We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveler rating
101
35
10
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
101
35
10
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dive resort get away great diving keep coming back parking lot no frills short orders perfect place to relax best kept secret cozy place peaceful place to stay sunset view short min puerto galera salt water pool min boat ride great weekend
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 146 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2020

Just a "short" 2-3 hours from Metro Manila, Portulano is a resort that offers both divers and non-divers an opportunity to take a break from the bustling city. The food was good but the mango float that's usually served at dinner is great - make sure you're not too late for dinner else you may just miss it.

I especially like that you can just jump into the waters in front of the resort for some decent snorkelling - no booking needed, just snorkelling gear. Or even for a light swim.

Internet connection is not great so do not plan to work while on a break. Cellphone reception is okay but these are all fine as we're usually here to just rest, read, swim, dive and disconnect.

The rooms are well kept. No airconditioning or fans required as the sea breeze is just nice. The place reminds me a little of Santorini, Greece, and Kenting, Taiwan. Been here a few times in the last 2 years and looking forward to visiting again once movement restrictions are eased.

Room tip: I like the rooms on the lower deck near the common area.
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Thank bananatan04
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Carmela Sevilla, Owner at Portulano Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2020

Thank you for your kind words. We hope you can visit us again soon, celphone providers have set up towers in the area so we have better internet now, thanks to a few new wifi products they've launched as well.

Hope to see you here soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2020

I've been to Portulano for diving now four times, including AOW course. I highly recommend - amazing diving, excellent instructors, top dive guides. I enjoyed the food, atmosphere and I wish I could return more often.

Date of stay: March 2019
Thank madriac
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Carmela Sevilla, Owner at Portulano Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2020

We're glad you enjoyed, hope to see you here soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2020 via mobile

Just driving back after a 3 day visit to this pristine resort and already looking forward to when we will be back. Everything is perfect here - rooms with balconies that look out to a vast, unimpeded sea view, delicious Filipino cuisine cooked fresh thrice a day, yummy banana turron for snacks, and friendly, welcoming staff. Given how precious resources are, the resort also focuses on sustainability with interesting decor made from recycled items, zero plastic bottles, free, refillable drinking water bottles available 24/7, toiletries in dispensers instead of tiny bottles, etc. Now for the diving: this has to be the most chilled out diving set up ever. There are fantastic dive sites 2-5 minutes out by boat. Yes you read that right. You can come back tomorrow the resort for meals / breaks. We dove right after the taal volcano eruption and despite slightly lower vis, still had magnificent dives. The reefs are wildly colourful and teeming with life. The house reef is absolutely gorgeous and I highly recommend day and night time dives here. Not only is it cheaper and easier to dive the house reef, but it also has unique man-made features alongside natural reefs and eels, shrimp and lionfish have made the manmade reefs their home! The night dive was probably one of the best dives of my life - we turned all the lights off and watched bioluminescent plankton! The reef has abundant night activity and you'll definitely get some gorgeous pictures out of it. End to end, portulano made everything a seamless experience. I can't believe this paradise is a couple hours away from manila!

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank sunnyallovertheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Carmela Sevilla, Owner at Portulano Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2022

Thank you so much for a wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2020 via mobile

We had the chance to spend 3 days at Portulano Resort with our 3 small kids and a big group of friends and loved it!! This is a very nice hotel, only accessible by the sea which makes it very special. The view is amazing, the staff is LOVELY and we had very relaxing time while enjoying snorkeling, diving etc. The staff was always there to make the best of our stay: they found a babysitter for our kids when us parents wanted to dive, they let us decorate the place and prepared cocktails when we organized a theme party with our friends one evening etc. The food is all home made, simple and good. The cook was lovely and shared some of her recipes when we asked her :) ... and last but not least they prepared banana sticks for our snacks everyday

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
2  Thank justine_wissam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Carmela Sevilla, Owner at Portulano Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2022

Thank you so much for your kind words, we hope you can visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2019

The resort is picturesque, clean and comfortable. The staff members are quite attentive and eager to help. The meals are authentic, fresh, and delicious. The dive master is very knowledgeable and patient. This is a perfect diving getaway.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank NomadicPhysicist
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews