We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check in only if there's no other place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Residence Du Voyageur
Ranked #146 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Reviewed July 20, 2016

I booked with Expedia and the pictures from the website seems fine for the price. The room was spacious and the bed was comfy but the very bad part is the FILTHY (sink, walls, shower, knobs etc.) washroom and the smelly carpet. In my room it was a standing shower and its really small hard to move. There's no picture of standing shower in expedia so I find it deceiving. The wifi is very slow that I decided to use my Data instead.They have a very friendly staff though.

Room Tip: Avoid my room, I forgot the exact number but it's in the 3rd floor at the back part of the build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pete Krisjand M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 89 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2016

The advertisements don't exactly tell you what you get and what you don't. Based on my experience, the car parking is on street and you may have to go around for 30 minutes, Room lights, Elevator and breakfast area may not work due to no electricity, the building construction is centuries old with uneven floor, torn carpets, wall papers and drapery. Very weak Wifi works only in the cafeteria on 1st floor. Forget about Wifi in rooms. My room was right besides the elevator and the elevator cabin was banging on sides while going up or down. Don't ever go there!

  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Rashmi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2015

The hotel looks nothing like in the pictures it is worst than a motel. Not worth your money and it is not a safe place. The room was dirty, the bed sheet were old and dirty. The carpet was dirty and smell bad.

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2015

If you think you're getting a deal because of the price and location, think again. This property is dirty, old, and frankly not worth your hard earned money. The lobby is tiny and hosts six or seven very large fish in an incredibly small pond shaped water hole. I know they're just fish, but it's just cruel!
We stayed on the third floor, there is no elevator so if you have heavy bags, good luck. The rooms are dated, and haven't been properly cleaned since the 1980's. The towels in the bathroom are equivalent to what you would use to dry off your muddy dog, or help clean up dirty jobs, like an oil change. The beds are lumpy and the sheets don't properly fit the bed. It is FOUL! And OH - the walls are paper-thin, so if your neighbor is listening to TV, you'll hear the show.
The hotel has potential since there is a bit of rustic charm, yet the owner clearly does not give a hoot.

Room Tip: Do NOT book this property
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank ciara b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2015

Looks doable for the price but honestly not worth my safety. The fire escape is bent out of shape and ancient, the elevator is like a death trap because it stopped halfway from the opening, and the halls/stairs are way too narrow. Paper thin walls and ceiling, tiny room with no way to turn around in the shower (or shave), dirty/gross carpet and disgusting looking sheets/mattress. I inspected the bed for bedbugs and kept an eye out for roaches but didn't see any (thank god). The springs hurt our backs by morning and my friend shaved on the sink (which was outside the bathroom). Also, Wifi sucked so bad. Never ever returning. We checked out a day early and no attempt to keep us as customers whatsoever.

Room Tip: Don't do it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Cynthia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Elegant
Hotel Elegant
#123 of 165 in Montreal
192 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Casa Bella
Hotel Casa Bella
#121 of 165 in Montreal
138 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Le Saint Andre
Hotel Le Saint Andre
#110 of 165 in Montreal
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Bon Accueil
Hotel Bon Accueil
#109 of 165 in Montreal
70 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Visitel
Hotel Visitel
#102 of 165 in Montreal
158 reviews
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Hotel Viger
Hotel Viger
#114 of 165 in Montreal
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Residence Du Voyageur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Residence Du Voyageur

Address: 847 Rue Sherbrooke Est, Montreal, Quebec H2L 1K6, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range: ₱1,803 - ₱5,097 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — La Residence Du Voyageur 1*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Residence Du Voyageur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence Du Voyageur Hotel Montreal
La Residence Du Voyageur Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing