We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,085)
Filter reviews
1,085 results
Traveler rating
902
135
38
5
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
902
135
38
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews turtle cove beach house luxury cabana every morning juan carlos granola herbal tea concierge staff fresh fruit la zebra sister property sound of the waves your doorstep beach front our honeymoon included breakfast special shout
Filter
Updating list...
208 - 213 of 1,085 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2017

This was my third stay at El Pez and I can truly say it was the best! We were greeted with warm welcomes by Lina, Diana, Suzy and Julia. We have stayed in all types of rooms during our three stays--this time was on a second floor luxury cabana. This was my favorite room by far with beautiful decor and amazing views. The hotel provided us with drink vouchers to use at their sister properties: La Zebra (which was great for a lunch, drinks, use of the beach club and a relaxed afternoon), Mi Amor (which to us had a very elite, private and quiet feel with no direct access to the beach), and Mezzanine which was on the edge of a long stretch of public beach with an excellent restaurant and fantastic views but more of a hipster vibe with electronic music playing during the day. The staff at all of the properties were lovely but none as great as those at El Pez who made our stay truly special. All of their recommendations for restaurants were spot on and every time we went to dinner, they called ahead without us asking to let the restaurant know that we were coming. Choose El Pez if you want a romantic, laid back, beautiful and peaceful accommodation with fabulous staff all around; from the waiters to the bartenders to the front desk staff. Gracias a todos en el Pez. Hasta la próxima vez!

Room Tip: luxury cabana second floor lovely!
  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sasha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2017

Hola amiga!

It was so nice to have you stay with us again! Thank you very much for the sweet review! We were thrilled to read this was the best stay you've had with us yet. :) We really appreciate you recommending us for a "romantic, laid back, beautiful and peaceful accommodation with fabulous staff all around" That made everyone smile. We cannot wait to see you again and will gladly have a luxury cabaña waiting!

All our best,

Julia and the Pez Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 March 2017

We spent 5 days, 4 nights in paradise at El Pez! The property was located in a great location along the beach. The service and concierge of the hotel were truly spectacular with amazing recommendations for activities and food/drink. I could not recommend this lovely hotel more highly!

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2017

Hola Stephanie!

Thank you very much for the short, but sweet review! We really appreciate you recommending us to your fellow travelers and hope to see you again soon!

Sunny Regards,

Julia and the Pez Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 March 2017

First, the Concierge team is AMAZING! Lina, Susy and Diana were always very helpful, providing excellent recommendations for restaurants and things to do. They would call ahead for us and reserve tables at restaurants. They are also very friendly. Honestly, the staff is better than Four Seasons staff. The location of El Pez is convenient and beautiful. The beach is gorgeous and there isn't much foot traffic from non-guests along the beach at El Pez. The food was delicious at breakfast, lunch or dinner at El Pez. The waiters Jesus and Edwin were so courteous, helpful and friendly. Renting bikes for 24 hours are available at the hotel and definitely worth taking advantage of. The morning coffee & turn down tea delivered to the room was wonderful. Miss El Pez and Tulum. We want to go back - soon!

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olivergumbrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2017

Dear Oliver,

Wow! We cannot thank you enough for the amazing compliments! The staff were especially overjoyed to read that "Honestly, the staff is better than Four Seasons staff." You put the biggest smiles on their faces. :D Lina, Susy, Diana, Jesus and Edwin all say thank you for their special shoutouts! We are so happy you had an amazing time here, found our location to be convenient and beautiful and enjoyed the morning coffee and nightly tea at the turn down service. We miss you already and hope you can visit us again soon!

Warmest Regards,

Julia and the Pez Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 March 2017

EL Pez is a peaceful welcoming slice of heaven in the oasis of Tulum. It's location away from the main activity section of the beach makes it the perfect place to begin and end the day. Comfortable rooms, excellent breakfast, great drinks at happy hour are all perfect. The hotel is eco-chic. The crowning piece is the staff. They treat you like family.

We are counting the days until we can return,

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank YoYoYogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Hola Alex!

We love that you felt Pez is "a peaceful welcoming slice of heaven" What a wonderful compliment! We are so happy you enjoyed our comfortable rooms, excellent breakfast and great drinks! The staff were thrilled to read your comments about treating our guests like family as well. :D We are also counting down the days until we see you again!

All our best,

Julia and the Pez Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 March 2017

I have lived in Cancun for more than 20 years, but when we want a beach getaway, we head south. So, for our last getaway we decided to try someplace new. We went to El Pez and were so happy with our choice. We were able to stay in one of their sea front king rooms, and these really are sea front! Loved our room. Simple, mexican decoration, comfortable bed, good sheets, and coffee delivered to our room every morning. The beach in front of the hotel is a beautiful small bay, with pelicans fishing all day. It is a rocky bay, but a 5 minute walk to the right around the bay takes you to a rock free area. Very romantic, Now shortly after that trip, I had a reunion with 20 girlfriends. We stayed at El Pez, and it worked great for our group. There are two side to the hotel one is a more traditional feel small hotel and the rooms are nice. The other side has 5 or 6 rooms all facing the ocean and a large house like area. Living room, dining room, and full Kitchen. These are not mini sized, but a house sized area. We rented all the rooms surrounding this house area, and were all able to hang out sing karaoke and have a great time in the evenings together. The restaurant of the hotel is really good, get the fried fish! Breakfast is included, and it was great, they also have a nice bar area to hang out at night. My only complaint would be I wish there was a mini fridge in the room otherwise, bathroom everything was wonderful. From rooms to food to service, loved it, and will be going back.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor beach front
  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2017

Dear Carina,

A review like yours from a local means so much! We are so happy your group enjoyed renting La Casa and all the amenities that make Pez special. You will be very happy to know that we have now added minibars to the rooms, so we hope you are able to visit us again soon and check those out! Thank you for taking the time to write a review!

Sunny Regards,

Julia and the Pez Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews