We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (381)
Filter reviews
381 results
Traveler rating
255
50
39
27
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
255
50
39
27
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boutique hotel infinity pool enrique olvera wine pairing malin and goetz air conditioning and heat upstairs bar amazing artwork sliding glass excellent spa nespresso machine in the room hotel is fantastic architectural design deep tissue massage called the front desk restaurant staff spa treatments
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 381 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2018 via mobile

If I chose accommodation in San Miguel, this would be the place. We were two married couples using the pool and spa facilities for the afternoon. Our time was spent lounging around The pool and floating in the pool while enjoying a delicious lunch and wonderful beverages. The courtyard was immaculate. A hidden gem amidst the tumbled streets of San Miguel. Service was impeccable and as friendly as could be. This would be a fabulous place for a honeymoon or romantic getaway or any getaway!

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank pauloinnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce J, General Manager at Hotel Matilda, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Many of our guests consider Matilda an oasis of relaxation in the midst of San Miguel. We’re so glad you discovered our quiet refuge during your recent visit. Next time, we hope you’ll make Matilda your home-away-from-home for much longer, and enjoy the pleasures of our beautiful Spa, as well.

With warm regards,
Bruce James, Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 January 2018

We spent Christmas 2017 in this beautiful boutique hotel in the heart of San Miguel de Allende. First class service from check in until check out. Well appointed, cozy and quiet rooms, some with gorgeous views of the landscape. The on-site restaurant 'Moxi' is just fabulous and serves a first class continental breakfast with option for a full breakfast should you choose. Atmosphere at Moxi for breakfast, lunch or dinner is fantastic...when weather is warm the sliding glass doors are opened and it becomes indoor/outdoor dining. The restaurant staff is superb! The location can't be beat...less than 5 minute walk to many other great restaurants, shops and art galleries. Bring good walking shoes as the streets are old cobblestone (which adds to the character of this beautiful city!)

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Wanderlust0908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce J, General Manager at Hotel Matilda, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

The holidays are truly a special time in San Miguel, and we’re so pleased you spent them with us. I shared your kind remarks with our staff, who work so hard to provide our guests with an exceptional experience. Please come back again next Christmas – or sooner!

With warm regards,
Bruce James, Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 January 2018

I flew into Leon drove to San Miguel and arrived at a really lovely peaceful hotel in the middle of the central of this ancient city. The city is really charming with it’s colonial architecture. It’s quite hilly which adds to it’s beauty. The hotel is modern, with unique art in the common areas. The room was very clean it had air conditioning and heat which is not always found in the older hotels. There is a bar which serves very nice drinks and a lovely restaurant, which we had dinner at. They have a small outdoor pool which is not heated but probably doesn’t need it most of the year. I used the spa as well and it was wonderful. A great location and very lovely hotel

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank lambs4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce J, General Manager at Hotel Matilda, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

San Miguel makes for an excellent weekend escape! We’re pleased you enjoyed our boutique hotel and made such good use of our amenities – from Moxi restaurant and Spa Matilda to Mui bar. We hope you’ll plan another visit soon.

With warm regards,
Bruce James, Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 January 2018

Stunning room with a working fire place, a cosy nook overlooking the garden, the pool, and the city, and then small luxuries like Netflix on the TV and a nespresso machine in the room. Loved staying here!

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Anterthe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce J, General Manager at Hotel Matilda, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

We created Hotel Matilda with guests like you in mind – sophisticated travelers seeking a true boutique experience in the heart of colonial San Miguel. And you’re absolutely right: it’s the “small luxuries” that add up to a perfect stay! Please come again.

With warm regards,
Bruce James, Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

Stayed 1 week at Hotel Matilda. Had a lovely room with a great view of the pool. Service was outstanding, especially at the Front desk to housekeeping. Particularly Gustavo, Maria Jose and Javier were exceptionally helpful throughout our stay.
Meals were had at Moxi where the food was delicious but service was very variable. One day we would be served quickly, the next day, one hour later. I found it odd that in a hotel that stresses customer service, that frequently during meals the waiters would be carrying heavy boxes across the dining room, or moving the couches to get items hidden behind them needed for meals or lastly dusting the counters with a rag while we are eating??? The restaurant service can make/break whether you stay in a hotel...

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank ajltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce J, General Manager at Hotel Matilda, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

Thank you so much for celebrating your daughter’s birthday with us. Your review and comments are very important to us, and we will be sure to share them with our staff. We hope you’ll join us in the future for another celebration.

With warm regards,
Bruce James, Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews