We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant ”
Review of Le Grand Cafe

Le Grand Cafe
Ranked #364 of 1,647 Restaurants in Quebec City
Price range: US$10 - US$36
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown Quebec City
Description: Restaurant Le Grand Cafe is located in the heart of the gastronomic, cultural and social life of Quebec city. Grande-Allée, with its many restaurants and night life, is known as “Les Champs-Élysées” of Quebec city.Our culinary team has created an eclectic and varied menu : delicious pizzas, flavorful pastas, refreshing salads, creative meat dishes, gourmet seafood and fondues.Savor the friendly relaxed atmosphere in the cozy restaurant or under the umbrella of the most popular terrace in town with its magnificent view of the Parliament buildings, the 19th century Drill Hall and the surrounding parks and gardens.
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

We went on a holiday. There were tons of tourists in Quebec. The restaurant was packed, but we got seated very quickly. Our waiter spoke fluent English. He was attentive. The service was great, good food, good wine. We spent a wonderful evening there.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank Hirashiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 16 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

We came here for lunch with our teenagers after a three hour walking tour. It is located in a very busy area of town on a corner. It has a lovely ambience, as they have lots of outdoor seating. The weather was nice, so we sat outside. The waitress came right away and took our order. We ordered, salmon, salad with chicken breast over it, vegan pasta, and Pizza. Everything was fantastic! In fact everything was so good that what we didn't finish, we took home.

There were lots of other locals here eating lunch. I would highly recommend this restaurant, as everything we ordered was simply delicious!! It's in a great location, as it is not far from the citadel, and we were able to go there after lunch.

Please press "helpful" if you found this review insightful, as I wonder if anyone actually reads these......

Date of visit: July 2017
2  Thank 723patriciaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 March 2017 via mobile

We went on a night where there wasn't a lot of people in the restaurant so I was surprised on how slow the service was here. The person I was dining with also agreed that the service was very slow. Getting around to the food... I had the salmon which was ok, nothing really good or bad about it just ok. The other person I was with thought his meal was good. We each ordered wine by the glass with our meals. It was the smallest glass of wine I have had while dining in Quebec! If you go don't take big sips or it won't last long! ;)
All in all not a great experience. Given all the great restaurants Quebec has to offer I would go elsewhere.

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank Kwldtrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Causy, very clean place. The filet mignon and blue cheese is to die for.
Cocktail are very good too. Creme Brule a bit overcooked but good.

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gary4520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Great location on Grande Allee. Wandered into this warm and friendly restaurant on a blustery night. The decor was pleasant with several gas fireplaces to keep the chill off.

Ordered the calamari, a salad and a pizza. Food arrived hot and made to order. The pizza could have had more care in it's presentation and spacing of the peppers. Please see pictures. Whole meal came to $40.

Service was fine, menus translated and waitstaff spoke fluent English and atmosphere was pleasant.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mellie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Grand Cafe also viewed

 
Quebec City, Quebec
 
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Le Grand Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing