We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
ClubHotel Riu Jalisco
Nearby Hotels
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit(Nuevo Vallarta)
US$806
US$665
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta(Nuevo Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$244
US$208
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$226
US$199
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Samba Vallarta All Inclusive(Flamingos)(Great Value!)
US$245
US$211
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Marival Residences Luxury Resort(Nuevo Vallarta)
US$461
US$368
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Villa Varadero(Nuevo Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marival Resort & Suites(Nuevo Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$243
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bahia del Sol Resort(Nuevo Vallarta)
US$98
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marina Banderas Suites Hotel Boutique(Nuevo Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$81
US$78
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (4,732)
Filter reviews
4,732 results
Traveler rating
1,324
1,715
847
486
360
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,324
1,715
847
486
360
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsadult poolla botanadon emilianoswim up barmusty smellsunwing repasian restaurantbeach restaurantbuffet stylefamily poolpalm treespushed togetherliquor dispensermain buffettowel animalsother resortsevery other day
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 4,732 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at this hotel from March 23 to the 30th. Check-in was fast and efficient.
Room service was done properly. Not once did we have hot water in our room (4180) throughout the week. Last two days we had a musty smell. The mini bar is more than enough.
We had great service in all restaurants. The food was good but the same all week.
The beach is great with plenty of chairs. The only problem is that they are no umbrellas to hide from the sunshine. If you want one you must rent it for 200 Mexican pesos per day which is about $17.00 Canadian or $15.00 U.S . What you can do is buy one at the beginning of your vacation for about 350 pesos and then sell it when you leave....:)
On a couple of night we were awakened by what I call idiots and drunks who have no respect for others. I had to ask the receptionist in the lobby to get security so that we could have peace at 11:50 pm. Why is it that security personnel does not stand by the exit door of the discotheque and follow those who are in groups or those who are loud as they are returning to there rooms to make certain to keep quiet....:(
We paid $1,150.00 Canadian and would go again for this price. I would not pay $1,700.00 which is the normal price.
Overall we enjoyed our vacation.

Room Tip: all rooms overlooking the center garden are more prone to noise at night due to the drunks and idiots who yell after the disco closes.
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank luckyluc57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile


Just spent a week here at the Riu Jalisco during the Spring Break. What a great trip!
The staff is absolutely amazing, friendly, helpful and there was no shortage of staff, considering the hotel was a full capacity.
**The Food - the main buffet had a little bit of everything. Fresh fruit smoothies, fruit, omelet station, sushi, stir fry’s, seafood, etc. you name it, probably was there. The Steakhouse (menu) served delicious ribeyes! (we went twice) Asian was also good!
We did not visit the Italian restaurant. No reservations needed. We found all the food we consumed to be great tasting!
**The Drinks - Dos Equis for beer and then a huge amount of slush drinks that you can request, along with shots. Had a some brands sub as Smirnoff. Bacardi, Beefeater. Favourites: Tropical Pick Me up, Iceberg and Dirty Monkey.
Also the sports bar has the BEST latte’s and cappuccinos (open 24-7).
** The Rooms - there was a slight musty smell, however I’ve noticed it’s the same smell in EVERY tropical location I’ve ever visited (Jamaica, Mexico, Bahamas etc.) deal with it.
The room was clean and no complaints. Shower had a good pressure.
**The Beach - amazing! The sand was gold! The water is not your typical turquoise blue but the beach was beautiful and clean. No rocks, no garbage. Just perfect. You can walk to Bucerias on the beach. It’s about 3.4Kms. Taxi back, aprox. 85 pesos. Tons of loungers and never had to fight to get one.
**The Location - I quite liked where the hotel was located. Your not in the heart of a busy area like downtown PV. Taxi to PV was 240 pesos. 85 pesos to Bucerias. The hotel is located in a secure area as well, with a walking path out front.
**The Pool - two pools with a swim up bar. There are also loungers in the water, which were nice. They had a foam party, volleyball, water polo and other fun games they did daily. One kids pool and one “adult” pool. You would have to get up fairly early to reserve pool loungers we found.
**Entertainment - we didn’t actually see any of the shows. They did however have nightly live music down by the stage and up by the lobby bar.
The disco, was never really busy and definitely smelled musty. We walked over the Riu Vallarta and partied at their disco.
There are plenty of wonderful things I could continue going on about! Had a wonderful trip. Ignore the bad reviews!! Half the bad reviews are for absolutely ridiculous things.
I Would definitely return to this hotel!


Stayed: March 2018, traveled with friends
6  Thank ChelleAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The check in was smooth and we were off to the pool in minutes of arrival. The pool and pool area was as nice as any - with easy to access bar service and washrooms. This all inclusive resort has done away with Reservations for the restaurants - just show up and be seated - with a couple doing two seatings and the others continually seating throughout the evening. The food was really good at the restaurants - plenty of high quality choices. The buffet for breakfast was full of choices too. The beach is awesome - soft sand and you can walk for miles. The water is shallow and probably not for snorkling - but great for swimming, boogie boards and that sort of stuff. The hotel staff was so friendly and accommodating. The pool staff kept you busy if you wanted and left you alone if you liked that - there were activities for teenagers and adults - and a whole separate kids pool and activities. We had two rooms - one had a bit of a funky smell but the other didn't - like sea water - and we just opened the patio door and it cleared quickly. The staff really deserve high praise. Even the evening shows were really entertaining - so there was stuff to do from morning until night. The pool bar got a bit busy sometimes - but for lack of effort of the bartenders - just wait a few minutes and the line was gone. Easy 45 minute walk to a small town with lots of "shopping" and a $10 cab ride back if you didn't want to walk. There was enough shopping right on the amazing beach - so really - you'd never need to leave. My wife and I and two teenage daughters would all recommend this resort. This might classify as a smaller or midsize resort - which was great as you could walk to anywhere from anywhere in less than 5 minutes.

Room Tip: rooms that look over the courtyard are probably the best
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have just returned from a 4 night stay at the Club Hotel RIU Jalisco, and was not disappointed. I have traveled to many sun destinations, and stayed in a good number of AI`s, and though this was my first time in Puerto Vallarta, I can honestly say it was a great time, and will definitely be returning.

I will start with the controllables:
Check-in/check-out: we arrived late afternoon, just after 3pm, didn't have to wait in line, and room was ready. Checked-out at 11am, no waiting in a long line-up. Efficient and friendly.

Room: we had a "double" room which was two double beds stuck together to make a king. Ok, but not ideal. Bathroom area did not have a door (only the shower has a frosted glass door, and the toilet is separate with a door. It was ok for us, but if you are traveling with someone you would not be comfortable being naked around, then this would not be suitable. The room location was on the second floor (room 2130), excellent spot, great view, close to stairwell leading outside near the main causeway. A strong odor of sewage was noticeable in the stairwell area during the first few days, but was not noticeable by the last day. Otherwise, room was extremely clean and comfortable. The only elevators in the hotel are in the lobby area; if you can't do stairs very well, get something on the 1st or 2nd floor, otherwise it could be a long wait for a lift, or a long walk to your room.
Mini fridge in room and hard liquor (replenished with bottled water and soft drinks every other day). The cold bottled water was very much appreciated.

Food: Don Emiliano and Adelita both serve buffet breakfasts - most people seemed to eat at Don Emiliano, but we found the quality was better at Adelita (really yummy french toast), and alot less crowded. If you choose to eat outside, be prepared to be watched by birds. They are well accustomed to people, but will only eat leftovers at unoccupied tables. It didn't bother us at all.
The best a la carte dinner was La Botana (steakhouse). They are strict about first and second seatings, so you may have to wait a bit for a table. The shrimp, fish and steak were all delicious.
La Piazza serves a great shrimp linguini - otherwise the buffet was ok.
The El Gran Dragon (Japanese) - after checking out the buffet, we realized mostly everything was deep fried (except the sushi), and were turned off by the overpowering smell of oil; we did not stay for dinner and did not return.
Overall, the buffets have lots of variety; my 10-year old usually found something to eat, and she can be quite picky.

Wine/drinks: I am by no means a wine snob, and enjoy a great $10 bottle of wine any day without complaint. The wine at this resort (and most Mexican resorts I am told), was not drinkable. I saw many others consume it, no problem, I just couldn't do it. It was really horrible stuff. If you enjoy a nice glass of wine with dinner, I recommend you bring your own (tetra paks would travel nicely, and I will bring some next time). Otherwise, the mixed drinks, and blended cocktails were all very good. If you want really fast, excellent service from a bar tender, see Ramon at the Pancho bar - he is a multi-tasker! Awesome service!

Coffee: The Sports Bar is open 24 hours, and this is where you get your morning espresso or latte. I was in there every morning by 0730, and never had to wait more than a few minutes for my latte. Really good. The coffee served with breakfast was hit or miss, some mornings it was very watered-down, other days it was yummy.

Pools and entertainment: All excellent. The family pool was going through some maintenance while we were there - the 3 small waterslides were being repainted, and as a result, the pool water was about 1.5 feet lower than usual. Small inconvenience, but otherwise it was fine. The day we left, they had reopened the slides, and all was good again. The adult pool had kids in it as well, they don't seem to police this very much, but didn't seem to bother anyone all the same. Poolside entertainment and games carried on through the day - good for those who like to party and have a good time. We stayed on the family side, and had a nice relaxing time.
If you want poolside chairs, best to reserve yours early (before 0800) by placing towels on them. Beachside, we usually found chairs at any time of the day.

Kids club/entertainment: My daughter did not participate, but we came across the groups a few times during the day, and the kids seemed to be enjoying themselves quite a bit; the staff are really energetic and friendly. The morning we left, they were having a foam/pool party in the family pool for the kids, and were getting ready to paint Easter eggs.

Nightly entertainment: Excellent shows - was truly impressed. A bit of everything for everyone: culture, karaoke, dancing, live bands, musicals, etc. Every show is preceded by a kids' show which was always fun to watch - the kids and staff really got into it - it was sort of like watching Kids Say the Darndest Things.
Again, if you want a seat at the shows, best to eat an early dinner, and head to the grand stage area for a spot - they filled up fast every night.

The UNcontrollables:

Weather - rarely saw a cloud in the sky, not too hot (unless you go into Puerto Vallarta), nice constant breeze off the ocean. Evenings can be a bit cool at this time of year - bring a light sweater or shawl.
Ocean - despite the flag being yellow every day, we managed to go for swims and wave jumping.
Beach - Nuevo Vallarta has very nice sand, and this particular resort has great beachfront property, lots of palm trees, lots of beach chairs.
Other travelers - mostly Canadians and Americans, a good number of folks from the UK and Mexico. Lots of families, people of all ages. Was very enjoyable with such a good mix of people.

We managed to visit the Riu Vallarta one afternoon (your AI bracelet gives you access); it is slightly more expensive, but my personal opinion is that the RIU Jalisco has it beat. The Riu Vallarta has less beachfront, less palms, less space to move period. Very cluttered, lots more people, and ornately decorated. I'm glad we chose the Jalisco over the Vallarta!

Overall, a really good time; we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: rooms in the 2130 range, facing the pool/partial ocean view
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Room was nice but had a musty smell every day, you could also smell something bad in the hallways every so often, basic alcohol, only a few name brand or decent quality hard alcohol, all of the staff are very friendly though.

Stayed: April 2018, traveled with family
2  Thank Anthony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews