We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lower Lonsdale Tour, great to check out!”

Taste Vancouver Food Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$55.95*
and up
Gastown Walking Food Tour
Ranked #3 of 54 Food & Drink in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Taste Vancouver Food Tours provides visitors and Vancouverites with an entertaining and tantalizing food tasting and cultural adventure into Vancouver's food scene. Our walking food tours are a great way to experience the savory tastes, sounds and sights of Vancouver's many great eateries, pubs and shops. Tours are led by one of our fun and entertaining tour guides. Laugh and learn while you get to experience tasting adventures through Vancouver's unique neighborhoods. Great food, beverages, lots of fun and entertainment.
1 review
“Lower Lonsdale Tour, great to check out!”
Reviewed September 2, 2016

I moved to North Vancouver to the Lower Lonsdale area quite recently and had a great time on this tour with my brother for the afternoon. A few stops of note: the Soup Meister, the owner was super cool and friendly and had a real interesting backstory for his business. Really funny guy - said some hilarious jokes :) We also visited El Dorado - run by a real sweet lady who served me my first real Empanada. The stop at the Tap and Barrel at the historic shipyard by the Quay was great too to try out some local beers and learn some of the local history from our tour guide Heather. Heather was nothing short of completely awesome, really funny and entertaining - she was the highlight of the tour for sure. I would highly recommend for anyone new to NorthVan, or visiting, or anyone looking for something interesting to do for a couple hours!

Visited August 2016
Helpful?
Thank kevin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    70
    14
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience; glad we did it early in our trip.”
Reviewed August 31, 2016

We arranged to take the Gastown tour on our first day in Vancouver in order to orient ourselves. It was a good decision; we have already gone back to several of the places that we visited on the tour.
Our tour guide, Heather, was fantastic. Unfortunately for future tour goers, our tour happened to be her last tour before moving on in her career. I hope that Taste Vancouver hires someone else as wonderful as she was.
It was mostly locals on the tour, which was fun for us as they gave us lots of tips for other things to do in the area.

Visited August 2016
Helpful?
Thank SarahDV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best way to discover Italian gems along Commercial Drive”
Reviewed August 23, 2016

We live in Vancouver and booked this tour as a birthday gift for my husband. From the first moments of the tour we loved the experience - and were blown away by a birthday candle on the cannoli at the end of the tour. The guide Brent did a fantastic job telling the stories of local vendors, and we were super-lucky to have Taste Vancouver owner, Jewel, her husband and a new guide all join our group for a tour. All adding to stories, helping out and looking after the group.
My husband and my son who is 10 all found their favorite spots, ate until they were full and enjoyed every moment. My personal favorites were a Neapolitan Pizza Restaurant and an Italian Market. We'll be back to visit both. And we'll be definitely coming for another tour in the near future.

Visited August 2016
Helpful?
Thank Maria O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jewel T, Owner at Taste Vancouver Food Tours, responded to this review, August 24, 2016
Thank you for the great feedback! We are so pleased to hear that the tour was enjoyable and especially as it was your husband's birthday. We hope to see you on one of our other tours soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“really enjoyable day”
Reviewed August 20, 2016

We took the Gastown Food Tour with Heather and thoroughly enjoyed our day! She was engaging and gave us a good overview of some Gastown history. We all enjoyed the venues and it was a great way to discover new places to eat in Gastown. All in all, it was a really fun day! Thanks Heather!

Visited August 2016
Helpful?
Thank konahappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jewel T, Owner at Taste Vancouver Food Tours, responded to this review, August 22, 2016
Thanks for your feedback. We are pleased to hear you got to know the historic Gastown with the help of Heather and found some new food to try. We will sure to pass along to Heather. Hope to see you soon again on our other tours!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
114 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great intro to Gastown”
Reviewed August 18, 2016 via mobile

We hadn't explored the Gastown district in Vancouver so we decided to take a walking food tour. Our guide, Brent was exceptional. Our group met at the train station. One woman in our group was catching her plane after the tour so she had her carry on luggage with her. Brent was able to store her luggage at one of our stops before the tour started. A nice size group (12) so we were able to walk together and hear the history Brent was sharing. The food stops were really nice...generous portions, local fare and easy walking distances. The history surrounding this area was unique and we old buildings, statues and the waterfront were pointed out during our tour. We were disappointed that we would not be able to take another tour with Taste Vancouver...

Visited June 2016
Helpful?
Thank CWFSantaCruz_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jewel T, Owner at Taste Vancouver Food Tours, responded to this review, August 19, 2016
Thank you for taking your time to write some feedback. Pleased to hear that you got to learn the history of the oldest part of Vancouver and that the food was enjoyable. Brent really enjoys sharing stories of Gastown with his guests and glad to hear he made your tour a great experience. If you come back to Vancouver we really hope to see you on one of our other tours!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste Vancouver Food Tours also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Taste Vancouver Food Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing