We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the beaten path. (Just a small path)”

Bedford Academy Pub Bistro
Ranked #961 of 9,296 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Midtown
Description: For over 20 years the Bedford Academy pub and bistro has become institution in the Annex, U of T and Yorkville area. This is a gracious former residence that has been pain stakingly restored over the years. Not your average pub the Academy is known for having a relaxed and friendly atmosphere and patio with local and internationally inspired food and beverages. We feature many Ontario Craft Beers, Ontario wines and now locally distilled Ontario rye, vodka and gin. A comfortable atmosphere that is welcoming to people of all ages and walks of life. The Bedford Academy is ideally situated at the St. George Subaway Station near the University of Toronto, Royal Ontario Museum and Yorkville area. With close to 5,000 square feet the Academy has become known as the destination of choice when event planning for get togethers of groups ranging in size from a few people to much larger group functions. Private parties have been our specialty with second and third floor private bars.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

So visiting TO for business and stayed at the intercontinental again. Anyways, after a long day we decided to go looking for some food. Bad hip and all. So walking back resigned to ordering a pizza in the room we stumbled across this lovely little place just a block behind the hotel. Surprized!!!

Lovely outside seating without the hussle of a main street. Welcoming and friendly staff. Quick service and the prices were very reasonable.

The food was above average for a pub style resaurant and good sized portions. Overall an excellent meal with great atmosphere like a small town feel knowing we were in the big city.
My wife said that if the pasta was any better, she would need a room so well done to the chef.

Highly recommend stopping in.

Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2018

This pub like restaurant is a nice place for a casual lunch or dinner. The servers are very nice and attentive. The food is enjoyable with a bit of a twist from your typical pub. Nice patio and great location. Enjoyable.

Thank ericmyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard P, Owner at Bedford Academy Pub Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2018

That’s awesome to hear. Thanks for taking the time to give us a shout out! Hope to see you again soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 April 2018

The Bedford Academy is a lovely. The rooms in this old mansion are inviting and the staff are super friendly. The menu reminds me of gastropubs I've visited in in England. Several good vegetarian options, including the garbanzo burger I tried - it was one of the better veggie burgers I've had in a while. The beer selection goes on and on. Everything is reasonably priced. Our food was served very quickly and we enjoyed our meal and we will return.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jameskul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard P, Owner at Bedford Academy Pub Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Great to hear errrr read that you had a nice visit. Thanks for the feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 April 2018

First time at this establishment, had great service, good food and at a reasonable price. Few tables makes this restaurant very appealing for a small getaway meal with friends.

Thank brainguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard P, Owner at Bedford Academy Pub Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Beautiful! We love getting positive feedback when we accomplished our goals. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 January 2018

I live so close but have never bothered to try it until recently. The food was really tasty! For the vegetarians out there I would highly recommend the kale quinoa bowl. The dressing was great and it came with huge chunks of avocado.The sweet potato fries were delish and so was the chipotle mayo they came with. Kudos to the chef!

Ambiance and great - warm and cozy. It's a nice spot for a date but also for drinks with friends.

Two complaints. The service could be better. We waited forever to get the bill and tried to flag down our waitress multiple times. Also, food and cocktail prices are pretty steep for what you get. $15 for a cocktail at an Annex pub is outrageous. It's not Yorkville or King West. Wine is decently priced, so we had that instead of a cocktail.

We will be back!

PS. Please update your menu! The one on your website seems to be very old, as prices have gone up quite a bit.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank StephS5623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard P, Owner at Bedford Academy Pub Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

Hello Steph! Thanks so much for the review and four bubbles. It was great to read that you live close by and ventured in. We do seem to be the best kept secret in the city. Not necessarily good and we are working on it. Appoligies for having to wait for service and the bill. A definite pet peeve of mine as a guest in restaurants. Your message has been shared with staff. Next time you're in ask for a manger and let them know who you are. We will make things right and give you a tour of our second and third floor event/private party rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bedford Academy Pub Bistro also viewed

Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Bedford Academy Pub Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing