We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (149)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveler rating
104
35
10
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
104
35
10
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dive resort read a book keep coming back no frills relaxing getaway short orders best kept secret cozy place sunset view short min puerto galera min boat ride great weekend learn how per person bring your own manila
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 149 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2022

This quite resort is a best spot for scuba diving. Very relaxing and great place for a vacation. Such a nice place to get close to nature. You will surely enjoy seeing different aquatic organisms. A peaceful place to stay.

Date of stay: November 2021
Thank Gale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carmela Sevilla, Owner at Portulano Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2022

Thanks for a good review, we appreciate the support! Specially during these challenging times!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2022

This place is lovely. The owner has beautiful taste and decorates it very well. This is not 5-star hotel, but you will find it cozy, comfortable, cute. The whole atmosphere is warm. Every person is welcoming and friendly. I feel very safe there and keep coming back.
The rooms are different sizes and you pay per person, not for the room. Please choose wisely and count the exact number of people including kids who will travel. They need to know to accommodate you all. It's a diving resort, you can take a trial lesson and learn how to dive or you can take a whole 3 days course. They also have a kayak and paddle board.
It's a best kept secret, so go and don't tell anyone else.

Room tip: Bigger room with aircon directly facing the ocean on 2 or 3rd deck.
Date of stay: February 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AnastasiaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carmela Sevilla, Owner at Portulano Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2022

It was great to meet you Anastasia, we are happy to be your hideout while you were here. Please please touch base and visit us again soon when you are in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2022

Portulano is one of our go-to resort for weekend diving getaways. We have been visiting them for the past 3 years, and the resort tick all the right boxes. Good food, nice shore dive, great sea view and very friendly staff (and dogs).

Highly recommended for both divers and non-divers.

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SamuelHarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carmela Sevilla, Owner at Portulano Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2022

Thanks so much for support and the review! Always glad to have you guys over you are really a great diving group! Thanks for supporting us specially during these challenging Covid times. More diving up ahead! Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2021

Great diving location in Bauan. The divers seemed to be happy with what they saw and the PADI instructor couple that also runs the accommodation side of the business. I have not gone diving in at least 40 years so I can't comment on the diving part. The accommodation side of the business was very owner/family-centric and ran as an extension. As with all family-operated businesses, there were functional and dysfunctional aspects. A good building needs a good foundation to upscale as does a good business. Some of the staff are very helpful whereas others give you instructions to do the work they are responsible for. I found the front desk very confused and poorly coordinated. Food was good and they try to accommodate your needs when the "right" person is in the kitchen. The trip from Manila takes a good 3.5 to 4 hours and Lipa City traffic in the direction of Manila during weekdays is a good 4 hours plus. They have a nice secured parking lot where you can leave your car. Internet is a bit of an issue and they charge P300 for wifi that's only accessible in the common area with speeds of 700kb. Globe data plans work well enough in the rooms. They keep two very well-behaved black labrador dogs that are delightful. Do come here for the diving. Thank you, Candy and Shale Mae, for your sincere efforts to make us more welcome, and wishing you a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.

Room tip: Avoid rooms next to the common areas. Guitar practice starts at six a.m. and someone else plays loud computer games in the afternoons.
Date of stay: December 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank hotelreview77
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carmela Sevilla, Owner at Portulano Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2022

Thanks for your review, we will try to figure out how to improve based on it.

In case you still find time please do tell us the experience you had with our frontdesk that was not quite in place so we can improve. You can email it to carmela@portulano.com.

We have also been in the process of transition and re-training due to the up and downs during the pandemic, all the way up until 2022!

We will do what we can to get better, thanks again for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2021

perfect place to relax and get away from city during this pandemic time,
best to place to scuba diving at take a scuba diving course, The food is delicious and there is more to choose from, pool is perfect for non scuba diver and it is a salt water pool.

Room tip: best view from the room. ocean view in front of the room
Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pgheredero
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carmela Sevilla, Owner at Portulano Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2022

Thank you for your support and feedback, a real encouragement for us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews