We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy Mexican restaurant in the distillery district”
Review of El Catrin

El Catrin
Ranked #183 of 8,785 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Old Toronto
Description: Located in the Distillery District, El Catrin is an authentic Mexican eatery with a lively vibe and fun staff. We serve authentic traditional and modern Mexican cuisine with an ambitious wide-ranging tapas-style menu.The menu allows you to sample a variety of different flavours and textures from the diverse regions of Mexico.The cocteles (aka cocktails) are off the hook. We have the best margaritas in the city. And Canada's largest mescal and tequila bar with over 120 different labels. With a stunning hand painted 20'x60' mural and one of the best patios and cocktails lists in the city, El Catrin is sure to be a hit.
Reviewed 7 September 2017

Great Mexican food, nice staff, good prices. Located in the distillery district this restaurant offers a great variety of Mexican dishes and a great selection of Tequila brands

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Christian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,573)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

404 - 408 of 1,573 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2017

We came here for lunch with family from Atlanta and California. The service was excellent with staff very accommodating since we had two little ones with us. The atmosphere, food and drinks were all excellent. We had guacamole, fish tacos, braised rib, salads and rice with chicken for the kids. Everything we ordered was delicious. Even the California folks who know good authentic Mexican food were impressed with the quality and freshness of the dishes we had. Always a treat to come here.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LIBacious
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 September 2017

We had lunch in their patio by the fire. The patio was very nice, however the sun was very bright and on my face the entire time. A little bit of shelter would have been nicer. Service was friendly, but the food didn't impress me. It was tasty but nothing special. This is in the Distillery District and it is reflected in the prices. I thought it was expensive for the portions of the meals, but I guess it's expected given the location. Overall, it was an ok experience. Having dinner on a warm night might be better at this location.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 September 2017

Great Restaurant. The food was good and the wait staff was fantastic. Love the decor and layout. Location is fantastic being in the distillery district.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank REMACK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 September 2017

The service ambiance superb. Excellent food. This place has the best mojito in town.
My friend and I had a great time. The staff was very knowledgeable about the food and made some good suggestions. I will definitely go back.

The restaurant is located in the distillery district. It's a great place to hang out. There are several restaurants and a few boutiques. There is paid Parking on site and down the street.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Catrin also viewed

 

Been to El Catrin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.