We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Meal....”

The Keg Steakhouse + Bar - Banff Downtown
Reserve a table
2
Sat, 15/05
20:00
Ranked #58 of 139 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$41
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Great steaks, a casual ambiance and friendly, knowledgeable staff are the proud and reliable trademarks of The Keg Steakhouse & Bar. You'll find a truly comfortable and satisfying dining atmosphere accompanied by a fun and casual bar setting. The Keg is a casual steakhouse with a contemporary flavor - an attractive combination for any occasion. DINING ROOM: Monday - Sunday 4pm - 10pm BAR: Monday - Sunday 4pm - Midnight
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Another Great Meal....it’s in the middle of town. Food was great. Drinks were plentiful. Staff was great after he loosened up a little and realized we’re a lot of fun. My steak was perfect. Natalie had ribs. Stephen went for the chicken. Cheese toast and scallops for an appie. Too full for dessert. Love The Keg no matter where it is.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank nojo_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (609)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 609 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2021 via mobile

Meal was excellant and felt very safe staff could be seen sanitizing and making sure health and safety were a priority during covid. Server was excellant and our drinks were never empty. Food was perfect as always wife had salmon and I had steak cooked to perfection. Wouldn't go anywhere else for a steak.

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank Justin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 March 2021

Third time around visiting this restaurant, twice during the pandemic. Great protocols.
Good food, great staff.

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank H7817YRdeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 March 2021

We ate supper in late February. Three of us started with drinks, then ordered two starters, Calamari and Baked Garlic Shrimp and three main dinners: 10 oz. Prime Rib; Steak Frites (6 oz); and, Keg Burger (to order).

The drinks were well prepared and presented. A small round of pre-scored grain bread was served beforehand. It as alright but the bottom crust was tough; took a steak knife to cut it. The starters were both very good and well-priced. Of the three meals the Keg Burger was best, in terms of preparation and value. The Steak Frites steak was well prepared, but came with only a serving of fries. That meal size was pretty small for the price. The Prime Rib came with garlic mash and fried shredded onions which were good, but the rib and sauce were disappointing. The rib portion was ordered medium rare, but was medium well (under the warming lights too long?). The 'au jus' sauce was the consistency of thin honey - too thick.

Service was good to very good; attentive, polite and friendly.

Restaurants, for given prices, tend to offer smaller portions of food as meal quality increases (i.e. higher prices for either large portions, or small very well prepared ones). Our meals fit neither category. Overall dinner was OK but at the prices charged all meals should have been very good to excellent - or else been a lot bigger!

In the past 18 months we've eaten three times at the Kegs in Banff and Edmonton - the last time at this restaurant. Only that meal provided anticipated value for money spent. This meal, and the one in Edmonton, did not. We will probably not choose Keg again for a premium supper experience.

Date of visit: February 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKegSteakhouse, Owner at The Keg Steakhouse + Bar - Banff Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2021

Hi Dave,
We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your experience. Although we are glad to hear you enjoyed our service, we would like an opportunity to follow up with you regarding the quality of your meals. We encourage you to email kegcommunity@kegrestaurants.com with these details, including the location, so we can connect directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 January 2021

Staff was rude. Very unwelcoming. We will not be returning. It’s unfortunate customer service is not their priority.

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank hksunflowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKegSteakhouse, Owner at The Keg Steakhouse + Bar - Banff Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2021

Hi there, we would certainly like to learn more about your experience so we can ensure we follow up with you. We encourage you to email us at kegcommunity@kegrestaurants.com with the details and location of your visit and a member of our team will be sure to be in touch directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Keg Steakhouse + Bar - Banff Downtown also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Keg Steakhouse + Bar - Banff Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.