We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,001)
Filter reviews
2,001 results
Traveler rating
1,026
590
212
105
68
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,026
590
212
105
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjose luisplaya grandetejaban restaurantsushiconstruction noisepacific sideswim up barupper pooltime shareall inclusive packageshort walk to the marinamain restaurantprivate beachrestaurant stafffood and drinkslovers beachdivorce beach
Filter
Updating list...
317 - 322 of 2,001 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2017

The location is spectacular with beachfront (no swimming). The pool is enormous and the grounds well maintained. The self contained suites are very comfortable and spacious. The rooms were equipped with some kitchen fscilities and huge bathrooms with bath and shower,

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

Dear Ms. Pamela from Honiara, Solomon Islands;
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your vacation and the facilities from the Resort. Please do not take too long to comeback and allow us to provide you an even better experience. Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 April 2017

We took advantage of a groupon offer and were very pleased with the hotel, and the amenities. The staff truly made the experience special. The view from our room was awesome, the pool was great, there was a choice or restaurants and great service by the pools. From the moment we arrived until our departure the staff couldn't have been more helpful. The location was great and we walked to the marina area on several afternoons. We would definitely consider returning!!

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WeChens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

Dear WeChens from Denver, Colorado;
Thank you very much for your kind comments! It is rewarding for us to know that you have enjoyed your vacation and that your package has been worth it. We hope to have the honor of your visit once again in the near future. Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 April 2017

Cuddled against the new, impressive high-rise Grand Solmar Land's End Resort, sharing the same perfect beach and sunset, the low rise Solmar Resort beckons to those like my wife and I who long for the simple relaxing, less expensive, old Los Cabos atmosphere and a casual hotel and environment that doesn't demand a different outfit twice a day or jumping on and off elevators. .

Sandwiched between semi-annual trips to Italy, we 'dropped out' at the old Solmar once or twice a year for almost a decade up until eight years ago when it was razed and replaced, We didn't bother to check out the new hotel for we were convinced the old hotel's charm and personnel were swept away by 'modernization' and a quest for sophistication.

We both needed a break recently, booked the new Solmar Resort for a week and rediscovered the ‘escape’ we’d been missing.

Most of the resort buildings are two stories. We chose the larger of the two room accommodations although the smaller ‘studio’ rooms would have been fine.
When we pulled up to reception in our rented VW (I strongly recommend Cactus Rent A Car) we were greeted by Juan, a familiar face who remembered us even though he hadn’t seen us in eight years. He introduced us to Juan Carlos Salgado, the front desk manager, who welcomed us like old friends. Samantha, who checked us in, was sweet, accommodating and efficient.
.The food at the hotel is more than adequate. Although one can opt for the all-inclusive package (about $90 a day) we prefer to have toast and jam or some sweet rolls at the hotel in the morning and lunch and dine in town at some familiar and wonderful spots we know.(More on restaurants when I have the time).

Betty and I revisit hotels around the world to feel at home, see the same staff and know when we’re asked how we are, the person asking the question is truly interested. A parade of the staff at Solmar hell-bent on service and making our stay more than pleasant took care of our needs. Many thanks to Salvador, Emanuel, Damian, Jose Luis, Daniel and Jacob of the restaurant staff and our wonderful housekeeper, Margarita.

A special thank you to the manager, Juan Carlos, for keeping the tradition of the old hotel.

In the gentrified, cookie cutter, faux- caring condition many hotels have morphed into, Solmar Resorts will once again be our place to escape and be catered to on a budget.

Don Kellin

Room Tip: Both the suites and studios are large and pristine. Partial ocean and pool views are numerous, but there are no full ocean views.
  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank DonnyKLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

Dear Mr. Kellin;
Thank you very much for taking your time to share your experience with others. We appreciate very much your preference and patronage along all this years. It is our pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay, the facilities and the warm service from our team. Certainly, our privileged location allows you to enjoy privacy and those breathtaking views that the Pacific Ocean give us. We are looking forward to have the honor of your visit once again to continue pampering you as you deserve.
Our best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile

I don't normally leave reviews. In fact this is only my second. However, my wife and I had such a great time during our stay at the Solmar Resort I felt compelled to leave one. The resort is located a short walk or taxi to the marina/downtown area of Cabo, yet sits behind a hill that makes for a secluded site right on the beach...perfect. Local transportation (bus) is also a short walk if desired. It was wonderful hearing the crash of the waves from our balcony, and the view of the ocean beautiful. The resort is very nice and well maintained. Food and drinks are good. Although these are great features, by far the best part of our stay was the staff! Everyone was extremely friendly, fun, and helpful and we enjoyed talking to everyone. Special thanks to Gina, Nubia, and Luis Enrique at the front desk; Jose Luis, Jose, Omar, Moises, and Thomas at the restaurant; Suzanna at the pool; Edilberto with transportation; and Gloria, Alejandra, and Luci at the spa (I literally had the best massage I have ever received here). There are many more, I really could go on but for the sake of not making this too long. Thank you all for making our trip so wonderful. We look forward to seeing you in the future. I highly recommend Solmar Resort if you are planning a trip to Cabo.

Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Shane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2017

Dear Mr. Shane D.
We thank you very much for taking your time to share your experience. Nothing make us feel happier than read that you and your wife have enjoyed your vacation and the amenities from the Resort. We are looking forward to greet you here again as our guest in the near future.
Warm Greetings!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 April 2017

Beautiful resort next to a Grand sister resort nestled on the beach boardered by the Pacific Ocean. Land's end. The busy marina in Cabo is close by but feels miles away because the resort is tucked in near a little rocky formation that isolates it and makes it quiet.

Room Tip: Large roomy condo with 2 bathrooms and a gorgeous view.
Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2017

Dear Mr. Tim M. from Whitefish, Montana;
We appreciate your time very much by posting your review on T.A. It´s rewarding for us to read that you have enjoyed your holiday and our privileged location was convenient for you. Please do not take too long to come back and allow us to provide you with an even better experience.
Our best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews