We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$336
US$280
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Las Tres Palmas(Tulum)(Great Value!)
US$45
US$28
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 38% below average rates

The price you found is 38% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$45/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Beach Tulum(Tulum)
US$531
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coco Tulum(Tulum)(Great Value!)
US$156
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Diamante K(Tulum)(Great Value!)
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$397
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$393
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Azulik(Tulum)
US$360
US$306
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$397/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$578
US$344
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$443/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (632)
Filter reviews
632 results
Traveler rating
466
135
24
6
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
466
135
24
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyogurtfull kitchenthe main dragbeautiful oasisbreakfast was deliciouswalk into townbeautiful poolevery morningtree houseshort driverented a carbottled watermini fridgesmall hoteltulum ruinspykkitchenette
Filter
Updating list...
209 - 214 of 632 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I have been to Tulum several times. This is the first time I decided to stay in the town and not on the beach. Posada offers a very nice and affordable alternative to the more expensive properties on the beach. The rooms are very clean, the staff was available to assist and very friendly and supportive. The location is best if your traveling with a car, but it is easy to get around, and taxi's are quite plentiful.

Room Tip: The rooms are quite diverse but the pictures on the site help select rooms best suited to your needs. I was solo and found that room #10 was really good. This room would be fine for a couple as well. You can enter directly from the street.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lousagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear Lou: It was quite a pleasure to have you here as our guest with your good energy! It is great you have decided give town a chance and we are very happy you did not get disapointed at all. We really appreciate your thoughful words and if you decide to revisit us, we will make sure you have an even better experience as our friend next time. Thank you very much and we hope the north is treating you well.
Kind regards, the team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 March 2014

great place. the rooms were very nice, clean, and functional with the local touch. the owner dan and all staff we're super friendly and willing to assist with anything. PYK met and exceeded our expectations, although I would recommend a couple of newer bikes for the fleet.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you very much for staying with us, Jason! We are so happy to hear you had a nice time and we were actually helpful to make your trip better! We are working in new bikes so next time you come we will have more to choose from! Thank you again for your kind words. Best wishes from the whole team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 February 2014

My goal was to spend three weeks of quiet and peaceful healing time in Mexico. The staff at the hotel are amazing, and the owner was so friendly and willing to share his experiences here in Tulum. I want to personally thank Liz for all of her help and great energy! I highly recommend hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathanrubin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear J! Thank you very much for posting a review on us! It was a nice surprise to meet someone as dedicated and nice as you are. We definitely had a great time sharing our house with you for three weeks. We can not wait to have you as our guest again next year!
Lots of possitive energy wherever you are and again, thank you!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

From the second we walked in the the sanctuary of Posada Yum Kin we felt at ease, the manager Lis is helpful and courteous. The whole family loved the breakfast by the pool, and our room #12 offered privacy bar none. We got a chance to meet the friendly and knowledgable owner, Dan, and he gave us great restaurant and outing advice. We will pick this gem again :-)

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oceannaalondra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Hola, O!! Thank you very much for your kind review! It was great to have you and your lovely family staying with us! We are very glad you liked our suggestions and had a beautiful time in Tulum! You were really nice to every one and that is the best quality in our guests. We would love to have you staying with us again! Kind regards from all the team!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We do a lot of work in travel and tourism and so I know there are places like Posada Yum Kin that some folks will just love, and others won't. That's not a judgment of the place as much as a recognition that some people can adapt to things being a little different than home, and others may want something more familiar.
If you can't cope, for instance, with putting used toilet paper in the trash next to the toilet instead of flushing it, then Posada Yum Kin is not for you. I don't know if this is common in Tulum with older buildings, or if they just hired a Greek plumber (this is a common situation in Greece), but if that turns you off, you may want to keep looking for a modern resort (and you will pay).
If you can, however, adapt to this and the electrical limitations brought about by the hotel being on a combination of solar and wind power, and the fact it is located in a neighborhood, not directly downtown or down on the beach, then you may just find that Posada Yum Kin is not just OK, but a real delight.
We stayed recently for four nights for our daughter's wedding. Our daughter stayed in a beachfront hotel that was between two and three times more expensive. Yes, they had a beach, but we had a beautiful boutique hotel that was a superb value, and situated perfectly for us - easy access to the highway through Tulum, beach access, and the highway to Coba, Chichen Itza, Valladolid, and more fun day trip destinations.
Our room (#3) was relaxing, roomy, cool, with everything you'd need (other than groceries) to cook your own meals. It was meticulously cleaned and cared for, though I will note that the complimentary shampoo and conditioner were not impressive (one appeared to be partially used). The complimentary soap was high quality though, plenty of drinking water was available, and the room was tastefully accessorized. A very large covered veranda expanded our living space with chairs and hammock in the shade, and the hotel pool was always clean and inviting.
One thing about Posada Yum Kin is that Liz, the great manager here, has a staff that surpasses expectations. Her staff, even the night front desk clerk who spoke no English, are all professional, and make you feel right at home. They are truly wonderful people. They also are constantly working and cleaning, and as a result, the grounds and hotel feel cared for and are stunningly beautiful.
There were things we did not like, or would have done differently, such as provide curtains for the windows to block out light and provide privacy. We had to hang towels over the windows just to get the room dark enough for us to sleep.
There was some kind of impromptu nightclub or nightly party going on nearby that got fairly noisy on a couple of nights, but if the AC goes on, the noise pretty much goes away. We had some worries originally about leaving the car outside the hotel, but there was never any problem. The real problem for your car can be summed up in two words: speed bumps. Watch out. We bottomed out repeatedly in our rental car on one speed bump on the road to Posada Yum Kin. That's definitely nothing they control, just watch out for the thing!
The breakfast was good, but doesn't change much, day to day. We got a little bored with it (but not with the coffee, which was fantastic), by the end of our stay. It can be difficult to find a table if you come at the wrong time, but sit by the pool and relax if that happens.
Ultimately, when we return to Tulum (and I hope we do), we would love to stay at Posada Yum Kin again. It provides great value for the money, and while it may not be for everyone, if you value comfort, cleanliness, friendly professional staff, a central location, and a tasteful, beautiful and unique place to call home for a little while, look no further. We truly loved staying here and we'd have absolutely no difficulty returning here repeatedly.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheSunRunnerMagazine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Thank you very, very much for such detailed and nice review. We really appreciate every word of it. Everything you said is a compliment to us, being a senior traveller and rating us as great as you did means a lot to us. We will definitely take into account your advices in order to make the experience even better for our future guests and we would love if you decided to come back! Thank you very much again for your kind words! Sincerely, all the PYK staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews