We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Great guide for a great park!

Abel is a great tourguide. When we visited manzanillo Wildlife Reserve we where looking for a guide... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
OnAir19525158083
,
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
via mobile
Magical Nighttime Jungle Experience

This was a really special once in a lifetime experience, not to be missed on your Costa Rica trip... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
SharonRich
,
Los Angeles
Read all 463 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Manzanillo
from $75.65
More Info
Reviews (463)
Filter reviews
463 results
Traveler rating
454
6
2
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
454
6
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gandoca manzanillo wildlife refuge costa rica bullet ants great guide his knowledge golden orb howler monkeys bird watching the reserve eyelash vipers national park walked right jungle hike bri bri my girlfriend great sense of humor
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 463 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2022 via mobile

If you’re going to Manzanillo, please do not miss out on taking a tour with Abel. You will not regret!

We went for a morning tour of the Refugio Silvestre Gandoca-Manzanillo and then later a night tour. It was truly amazing and two completely different experiences. We saw so much wildlife thanks to our guide. He is a certified expert with over 20 years of experience ! And it shows. He pointed out things we would never have seen on our own and taught us so many things about the insects, birds, snakes, mammals and plants all around us. He is never in a rush and takes his time to make sure we have all been able to catch a good look (and a great photo) of the animals.

We found out about Abel from Lonely Planet (Costa Rica 2021 edition) and confirmed with Tripadvisor. To book a tour, or ask about what else he offers (which is all types of adventures) just contact him through WhatsApp +506 8895 7394

All the hype you see here is for a good reason! Abel is truly a great tour guide, very passionate about his work, and you cannot leave Costa Rica without having gone on one of his tours. It is worth every single penny.

PS. He even taught us new tricks on how to take amazing pictures with our phones, it worked wonders at night! Will recommend this tour to all our friends and family, an unforgettable experience. Thank you Abel.

Date of experience: October 2022
1  Thank asdfghjklio
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 13, 2022

Absolutely exceptional experience with Abel, very knowledgeable and offered a great tour. We spent the day in the rain forest where he provided a great deal of information about the sights, he took our photos and plenty of videos, and made our trip that much better☺️

Date of experience: October 2022
1  Thank Justice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 10, 2022 via mobile

Never would I have thought that by texting a WhatsApp number provided by a Manzanillo lodge I would have such an amazing guided tour of Manzanillo National Park by Abel!

Abel an enchanting speaker with thorough explanations of the plants, animals and history of the Manzanillo. He asks questions and asked what we hoped to see ahead of time. He is very focused on creating a welcoming space. Also, he’s a local so he truly knows the area!

I went as a single female traveler and joined a tour of two filmmakers. We had a great time! We saw red frogs, yellow striped poison frogs, green and brown basilisks, two toed sloths, blue herons, yellow throated and keel billed toucans, many birds and heard many monkeys. We even tasted the fruit of the cacao tree!

When I come back, I’m calling Abel immediately for a night tour to finally see some red eyed tree frogs!

Date of experience: October 2022
1  Thank Anika A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 25, 2022

Such a fun tour. Abel had so much energy. He was very knowledgeable and eager to tell us about all the plants and animals. My 9 year old son had dozens of questions and he was so patient and answered all of them.

Date of experience: September 2022
1  Thank janiceb04
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 16, 2022

Went on a Night Walking Tour in Manzanillo NP with Abel. We were the only ones to book a tour on this day, so it was essentially a private tour. Abel did the tour even longer than planned - for almost 4 hours, but the hours passed by like minutes. On every corner was something to see. Different lizards, frogs (the red eyed tree frog of course), snakes, spiders you name it. Abel had for every animal a story to tell and was very informative and super friendly.

Date of experience: September 2022
1  Thank Nostradamus67
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews