We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Matilda
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Nena(San Miguel de Allende)
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Rosada Hotel(San Miguel de Allende)
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Morada Hotel(San Miguel de Allende)(Great Value!)
US$151
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique(San Miguel de Allende)
US$189
US$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mansion San Miguel(San Miguel de Allende)
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa Calderoni Bed and Breakfast(San Miguel de Allende)
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Arcada San Miguel(San Miguel de Allende)
US$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa de la Noche(San Miguel de Allende)(Great Value!)
US$89
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa Angelitos(San Miguel de Allende)(Great Value!)
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rosewood San Miguel de Allende(San Miguel de Allende)
US$517
US$504
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (370)
Filter reviews
370 results
Traveler rating
248
48
38
27
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
248
48
38
27
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboutique hotelenrique olveramalin and goetzair conditioning and heatcontemporary artupstairs barsliding glassexcellent spadeep tissue massagenespresso machine in the roomcalled the front deskexcelent servicerestaurant staffpublic spaces arelovely boutiquecontinental breakfastspa treatments
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 370 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2018 via mobile

If I chose accommodation in San Miguel, this would be the place. We were two married couples using the pool and spa facilities for the afternoon. Our time was spent lounging around The pool and floating in the pool while enjoying a delicious lunch and wonderful beverages. The courtyard was immaculate. A hidden gem amidst the tumbled streets of San Miguel. Service was impeccable and as friendly as could be. This would be a fabulous place for a honeymoon or romantic getaway or any getaway!

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank pauloinnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce J, General Manager at Hotel Matilda, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Many of our guests consider Matilda an oasis of relaxation in the midst of San Miguel. We’re so glad you discovered our quiet refuge during your recent visit. Next time, we hope you’ll make Matilda your home-away-from-home for much longer, and enjoy the pleasures of our beautiful Spa, as well.

With warm regards,
Bruce James, Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 January 2018

We spent Christmas 2017 in this beautiful boutique hotel in the heart of San Miguel de Allende. First class service from check in until check out. Well appointed, cozy and quiet rooms, some with gorgeous views of the landscape. The on-site restaurant 'Moxi' is just fabulous and serves a first class continental breakfast with option for a full breakfast should you choose. Atmosphere at Moxi for breakfast, lunch or dinner is fantastic...when weather is warm the sliding glass doors are opened and it becomes indoor/outdoor dining. The restaurant staff is superb! The location can't be beat...less than 5 minute walk to many other great restaurants, shops and art galleries. Bring good walking shoes as the streets are old cobblestone (which adds to the character of this beautiful city!)

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Wanderlust0908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce J, General Manager at Hotel Matilda, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

The holidays are truly a special time in San Miguel, and we’re so pleased you spent them with us. I shared your kind remarks with our staff, who work so hard to provide our guests with an exceptional experience. Please come back again next Christmas – or sooner!

With warm regards,
Bruce James, Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 January 2018

I flew into Leon drove to San Miguel and arrived at a really lovely peaceful hotel in the middle of the central of this ancient city. The city is really charming with it’s colonial architecture. It’s quite hilly which adds to it’s beauty. The hotel is modern, with unique art in the common areas. The room was very clean it had air conditioning and heat which is not always found in the older hotels. There is a bar which serves very nice drinks and a lovely restaurant, which we had dinner at. They have a small outdoor pool which is not heated but probably doesn’t need it most of the year. I used the spa as well and it was wonderful. A great location and very lovely hotel

Stayed: January 2018, traveled with friends
Thank lambs4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce J, General Manager at Hotel Matilda, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

San Miguel makes for an excellent weekend escape! We’re pleased you enjoyed our boutique hotel and made such good use of our amenities – from Moxi restaurant and Spa Matilda to Mui bar. We hope you’ll plan another visit soon.

With warm regards,
Bruce James, Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 January 2018

Stunning room with a working fire place, a cosy nook overlooking the garden, the pool, and the city, and then small luxuries like Netflix on the TV and a nespresso machine in the room. Loved staying here!

Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Anterthe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce J, General Manager at Hotel Matilda, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

We created Hotel Matilda with guests like you in mind – sophisticated travelers seeking a true boutique experience in the heart of colonial San Miguel. And you’re absolutely right: it’s the “small luxuries” that add up to a perfect stay! Please come again.

With warm regards,
Bruce James, Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

Stayed 1 week at Hotel Matilda. Had a lovely room with a great view of the pool. Service was outstanding, especially at the Front desk to housekeeping. Particularly Gustavo, Maria Jose and Javier were exceptionally helpful throughout our stay.
Meals were had at Moxi where the food was delicious but service was very variable. One day we would be served quickly, the next day, one hour later. I found it odd that in a hotel that stresses customer service, that frequently during meals the waiters would be carrying heavy boxes across the dining room, or moving the couches to get items hidden behind them needed for meals or lastly dusting the counters with a rag while we are eating??? The restaurant service can make/break whether you stay in a hotel...

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
Thank ajltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce J, General Manager at Hotel Matilda, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

Thank you so much for celebrating your daughter’s birthday with us. Your review and comments are very important to us, and we will be sure to share them with our staff. We hope you’ll join us in the future for another celebration.

With warm regards,
Bruce James, Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews