We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveler rating
101
35
10
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
101
35
10
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dive resort get away great diving keep coming back parking lot no frills short orders perfect place to relax best kept secret cozy place peaceful place to stay sunset view short min puerto galera salt water pool min boat ride great weekend
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 146 reviews
Reviewed December 24, 2021

Great diving location in Bauan. The divers seemed to be happy with what they saw and the PADI instructor couple that also runs the accommodation side of the business. I have not gone diving in at least 40 years so I can't comment on the diving part. The accommodation side of the business was very owner/family-centric and ran as an extension. As with all family-operated businesses, there were functional and dysfunctional aspects. A good building needs a good foundation to upscale as does a good business. Some of the staff are very helpful whereas others give you instructions to do the work they are responsible for. I found the front desk very confused and poorly coordinated. Food was good and they try to accommodate your needs when the "right" person is in the kitchen. The trip from Manila takes a good 3.5 to 4 hours and Lipa City traffic in the direction of Manila during weekdays is a good 4 hours plus. They have a nice secured parking lot where you can leave your car. Internet is a bit of an issue and they charge P300 for wifi that's only accessible in the common area with speeds of 700kb. Globe data plans work well enough in the rooms. They keep two very well-behaved black labrador dogs that are delightful. Do come here for the diving. Thank you, Candy and Shale Mae, for your sincere efforts to make us more welcome, and wishing you a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.

Room tip: Avoid rooms next to the common areas. Guitar practice starts at six a.m. and someone else plays loud computer games in the afternoons.
Date of stay: December 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank hotelreview77
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Carmela Sevilla, Owner at Portulano Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2022

Thanks for your review, we will try to figure out how to improve based on it.

In case you still find time please do tell us the experience you had with our frontdesk that was not quite in place so we can improve. You can email it to carmela@portulano.com.

We have also been in the process of transition and re-training due to the up and downs during the pandemic, all the way up until 2022!

We will do what we can to get better, thanks again for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2021

perfect place to relax and get away from city during this pandemic time,
best to place to scuba diving at take a scuba diving course, The food is delicious and there is more to choose from, pool is perfect for non scuba diver and it is a salt water pool.

Room tip: best view from the room. ocean view in front of the room
Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pgheredero
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Carmela Sevilla, Owner at Portulano Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2022

Thank you for your support and feedback, a real encouragement for us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2021

This place is around 2 hours 15 minutes drive from Manila. 10 minutes boat ride provided by the resort. Great place to stay over the weekend even if you are not divers. However, I regret I didn't try. I will definitely come back and try to dive. The place is very calm, rooms are charming with Spanish-style decor. Food is excellent and they accept special requests. From the minute we were there it feels like we are in friends or even a family house. Kitchen open and friendly. You can make a coffee or tea anytime or just hang out there. No tv in the rooms, but they have one in the open space. But I doubt anybody will have the desire to use it when you have such a beautiful view from your balcony. Love everything about it.

Room tip: We stayed on the second level. The room and view were excellent. You don't need A/C. It's fresh and cool from the ocean breeze.
Date of stay: February 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnastasiaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Carmela Sevilla, Owner at Portulano Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2022

Thank you Anastasia! Glad you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2021 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Portulano Dive Resort for two nights in November. There was ample parking provided and we were picked up by their small boat. The boat trip is only 5 to 10 minutes up the coast line. The moment we arrived we felt welcomed and at home, the check in procedure was seamless.
The room we stayed in was clean and a generous size, with a very comfortable bed and a beautiful sea view. We chose a room with no air conditioning and were pleased to have the doors wide open all night, enjoying the fresh sea air. Mosquito netting was provided, which we used, but we didn’t notice any mosquitoes at all. There are also rooms available with air conditioning.
The rates include 3 meals a day. The food is delicious and there is enough of a selection to please everyone. On the first night there was a seafood barbecue which was a delicious surprise! Breakfast is cooked for you, while you wait. The kitchen staff were friendly and helpful, they let me know what the gluten free options were and took care with my food! Much appreciated!!
The resort has many cozy nooks to curl up with a book or have a nap. There is also a pool table, dart board and children’s toys in the open air, recreation area.
The salt water pool is a decent size on the waters edge. The dive staff are extremely professional and the equipment was good quality. You can dive and snorkel right in front of the resort, if you choose to.
We were pleased to meet the friendly owners/operators of the resort and must compliment them on how well run and clean the resort is. We have just booked a second stay and are excited to go back!

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 531yvonneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Carmela Sevilla, Owner at Portulano Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2022

Thank you for your kind words, we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2020

Just a "short" 2-3 hours from Metro Manila, Portulano is a resort that offers both divers and non-divers an opportunity to take a break from the bustling city. The food was good but the mango float that's usually served at dinner is great - make sure you're not too late for dinner else you may just miss it.

I especially like that you can just jump into the waters in front of the resort for some decent snorkelling - no booking needed, just snorkelling gear. Or even for a light swim.

Internet connection is not great so do not plan to work while on a break. Cellphone reception is okay but these are all fine as we're usually here to just rest, read, swim, dive and disconnect.

The rooms are well kept. No airconditioning or fans required as the sea breeze is just nice. The place reminds me a little of Santorini, Greece, and Kenting, Taiwan. Been here a few times in the last 2 years and looking forward to visiting again once movement restrictions are eased.

Room tip: I like the rooms on the lower deck near the common area.
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Thank bananatan04
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Carmela Sevilla, Owner at Portulano Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2020

Thank you for your kind words. We hope you can visit us again soon, celphone providers have set up towers in the area so we have better internet now, thanks to a few new wifi products they've launched as well.

Hope to see you here soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews