We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Matilda
Nearby Hotels
Casa Rosada Hotel(San Miguel de Allende)
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hacienda El Santuario(San Miguel de Allende)(Great Value!)
US$169
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique(San Miguel de Allende)
US$226
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Morada Hotel(San Miguel de Allende)(Great Value!)
US$150
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arcada San Miguel(San Miguel de Allende)
US$46
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mansion San Miguel(San Miguel de Allende)
US$189
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa Calderoni Bed and Breakfast(San Miguel de Allende)
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa de la Noche(San Miguel de Allende)(Great Value!)
US$89
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa Angelitos(San Miguel de Allende)(Great Value!)
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rosewood San Miguel de Allende(San Miguel de Allende)
US$402
US$392
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (370)
Filter reviews
370 results
Traveler rating
248
48
38
27
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
248
48
38
27
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboutique hotelenrique olveramalin and goetzair conditioning and heatcontemporary artupstairs barsliding glassexcellent spadeep tissue massagenespresso machine in the roomcalled the front deskexcelent servicerestaurant staffpublic spaces arelovely boutiquecontinental breakfastspa treatments
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 370 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2017

Excellent spa facility - exceptionally clean and comfortable with great attendants. We all dined at Moxi after our spa treatments, and the food was delicious and the service excellent, but leisurely as befits the Mexican culture.

Stayed: October 2017
1  Thank TahoeKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce J, General Manager at Hotel Matilda, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

We’re pleased you took the time to relax and enjoy yourself at Spa Matilda, as well as Moxi. Some of our spa treatments are truly exceptional – and the hammam is wonderful for de-stressing. We hope you’ll return soon for some more R&R!

With warm regards,
Bruce James, Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 September 2017

We took another couple out to dinner with us to celebrate our 20th anniversary and all four of us were disappointed in the service. The food and drinks were very good and the restaurant & bar are very attractive. Arriving early, we were told we could have a drink in the bar upstairs and waited about 10 minutes before going back downstairs to advise there was no bartender up there. Then they tried to seat us between two tables full of smokers on the patio. We ordered dinner and were never asked if we wanted to start with a soup or salad, we never had any bread at the table, our drink orders were delayed twice, and one of the entrees we ordered wasn't available. We were asked twice if we were celebrating anything special and both times we said our 20th anniversary - but they did nothing for it - why ask? We told the waiter we weren't very happy with the service, so he did comp dessert, which was nice. However, for the money, we would not go back.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AZSpottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce J, General Manager at Hotel Matilda, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

Given the truly exceptional reviews our restaurant receives from so many diners, we were surprised that your experience was so unusual. We have reviewed your comments in detail with our staff, and hope you’ll consider visiting us again the next time you come to San Miguel. We appreciate your business.

Best regards,
Bruce James, Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 August 2017

Booked a room on line last fall for a May wedding. Canceled it a week or two later when we were able to book the Rosewood. Did not receive a cancellation number but the website no longer showed a reservation under our name or reservation number. Verified a couple months before the trip that the website no longer showed our reservation. Thought we set until we received the charges for the stay a week or so before travel. Imagine our surprise and dismay. Tried to resolve this with the hotel management who were unsympathetic and put the charges through. We stayed at the Rosewood (awesome hotel and highly recommend it) and had a wonderful time. Trip sullied by the Matilda's foible. Have tried to resolve it with them since, explaining what happened with their website to no avail. Can't speak to their on site services, just to their website and insensitive treatment. We will be actively avoiding the Design Hotels properties in the future.

Room Tip: Go to Rosewood
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
    • Service
2  Thank rodbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

We went for a couple spa package and it was AMAZING, the service, the spa section, the hotel, everything was perfect! They had different cabinets for couples and the whole experience is worth the price.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Diego P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce J, General Manager at Hotel Matilda, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

Thank you so much for spreading the word about Spa Matilda – it’s one of the best kept secrets in San Miguel! Truly, everyone who discovers our boutique spa is amazed at the beautiful facility, exceptional treatments and professional therapists who provide such excellent service. Come back soon again for another immersion in luxury Spa heaven!

With warm regards,
Bruce James, Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

We came here for a wedding! This hotel is clean and staff are very nice and helpful. The bad part is the front desk would not break US money for smaller bills.. $100.00. They charge for waters in the room that you need for brushing teeth etc. The stairs have no lights, very dark!!!!

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Lynda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce J, General Manager at Hotel Matilda, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

We’re pleased that you stayed with us for a wedding – San Miguel is extremely popular with couples, many of whom enjoy their honeymoons here, as well. We appreciate your comments and your review.

Best regards,
Bruce James, Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews