We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Falcon Hotel(Uppingham)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown Inn(Uppingham)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (352)
Filter reviews
352 results
Traveler rating
271
64
13
4
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
271
64
13
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhirlpool bathrestaurant with roomsevening mealhomemade biscuitsfantastic restaurantone night stayhigh streetbreakfast menuhuge bathroomscallop starterdinner bed and breakfastpower showeramazing foodmain coursecomfortable bedexcellent mealhidden gem
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 352 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2018 via mobile

The Lake Isle is situated in the lovely small town of Uppingham in the county of Rutland.
The owner being a chef, the hotel also has a restaurant with world class cuisine.
The Lake Isle hotel has a beautiful rustic feel without taking away any of its comfort. It feels very charming, breakfast is great and the service is fantastic. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed: May 2018, traveled on business
Thank Hervé A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 May 2018

We booked lunch at the last minute but The Lake Isle was very happy to find us a table. I always appreciate friendly service and our waitress was lovely. I was catching up with an old friend and we decided to share a bottle of wine. They have a wide choice of both whites and reds. We had starters and a main course, but were so full we couldn't manage a dessert. I had a tomato and mozzarella starter followed by fish. It was all really good an I would love to go back.

Stayed: April 2018
Thank 2015jnottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 April 2018

The Lake Isle was wonderful accommodation. The hotel offered a warm, welcoming and very comfortable stay with the added bonus of a great in - house restaurant serving delicious contemporary food and attentiive staff. We benefited from a room upgrade which only added to what was an enjoyable overnight stay.

Stayed: March 2018
2  Thank Collectandtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 March 2018

Really liked this quirky ' restaurant with rooms' unfortunately we didn't eat dinner here, as we had met friends for an amazing lunch eleswhere, but we did have breakfast which was superb. Would stay here again.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Woodystours14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 March 2018

I highly recommend a stay.
Stopped over on our way north. So pleased we booked here.
We stayed in “room” 12 which is in fact a lovely little cottage style suite just off the main building. The cottage was very comfortable and spotless. It is located perfectly for walking around Uppingham (never been before but will return I’m sure) with some lovely shops and cafes.
We had booked for dinner at The Lake Isle, and it was delicious. Really can’t fault anything. The recommended wine was exactly as described, very enjoyable and reasonably priced. Enjoyed every course.
Breakfast was also fantastic, even coming with an added extra as a bit of a joke. It was all cooked perfectly. All the staff were incredible; friendly, welcoming and very helpful. I hope we will be back soon.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank yummiebunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews