We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch nice atmosphere”

Borealis Grille & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Borealis Grille & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 413 Restaurants in Guelph
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$19
Cuisines: Canadian, Bar, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 23 February 2017

Went here with someone that required some extra room, they went out of there way to accommodate for a wheelchair. It was a great tasting lunch and would go back again

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank C A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (509)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 104 of 509 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2017

We had lunch at Borealis in Guelph and their menu states that the ingredients they use for their dishes are locally sourced. This is great. I did find their food okay but rather expensive and limited selection.

    • Service
    • Food
Thank VikkiGuelph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

I have gone here a number of times. I asked if the onion soup had dehydrated onions they said nope fresh...they were NOT fresh. I found out it is packaged. I suffered all night because of it. We had a Christmas party there and the bar was not stocked, we were shoved in a corner and everytime we ordered rounds the got ticked off as there were 30 of us. It was a prebooked office party!!

1  Thank Alison i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BorealisGM, General Manager at Borealis Grille & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2017

Hi Alison,
Thank you for your review. We would love to hear more about your experience. We have not had onion soup on the menu for over a year now, we always make our soups fresh in house, it is not part of our daily practice to use pre-packaged anything. It would be helpful to know when you dined with us to investigate your comments further. Can you please let us know the night of you office party as well? It is our responsibility to follow up with our staff and kitchen teams to ensure an experience such as yours does not happen to any other guests. It does sound like you with with us some time ago, so I do hope we can convince you to try us again in the future as I am sure a lot has changed since your last visit. Please feel free to email me to discuss the matter further at jaimebryant.borealis@gmail.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 February 2017

We loved our recent visit to Borealis. What got us is the "social conscience" they seem to have with their creed of everything being local and sustainably sourced. The food was excellent and the serving staff was attentive and knowledgeable.

The atmosphere is great and is very warm. The staff could be constantly seen cleaning and ensuring that every guest has a great experience while in the restaurant. Excited to try the other restaurants under the same umbrella - Mijidaa, The Woolwich Arms and the Kitchener Borealis location. Will definitely be back!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank petedavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BorealisGM, Manager at Borealis Grille & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2017

Hi petedavid,

Your kind words means so much to our team, thank you so much for taking the time to write this review of your recent dining experience here! We offer our staff regular opportunities to learn about our menu items, preparation methods, and the sources of our ingredients, so we are thrilled to hear that our attentive staff could demonstrate their knowledge for you on your visit.

We look forward to having you again!
-Your Borealis team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 February 2017

good food and awesome stuff. a place to revisit. if is a good game on TV is place to relax, have a beer and enjoy the game.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nick m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BorealisGM, Manager at Borealis Grille & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2017

Hi nick m,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are thrilled when our guests choose to revisit us! We agree, Borealis is always an exciting place when there is a good game on TV! We recently showed the Superbowl on the big screen projector in our dining room and had lots of fun hosting. It is really nice to hear that you enjoy the atmosphere and food here - we hope to see you again soon!

Cheers,
-Your Borealis team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Borealis Grille & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Borealis Grille & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing