We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveler rating
57
6
0
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
57
6
0
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family history true outback darling river long drop information folder sticky date pudding road closures feral goats camp sites are unsealed road original homestead outback experience yabbies bourke cottage property kangaroos
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2021 via mobile

Absolutely fantastic experience. Riverside is the way to go with views of the Darling river, open camp fire. Piece full, massive bird life. Long drop Thunder box with open views :-) typical outback roads in that is expected, your in Australia. Highly recommend for outback travellers.

Date of stay: March 2021
Thank garywood179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIz Murray, Owner at Trilby Station, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2021

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us snd yes, we agree, the river campsites are fabulous. Cheers. Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 December 2020

Brilliant place to stay! Just spent 4 days & nights at Trilby, and wanted to stay longer. We drove up from Wilcannia towing an off-road van, and the unsealed road to Trilby was surprisingly in really good condition and so interesting with the change in colours along the way. We camped on a large riverside campsite with a quirky long drop toilet, surrounded by bush land, with wildlife aplenty - goats, kangaroos, birds and even yabbies in the river. Liz was very welcoming and accommodating during our stay. Her info booklet sharing the family history and station life was really interesting reading. Mud map drives were great, swimming hole/dam was awesome, and plenty of yabbies in the yabby dam - Liz provided the nets and bait. At just $25 p/night for a non powered site it’s great value for money - we will be back but for longer next time!! So grateful that Liz & family are sharing their backyard with tourists & we cannot recommend Trilby highly enough. Whilst in the area, arrange a tour at Dunlop station - its well worth it!

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Y1991WIchrisv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIz Murray, Owner at Trilby Station, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2021

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us at Trilby Station. So glad you enjoyed the experience. Cheers Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 December 2020

The cottage has 2 comfortable size bedrooms 1 with queen bed the other 2 single beds. The bedrooms are separated by a living area which features kitchenette, small dining table, comfy chairs & satellite TV. No WIFI, Telstra NextG phone & data reception only.

There is a covered patio outside the entry with table & chairs, BBQ for outside dining & relaxing. Private toilet & bathroom is 5metres away outside the cottage. A fenced swimming pool is 10metres from the cottage front door. We opted for a meal package, all meals were nutritious, tasty & plentiful.

Liz the owner was very helpful thru' the booking process & rang us the morning of our arrival to advise of road conditions as there had been heavy rain across NSW with some flooding & road closures. In fact locals in Bourke the night before had told us that we wouldn't get through.

Helpful advice was provided for activities with-in the property & beyond. A true outback experience on the Darling River.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pmdcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIz Murray, Owner at Trilby Station, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2021

Glad you enjoyed your stay, particularly my meals.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 November 2020

After bouncing around on the outback road for the last 7 days we arrived as planned at Tribly Station covered in dust (literally) and ready for a swim. We were met at the Office by Liz the owner and we were quickly unpacked and settled into the Jillaroo 2 BR cabin. Happy days!

The cabin was clean and had everything we needed including close proximity to the pool and we dived straight in. It was sparkling clean and refreshing. We had made arrangements for Liz to provide us with an evening meal both nights and we were very pleased we made that decision – the first night biscuits and cheese was delivered to our outside table an hour before our main meal of shanks, gravy and veg followed by sticky date pudding and some sweet treats.

The next day we took the Mud Map drive which took us along and across what is probably a small part of the property in total. It was fascinating and well worth doing. One of the most interesting things to see was the old original homestead which, when it was vacated by the previous family, was left intact – beds made and food in the cupboard – for the next family who would have made the house their home. Its now dusty and unliveable however the concept (reiterated at Dunlop Station) is an unusual cultural norm.

Another interesting piece of information was, after having just been a few days at Gundabooka National Park, I was distressed at the amount of feral goats that stormed through the bush in packs clearly causing damage to the bush environment. Tribly Station, amongst other stations, harvest these feral animals and provide goat meat to the Middle East after being slaughtered according to their spiritual norm. It seems like its win/win to me.

That night we swam and settled into a meal delivered to our door of biscuits and cheese and salami followed by lasagne, dessert and again a sweet treat. It was fabulous not having to cook for ourselves.

For travellers they also have washing machines (for a small fee – bring some $1 coins) which was welcome as we needed to dust ourselves off and continue our travels. Take the time to read the history of the property that Liz has written but she also has an interesting story to tell that is documented in the information folder.

I have no hesitation in recommending Tribly Station as a place to stay. We were in a 4WD and I don’t think I would want to do it in any other kind of vehicle, and we weren’t towing anything. I plan on returning to Trilby in the future.

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank akjordan2680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIz Murray, Owner at Trilby Station, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2021

So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I enjoy cooking traditional country style meals for guests and sharing our knowledge of the area and our station. All the best, Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 October 2020 via mobile

Beautiful free camping with all the amenities close by .Liz does a wonderful job looking after all her guests whether it be free camping, powered sites or in onsite accomodation . If you get the chance go on a mud map of there property

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Traveled with friends
3  Thank RICH0647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIz Murray, Owner at Trilby Station, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2021

Thanks for taking time to offer your feedback, we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and especially the property Mud Map tour. Cheers Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews