We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tilal Liwa Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$96
US$93
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Rose Hotel(Abu Dhabi)(Great Value!)
US$60
US$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
City Seasons Al Hamara Hotel(Abu Dhabi)(Great Value!)
US$51
US$47
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$46
US$43
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ramada Abu Dhabi Downtown(Abu Dhabi)(Great Value!)
US$47
US$40
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bin Majid Nehal(Abu Dhabi)(Great Value!)
US$53
US$34
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Al Maha Arjaan by Rotana Abu Dhabi(Abu Dhabi)(Great Value!)
US$63
US$51
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Abu Dhabi Downtown(Abu Dhabi)(Great Value!)
US$85
US$71
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Strand Hotel(Abu Dhabi)
US$35
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,303)
Filter reviews
1,304 results
Traveler rating
583
485
154
52
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
583
485
154
52
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstilal liwaquad bikingabu dhabidesert viewinfinity poolsand boardingcamel ridedune bashingsand dunesall inclusive packagecakedesert resortcamel farmsdesert safarian oasislunch and dinnerlong drive
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,304 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It is a good getaway to relax and chill. We were offered an upgrade to the courtyard room which was very spacious. Also, it was my husband's bday so they a sent a nice cake for the celebration.

The pool is really nice and the perfect place to unwind.The resort as hidden nooks & corners which you can explore while walking through & make great spots for the photo buffs.

The breakfast was a good spread and the pool bar also has good options to try from.
The buffet was much better in terms of variety and taste as compared to the A la carte menu. Thus , would suggest to take the buffet package.

Overall it was a nice getaway. It takes almost 3 hours to reach here thus would recommend a 2 night stay if you want to enjoy peacefully.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Devyani_Rao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaled S, General Manager at Tilal Liwa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Devyani,

Thank you for posting such a positive review, following your recent stay at Tilal Liwa Hotel.

I was very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. It is great to know that the facilities and services provided within the hotel provided such an added value for you.

I have shared your kind feedback with the rest of the team; they were equally delighted to know that their efforts are highly appreciated by our guests.

Once again, thank you very much for your kind words. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Tilal Liwa Hotel, hopefully in the very near future.
Thank you and kind regards,

Khaled Sharabassy
General Manager
Tilal Liwa Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Tilal Liwa Hotel is a lovely building uniquely situated out in the desert in the Western quarter of Abu Dhabi in the United Arab Emirates. It’s a great place for families to come for a couple of days. The ambience is appropriate to the setting; the quad biking, camel riding and games tables and pool provide plenty of fun and relaxation. Here’s the problem though, the staff seem unhappy and their unhappiness translates into substandard performance. For example, we were bumped by a day because the hotel had a group of tourists and didn’t have the staff to cover the customer volume, then we arrived at 3:00pm (which is a pretty late check-in) to be told our rooms were not ready so please wait up to another hour. Alarm bells were ringing for me when on the two occasions I went to the reception desk there were people complaining vehemently. Little things like having no milk available for coffee in the breakfast buffet, our room was tidied but the towels were taken and not replaced and the complimentary water was not replaced. It all adds up! This could be a really impressive hotel, sadly something is not right with staff and management and it is palatable to the Hotel guests.

Room Tip: The upgrades to the pool area are not worth the extra finance
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaled S, General Manager at Tilal Liwa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Mr. Brian,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Tilal Liwa Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations;

At Tilal Liwa Hotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. I have shared your concerns with the concerned departments, please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problems and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Thank you and kind regards,

Khaled Sharabassy
General Manager
Tilal Liwa Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived at the hotel after a week stay at the sister hotel Al Raha Beach. Transport was excellent and check in good. I asked for an upper floor room which was good as it was accessed from ground level. The room was good not over big but well equipped and very clean. Bathroom well equipped and very large towels. The only thing I didn't like was the shower curtain as you can easily get a mouldy smell from them when wet. The dining room was nice and a good selection of dishes on offer. The chefs were on hand to help with information .The bar areas were good and the staff on duty in there were excellent. We spoke with a young lady called Mary who said she had been there only 2 weeks. She was so efficient and helpful, must be a fast learner. The last evening before we left she was singing in the bar, we didn't recognise her at first. She was great and we thought better than the previous singer. The pool area was good and a lovely setting. Now for the not so good bits, we had all inclusive at both hotels, at the sister hotel it finished at 11 o'clock, at this hotel it finished at 10 o'clock which was too early, especially as you may still be in dinner until 10.30pm.The main problem was the grounds maintenance team. They arrived on our first full day there. It involved the beds tables etc pulled out off the grass areas. All the rooms round the pool have a grass area in front First the strimmer started , followed by the grass cutter and then both together. After an hour we went inside for a drink, on our return they were still going strong. We tolerated it another hour then went for lunch. On our return they were still going strong. As they appeared to have come to the end, the 2 stroke petrol grass collector started. Not only was it noisy but the smell was awful. This was followed by the replacement of furniture and a very noisy trolley going round collecting up the bags of grass. This ruined the whole day, the point is many people come here at great expense for only a couple of days. If this team is planned for one of those days it is a very expensive day wasted. With artificial grass now much improved guests should not have to experience this. This is a shame as it spoils a nice hotel. For this reason I would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had 215 access from ground level but it is first floor.
  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank kathjohnson2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaled S, General Manager at Tilal Liwa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Ms. Jonhson,

Thank you for posting such a positive review, following your recent stay at Tilal Liwa Hotel.

I was very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. It is great to know that the facilities and services provided within the hotel provided such an added value for you. I have shared your kind feedback with the rest of the team; they were equally delighted to know that their efforts are highly appreciated by our guests.

On the areas that we did not meet your expectations, kindly accept our sincere apology. I have shared your feedback with the concerned departments, please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problems and prevent future occurrence.

Once again, thank you very much for your kind words. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Tilal Liwa Hotel, hopefully in the very near future.
Thank you and kind regards,

Khaled Sharabassy
General Manager
Tilal Liwa Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Came here for an overnight stay with my husband and two kids(7,9) we had a blast! Such a nice hotel with an amazing view of the dunes. We had the breakfast, lunch and dinner buffets and the food was fantastic! We went on a sand dune excursion that was awesome. Our driver was great! We will definitely be back on our own and with visitors.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
Thank DEOZO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaled S, General Manager at Tilal Liwa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Mr. Deozo

Many thanks for your wonderful compliments! We're glad you had a relaxing stay and that you enjoyed the service from our group of wonderful professionals.

We are all looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again at Tilal Liwa Hotel in the near future.

Thank you and kind regards,

Khaled Sharabassy
General Manager
Tilal Liwa Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2018

For our trip to Liwa Desert we chose to stay in Tilal Liwa hotel for a weekend. The hotel is located on the edge of the largest continuous sand desert called the Empty Quarter or Rub' Al Khali in Arabic.

FYI, the hotel is a 50-minute drive away from Moreeb Dune which is the biggest sand dune in Liwa. That is the tallest sand dune you want to visit.

The hotel is relatively modern and has a swimming pool, a spa, a restaurant and a bar. Our room by the swimming pool was spacious with a TV, a refrigerator, hot water kettle, tea, coffee sofa seats, clean bath and access to the pool. Wi-Fi was free and relatively good all over. They have plenty of free parking spaces as well as valet service. Their front desk staff were friendly and helpful.

The restaurant offers buffet lunch, dinner and breakfast in their lobby restaurant. The food was okay. Being away from the city, you have no choice but to eat at their restaurant.

There is a concierge desk but it needs improvement. We were trying to get information about their tours to Liwa desert but their staff could not provide clear information.

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaled S, General Manager at Tilal Liwa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2018

Dear Mr. Frank S.,

Greetings from Tilal Liwa Hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback and comments about your recent stay. I am pleased to read that you had wonderful time. I have shared this review with our colleagues and they are enthusiastically motivated to read your comments about the hotel and the services.

I appreciate your honest feedback about our concierge team, I will ensure further training will be provided to them to avoid the same experience you had.

I certainly do hope that your recent experience will build a rapport for patronizing continuously our hotel and its services in the coming period.

Our pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.

Thank you and kind regards,

Khaled Sharabassy
General Manager
Tilal Liwa Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews