guest Experience Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 December 2020

Great staff, poor management, poor communication, terrible food. Wait until way after COVID has subsided and this may be a great spot, for now avoid at all costs. It is safe and secluded but operating on a shoestring.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank 287fredrickh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancora Cap Cana, Guest Services / Front Office at Ancora Cap Cana - Marina Resort & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2020

Dear 287fredrickh,

Thank you for choosing Ancora Cap Cana during your time in Punta Cana! It is unfortunate to hear that you did not enjoy your stay.... we wish you would have explained a little more as to why you did not enjoy your time with us, however we truly hope you enjoyed your birthday celebration, our team was truly devoted to making your special day a memorable one!

Concerning Covid-19 protocols, this is to the upmost important to our team, this is why some of our protocols include, temperature check upon entering our lobby, our staff serves our guests inside the buffet and sanitizing machines for the tables in our restaurants as well as our rooms during houekeeping, these among other things.

We hope you can give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future!

Warm Regards,

Amanda Guevara(aguevara@ancoracapcana.com)
Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews