We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Latino
Nearby Hotels
US$186
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Azulik(Tulum)
US$510
US$468
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$335
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$376/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$409
US$246
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$338
US$290
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$355/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Diamante K(Tulum)(Great Value!)
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$430
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coco Tulum(Tulum)(Great Value!)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$405
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (393)
Filter reviews
393 results
Traveler rating
210
120
46
11
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
210
120
46
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscentral locationthe hotel is cleanshort stayenjoyed our staynice stayno hot watertulum beachbikemexiconightlife
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 393 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2017

My boyfriend and I took advantage of a last minute opportunity to take a trip to Tulum, Mexico for 10 days. We were in a position where we had to budget like we never have before. So upon booking our flights we were scouring sites for Tulum discounts and found Hotel Latino for $414USD for 9 nights! It looked like a very low-key, no fuss kind of hotel which was something we were used to.

Location: I usually don't put location first, but location is EVERYTHING when traveling around Mexico. For our vacation, we were looking for an action packed/relaxing beach vacation. Lots of Instagram worthy photos, videos, and nightlife... you get the idea. We arrived in downtown Tulum and were overall happy with our choice of hotel, but felt very distant from any sort of travelers/vacationers. We knew this going in... we figured we would take a taxi or bike each day out to the beach to save money. But once we took the first taxi our first night and saw the beach and all the people, we realized how distanced we were from everything happening. To sum it up, we chatted with a scuba instructor in Tulum Beach and we asked him if we should move to the beach area or stay in town. He said that downtown has a "late-night" late-night and stays busy until 5am, but Tulum beach closes earlier, is twice the price, but is absolutely stunning and more of what we were looking for. So we decided after 1 night in Hotel Latino to head to the beach.

Hotel Accommodations: I don't want to be unfair, the comments about the location have nothing to do with the hotel in itself. The hotel was overall great. The gentlemen at the front desk was friendly and assisted us to our room. We had an awesome working aircon unit, a tv, 3 plug outlets, a comfy bed, and an extremely clean bathroom. When I'm mostly impressed by a bathroom, that's saying alot! The pool was a little off what I expected. It was free of debris, but cloudy and not so inviting. There was a common area with free tea & coffee you could make yourself, books, and a refrigerator to keep whatever you'd like. That was very welcoming. Overall the accommodations were very comfortable.

Overall Opinion: If you want to do Tulum beach on a budget, stay here for your first 1-2 nights. Take the taxi into Tulum beach and explore. This will save you soooo much money. Then spend the rest of your vacation on the beach if that's what you're looking for. I ABSOLUTELY LOVE hotels like Hotel Latino because they allow me to acclimate to where I am and give me time to search for that "spot on the beach" I'm looking for while saving money! This is truly a great starting point for a trip to Tulum.

Room Tip: Room #4 is directly in front of the pool.
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Takemewithyoutravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLatinoTulum, Manager at Hotel Latino, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for your detailed comments. You had originally booked 9 nights with us, yet the following morning on just one short night with us, you decided you wanted to stay on the beach. We cancelled the remaining 8 nights free of charge and you only stayed one night. We hope you enjoyed the beach and Tulum.
Thanks and hope you'll be back soon.
Best regards,
Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 June 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights as we explored all that Tulum had to offer via mo-ped and thoroughly enjoyed it. One short block away from the main street right in the center of downtown Tulum, conveniently located walking distance from the ADO bus stop and many bars/restaurants. The hotel is clean, has a nice pool (in spite of its size) and and provides good service plus all the basic amenities -- a solid three-star hotel.

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank chlofo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLatinoTulum, Manager at Hotel Latino, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Dear guest,

Many thanks for your excellent review and for staying with us. We hope to see you again soon!
Best regards,
Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 March 2017

We spent four days at this hotel and then four at the beach. You cannot fairly compare the locations as they are almost two different places. We thoroughly enjoyed staying in town and will most likely make our whole stay in town on our next visit. Town is more what you might say is authentic and therefore maybe so is this hotel. But, the pictures are deceiving, the pool is barely larger than a bathtub and there is no way that we would use it as the water was a cloudy color. The rooms are small but clean. Bathroom was fine but ours had a broken toilet seat and was not very clean. The two young men that ran the hotel were friendly and appeared to be the whole front desk and housekeeping staff. We felt safe there, but the neighborhood is poor.

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLatinoTulum, Manager at Hotel Latino, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for expressing your subjective views of your stay in Tulum downtown. I personally took the pictures myself, which are posted online, so there no tricked pictures there. The toilet seat was replaced the next day.
Come back and see us again soon.
Best regards,
Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 January 2017

Unfortunately this Hotel has ended up on the bottom of our rate list after 4 weeks of traveling in the region:

Positives:
- The Owner (Gary) is a very welcoming and friendly person. The check-in was smooth and the recommendations given were spot on!
- If you don’t wand to be in one of the hotels right on the beach and prefer the Tulum center – the location is perfect. Be ready though for lots of noise during the night
- You have a hammock if you are in a Deluxe room

Negatives:
Customer Service:

It really seems like Gary is the one-band man who runs the place. Running a hotel is a lot take of work though! I understood the only other employees are two Mexican guys who live in the hotel. You can either see them with a broom or on their mobile phones. It looks like they are confused between their on and off-duty time? Not sure. One way or another it doesn’t work.
The entire lobby place and the reception was on majority of cases empty. If you need something you hope the Owner is in or ring the bell at the reception until … nothing happens. On an occasion a guest from the room downstairs was insisting for me switch something as I was the only person at the lobby and clearly I need to be from the customer service… Por Favor!… Non, mais ça va quoi ?! !

Bathroom ) (photos attached).)

- It needs investment. We were in a Deluxe room but I was not happy about the WC getting blocked constantly (despite not putting the toilet paper in as advised). The rubber plunger was provided though ;-) Damp and moldy shower, water drain was often clogged BTW: why not to put a trash-bin with a cover if you need to put dirty toilet paper there? Just imagine the smell during the heat.


Room:
- Not very functional. Not too clean. No place really to unpack so we had everything all other the place as we were traveling with backpacks. The cleaning was limited(my impression): to making the bed, changing the towels and sweeping the floor

The killer:

The price vs quality is really what puzzles me. With 125USD per night you can get some really good deals. This Hotel was more like an average hostel with daily “cleaning”. Suddenly you notice that the Internet upstairs does not work very well, so you need to go down and sit next to the tea making area, the old TV takes all of the table space and you don’t have space to put you bag and all the other things that are NOT happening in a 125USD (or 135, 145 depending on the various) per night room.
Sorry Garry, we just didn’t enjoy the hotel. Tulum and your advice were great though☺

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bezka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLatinoTulum, Manager at Hotel Latino, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2017

Dear guest,
Thank you for posting your extensive and very subjective views of your stay at Hotel Latino.
It's unfortunate you didn't fully enjoy your stay with us. We provided you with a clean room with private bathroom, a queen bed, TV, AC, minifridge, free WiFi, daily housekeeping, and free purified water, coffee and tea. You also had a small area by your room that had a hammock as well.
You also were aware of the price to pay and the display of the pictures of your room before making your reservation. You traveled during the end of the year during the holidays where prices soar in Tulum. Hostels were going for $90 USD a night for a 10 bedroom dorm, therefore the price you paid for your private room was reasonable. If you were really not happy with your stay, we would have been happy to cancel your reservation and find you another accommodation in Tulum that would have better met your expectations on your stay in Tulum.

Upon arrival at Hotel Latino, you were provided with a map of Tulum with personal explanations on what to do in the area, where to go on the beach, where to eat, etc. When asked how was everything during your stay, and you replied that everything was fine.
I'm was there in the afternoons, and my 2 employees live at the hotel, therefore there is always someone who can help the guests or to fix any problems in your room. Yet, none of your concerns were ever brought to our attention to resolve any problems you may have had during your stay.

We thank you for your stay.
Best regards,
Gary



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

From the moment we were greeted by Gary at the front desk, we were glad we chose this hotel. Located in a great spot to explore Tulum.
The hotel is comfortable and a great spot to rest after your adventures.

Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank georgespics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLatinoTulum, Manager at Hotel Latino, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2017

Dear guest,
Thank you for your excellent review of your stay. We enjoyed having you as our guests.
Come back and visit us again soon!
Best regards,
Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews