We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chewy lobster & disinterested staff”

The Unicorn on the Beach
Ranked #5 of 6 Restaurants in Porthtowan
Price range: US$14 - US$35
Description: The Unicorn on the Beach is a coastal pub and restaurant promoting local fisherman and small producers, overlooking the dunes at the surfing paradise of Porthtowan. A relaxed, beautiful space for cocktails, wines and beers, brunch, lunch and dinner, in the bar, conservatory and terrace. Cute dogs welcome, Eskinzo Surf School on site.
Restaurant details
Description: The Unicorn on the Beach is a coastal pub and restaurant promoting local fisherman and small producers, overlooking the dunes at the surfing paradise of Porthtowan. A relaxed, beautiful space for cocktails, wines and beers, brunch, lunch and dinner, in the bar, conservatory and terrace. Cute dogs welcome, Eskinzo Surf School on site.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Came to Porthtowan for the weekend as a group of 5 and had a high hopes as this place was recommended to us. My partner ordered a rare steak and was sarcastically treated by the blonde manager when we gently asked for it to be redone, who gave the impression it was down to personal taste - it just wasn’t a rare steak. We felt quite patronised. The lobster was chewy and overdone and when we told the waiter, he didn’t care. A shame when the main itself was £45+. A real shame. Go to the Blue Bar down the street - half the price and triple the quality and the service was incredible.

Date of visit: May 2021
4  Thank arianaeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Consistently good service and new dishes on the menu, recommend the ‘Hot Shells’! Will be back again soon!

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank I2395QUlaurenh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Unicorn on the Beach, General Manager at The Unicorn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi there I2395QUlarenh, thank you for this, I will pass on your 5* to my team! Best wishes, Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Absolutely high priced with not much variation from fish no good when you have a fish allergy my friend wanted a plant burger at £16 !!!!!! That was then to be cooked In fish oil VEGAN Friendly???? We won’t be back !!

Date of visit: May 2021
2  Thank LisaL4247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited in May during lockdown restrictions and could only sit outdoors. Luckily each time we visited it was nice enough to sit out though a coat was definitely needed. Staff were brilliant and all completely Covid compliant. It’s a lovely location. Would definitely recommend and will visit again.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank Antony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Unicorn on the Beach, General Manager at The Unicorn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Antony, thank you so much for the message, lovely to read, hope to see you soon, Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

From the first greeting all the way to the exit superb staff. This beautiful pub has got the Covid secure procedures sorted. With ease they sit customers, track and trace and clean tables before new guests. The female meeter and greeter was very well organised and the waiting staff kept a watchful eye for re ordering. WE love the European style of table ordering and hope it stays. Good suggestions on other beers we might like were offered too. Keep up the good work and thank you for making our visit feel so safe and enjoyable.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Carry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Unicorn on the Beach also viewed

Porthtowan, Cornwall
 
Porthtowan, Cornwall
 

Been to The Unicorn on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.