We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (605)
Filter reviews
605 results
Traveler rating
311
192
46
23
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
311
192
46
23
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach front garden view breakfast was included fish ceviche every morning beautiful beach other hotels big resort lot of seaweed loved this hotel eco hotel chilaquiles would highly recommend this hotel salsa night ocean waves slice of heaven beach service
Filter
Updating list...
160 - 165 of 605 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at Hip Hotel during our four night stay in Tulum. Our experience at the hotel was fantastic. We had the pleasure of staying in room 22, which has an ocean view and is very quiet because of its distance from the restaurant and other foot traffic. Every morning we woke up to a beautiful sunrise without even leaving our bed. Of course, with the beach right outside, we spent plenty of time staring at the beautiful view both from our room and on the shore itself.

The staff at Hip Hotel are incredibly nice and professional. We checked in with ease, enjoyed free and quick valet parking whenever we needed our car, and came back to a clean room after a day at the beach or exploring Tulum. We even had turn down service at night and were delighted to find chocolates waiting for us on our pillows.

Every morning we took advantage of the delicious breakfast that comes automatically with the stay. The food was very tasty, and the view from the restaurant is magical. The servers are very sweet and they always kept our coffee mugs full (thanks, Santos!).

I would be thrilled to get the chance to stay at Hip Hotel again. It's convenient location to restaurants, bars and shops and the beautiful accommodations make it a great resting place while visiting Tulum.

Our stay made the trip all the more special.

Stayed: March 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 March 2016 via mobile

A thatched roofed, beach hut, open to the air on three sides, with no TV, no A/C, no Clock, no Light Pollution, limited internet connection, set right on the beach, half way down a jungle road - Am I going nuts, when I booked this ?

And then you arrive, and get absolutely overwhelmed with the sounds of ocean waves, the birds, the peace, the feeling of all the stress leaving - just amazing.

A really comfortable super King-size bed, surrounded by mosquito netting, which, billows, gently in the ocean breezes.

This was so relaxing.

The staff - particularly Santos in the restaurant are kind and will go out of their way to help - just be patient - this isn't the Four Seasons, and Tulum is not Manhattan !

A few tips - the ruins - grab a cab - early - (130 pesos) and get to the ruins by 8am - you will need an hour to explore them and the hundreds of tour buses arrive at 10am - so you have the place to yourself - pretty much.

When you come in from Cancun airport - get the driver (and the hotel provides a reliable service - Aventour) to stop off at CHEDRAUI on the way to the hotel . CHEDRAUI is the local supermarket and stock up on beer vino sunblock water, essentials.

Rooms 16, 17 and 18 are the primo ones to be had.

Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
3  Thank PBRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 March 2016 via mobile

My husband and I visited Tulum for the first time this past week and stayed at Hip Hotel. It was everything we could have asked for! Such beautiful grounds and mostly quiet at that end of the road but close enough to bars and restaurants, perfectly manicured private beach, simple and very comfortable rooms. The entire hotel staff was amazingly attentive and so friendly. We can not wait to come back!

Stayed: March 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Smfreeman27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 March 2016

We stayed at the Hip Hotel for 5 nights and had a wonderful stay.
Pros:
-Spacious cabanas with a VERY comfortable bed
- Gorgeous beach with palapas and no problems getting beach chairs
-Friendly staff that was super accommodating of my gluten allergy and our late check-out time
-Good restaurant with great patio
Breakfast included (HUGE bonus) that goes until 11 am (also very convenient)
-Walking distance to amazing restaurants (Arca, Casa Banana, Cenzontle) and shops

Cons:
- We were in cabana 13, which, while beachfront, is right next to the restaurant. People were passing in front of our cabana almost constantly, and the restaurant started playing music at 7:30 am, which woke us up every morning
-Wifi was spotty... which is actually preferable for a wonderful beach vacation, but I needed to do a work call and web conference and the signal was too week for me to connect

Room Tip: 16, 17, 18 are beachfront and furthest from the restaurant
  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulum Resorts M... T, Guest Relations Manager at Hip Hotel Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, we are happy to hear that your experience with our hotel was great. We will take your comments under consideration to better improve our services.

Regards,

Tulum Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 February 2016

We only came for drinks at the restaurant and sat on the patio overlooking the beach. View was great and the service was a little slow but very friendly. We just ordered the pineapple margaritas and they were delicious and refreshing. Considering they were 1 of the nicer hotels, the price was reasonable, about $5 even though we missed happy hour. Our waiter even brought us a dish of peanuts because he knew were only having drinks.

  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TnY2324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grupo Ana y Jos... T, Tulum Resorts Marketing at Hip Hotel Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2016

Hello,

Thank you for coming to our restaurant and for taking your time to post this review, we will forward this information to the corresponding team to improve the experience of our clients.

Kind regards,

Tulum Resorts Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews