We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Barcelo Maya Palace(Puerto Aventuras)
US$368
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Maya Colonial(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
US$291
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$532
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo Maya Tropical(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
US$346
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Aventuras Club(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/22
Book now, pay at stay
US$267
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
LM by Inmense(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
US$263
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$331
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
travelup.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (10,338)
Filter reviews
10,338 results
Traveler rating
4,794
3,494
1,242
508
300
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,794
3,494
1,242
508
300
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstapasfishsnack barprivileged suiteel mercadothe lion kingstandard roomjapanese restauranta la carte restaurantswater shoespure chill out barcrepesgated communitysteakanimation teamsea lionslagoon area
Filter
Updating list...
223 - 228 of 10,338 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

The resort is lovely with really nice staff however the initial room we were given was very tired looking and in desperate need of refurbishment.

We were left with one option upgrade to a priveledge room or put up with existing room. Upgrade was $600 which we reluctantly paid

The priveledge room had just been refurbished to a very high standard and was awesome so we got the room you would expect at outset but only after we upgraded. I felt very let down as rooms that are not up to scratch should not be offered in the first place.

We then had to put up with sales guys trying to sell us an exclusive members club deal that would be only $32,900! Luckily we looked at various forums and other guests had the same experience as us with them and the general opinion was RUN.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
4  Thank KJMJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catalonia_Caribbean, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We regret to know that your stay was not to your satisfaction.
At Catalonia Hotels we continually strive to meet your needs and exceed your expectations. I have shared your survey with the departments involved, who will take your rating and comments into consideration to make the necessary changes and thus improve our service.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you once again.

Best regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 April 2018

The resort was very clean and my daughter and I felt really safe. We would go back to this resort again. Everyone was very nice and helpful. Our favorite restaurant was The Japanese one our second choice is the Mexican restaurant.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank ddowns28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catalonia_Caribbean, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

Dear guest,

We appreciate the time you took to write this review regarding your recent stay at Catalonia it is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests. I will share your review with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your feedback.

Your comments will mean the world to us and will make our future guests benefit from your positive experience.

We look forward to hosting you again!

Best regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 April 2018

The direction to the hotel were vague and no maps of the area water pressure to shower was a big problem and the air conditioner flooded the room got charged the 6 bucks twice on check in and out a lot worse things could happen had a great time

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank smayer8572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catalonia_Caribbean, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to answer our survey. We regret to know that your stay was not to your satisfaction.

At Catalonia Playa Maroma we continually strive to meet your needs and exceed your expectations. I have shared your survey with the departments involved, who will take your rating and comments into consideration to make the necessary changes and thus improve our service.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you once again.

Best regards,
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Found it to be a clean and nice place. Loved sitting by the pool did not like having to be up at 6 am to get a chair by the pool. We were disappointed in not having the right type of room and they did not seem to want to correct it they turned that responsiblity to us. We never did anything. The food was great the people serving were lovely.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catalonia_Caribbean, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

Dear Heather,

We appreciate the time you took to write this review regarding your recent stay at Catalonia it is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests. I will share your review with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your feedback.

Your comments will mean the world to us and will make our future guests benefit from your positive experience.

We look forward to hosting you again!

Best regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 April 2018

We will return again, easy hotel to be at, not a crazy amount of walking needed to get from here to there. Huge improvement on food at all restaurants, even the buffet was wonderful. Snorkeling is great here.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank jamiev680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catalonia_Caribbean, General Manager at Catalonia Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

Dear guest,

We appreciate the time you took to write this review regarding your recent stay at Catalonia it is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests. I will share your review with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your feedback.

Your comments will mean the world to us and will make our future guests benefit from your positive experience.

We look forward to hosting you again!

Best regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews