We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Casa Loteria
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Matilda(San Miguel de Allende)
US$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Nena(San Miguel de Allende)
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Morada Hotel(San Miguel de Allende)(Great Value!)
US$154
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique(San Miguel de Allende)
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mansion San Miguel(San Miguel de Allende)
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Arcada San Miguel(San Miguel de Allende)
US$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Calderoni Bed and Breakfast(San Miguel de Allende)
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa de la Noche(San Miguel de Allende)(Great Value!)
US$89
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa Angelitos(San Miguel de Allende)(Great Value!)
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rosewood San Miguel de Allende(San Miguel de Allende)
US$451
US$440
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveler rating
17
21
12
8
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17
21
12
8
27
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

Everything DIRTY: floors, walls, curtains. Stains, hairs and DOG FOOD EVERYWHERE!!! Things broken.
WC HAS NOT DOOR!!! But wc has a mirror exactly in front so you can see from outside!
Pictures are not anything like the real hotel.

The worst experience in my life!!!

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
2  Thank YOYISDELAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 February 2018

Easy review this place is a SHAME!

We booked it because we stupidly trusted the pictures on the website.

We arrived there, a child welcome us. No adults around, place where only kids are working!

We get a room that was not at all what we booked, answer from the kid who is supposed to be the receptionist " this room doesn't exist anymore", well how can you took a reservation for a room that doesn't exist and even dough why not informing us before our arrival?.

We complained and said that we paid full price for this room, so they gave us another room or should I say a rabbit hutch. No windows, 85% of humidity unsanitary, we were 5 people, 2 couples and a kid we ended up with a small bed for 2 and a camping bed that's it. Do the math 4 beds for 5 people, did they offer a solution ? NO!

On top of that the day after we asked to talk with the manager ( again we had to deal with teenagers), we explained that we wanted to check out and get our money back, the manager (finally one adult) said it was impossible not even trying to compensate.

Every days dishes from breakfast stayed on table all day long, cleaning was so poor.
One morning we asked for a coffee, it was awful, we called the very very young waiter and his reply was a joke " my friend doesn't know how to do it and he added too much water in it sorry".

I question the code of conduct of this place, they refused to refund us the difference between our original booking and what we got.

This place is not an hotel not even a bead and breakfast. San Miguel is lovely and for sure you will find much better place and honest management.
Will never go back

Room Tip: don't go there
  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Travelivor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoFK, Gerente at Hotel Casa Loteria, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

Dear guest ( in case you are a real guest !) all our pictures are real and taken by a simple smartphone that show the real aspect of our facilities . About the “kids” you mention we have several local teenagers above 18 years that are working professionally and developing their skills with constant believe that our country needs to support all the millenials with job opportunities and a correct guide.

We don’t know what you mean about the rooms than doesn’t exist , all our inventory it’s updated and we never disappear magically rooms . When it’s possible we can offer a different room when our guests ask for even though they booked another one , it’s always our goal to give the best solutions .

After reading you comments it seems that the main reason of the rudeness of your opinion is that we didn’t made a refund you asked for even though you stayed at our place . We strongly suggest to always book more than one room when traveling many members , it would always be more comfortable. I agree the San Miguel de Allende its magical and its because the charming of its local people, the architecture and the happiness of our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 November 2017

We stayed here for four nights and found that the worst thing about San Miguel de Allende was this hotel. It is overpriced for what is a two star budget hotel. The staff and other guests were equally noisy at night and when we raised it with staff we felt that they didn't really care. Breakfast was stale pastries and cakes, TV stopped working after second day and toilet and hand basin were not fixed to the floor so wobbled. Also they state that they have safety deposit box in the rooms but they do not. The roof top patio is nice to chill out and housekeeping did a good job.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Abi2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 September 2017

I loved this place. The location was great. The staff was friendly and helpful (they let me use their cell phone to make a local call when the land line was not getting through). It was clean. It has fans which were better than than phony refrigerated air. Anyway, San Miguel has perfect weather all the time.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

I booked this hotel because it was pretty much my only option. If you book with time, stay away from this hotel. There is not real management. Bathroom was very inadequate and there is not AC. The location is ok but I am sure there is way better options for the same price.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank AnaMaria575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoFK, Gerente at Hotel Casa Loteria, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

We appreciate your comments, what you mean about real management? We don´t offer AC, each room has ceiling vent. What is inadequate about the bathroom? Our location, amenities and accesible fares are the options that make Hotel Casa Loteria a popular place to stay at San Miguel de Allende´s downtown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews