We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Posada Yum Kin
Nearby Hotels
US$261
US$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$210
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Diamante K(Tulum)(Great Value!)
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$357
US$292
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Las Tres Palmas Hotel(Tulum)(Great Value!)
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$126
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Coco Tulum(Tulum)
US$104
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
The Beach Tulum(Tulum)
US$531
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$496
US$367
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$558
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (630)
Filter reviews
630 results
Traveler rating
464
135
24
6
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
464
135
24
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoff the beaten pathyogurtwater dispenserfull kitchenthe main dragbeautiful oasisbeautiful poolbreakfast was deliciousevery morningdirt roadtree houseshort driverented a carmini fridgesmall hotelplaya del carmentulum ruins
Filter
Updating list...
221 - 226 of 630 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2014

This hotel is definitely off the beaten path. Be sure to get precise directions before heading to Tulum. We had to call for directions. Posada Yum Kin is located on a street down from the town proper. We had a car so we never attempted to walk into town. Please note: this hotel is not located near the beach area.

Our room was up the spiral staircase. It can be difficult to get your luggage to your room. The room itself was very clean and spacious. We had a kitchen and a front porch with a hammock. The breezes were nice with the open windows and ceiling fan, but there is air conditioning, if needed. There is also a water cooler in the room.

Cons: We had no soap the first day to take a shower. Be warned, if you are the first one in the complex to shower, you will have cold water only. It takes about 10 minutes for the hot water to reach you, then it is fine. Breakfast is provided poolside.

We had difficulty falling asleep due to the barking dogs next door.

Pros: Liz, the manager, is very helpful and concerned with making your stay as good as possible. She made recommendations for dinner, both of which were excellent: Ginger and La Nave.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tuttie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Thank you very much for your kind review. We tried our best to make you feel at home. We are sorry for the inconvenients you experienced but everytime we read the things we missed with our guests we make sure that mistake never happens again, we really appreciate your kindness and patience. Next time you visit us we will make sure that your stay gets to be perfect!! Again, thank you very much for the kind words and your feedback, we really appreciate. Best wishes from Tulum!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 January 2014

So, it's a 10 min walk along a dirt road to reach the most happening area of Tulum, but after looking at the "conveniently" located hotels/hostels in the area, Posada yumkin is paradise. It's a B and B complete with your own kitchen and dining table ( not that I cook) , but this will have been great for some kitchen pros.

Beautiful room, and a nice pool to dip into after a days trek through the Mayan temples. A plus is the ever accommodating receptionist, Liz.

And if anyone complains it's far from the beach, ha, I'd say that's a plus, coz Tulum beaches are exceptionally beautiful but really quiet. So, unless one wants to be stuck in an overpriced resort (which is open to public at daytime for 200 peso consumable fee per beach bed), and face a dark and quiet sea at night, one is better off staying downtown.

Since I'm not a biker, posada yum kin is 30 pesos away from the ado bus station, and downtown main road, and 70 pesos away from the beach by taxi.

Will I come back here? Yes

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Alipinofw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 January 2014

What a find! While most of the visitors to Tulum stay on "the strip," Posada Yum Kim sits in the "real" town, so you actually get to visit Mexico during your stay, rather than some touristy village. Liz was at the helm while we were there and chatted with us each day about our stay, answering our questions, providing extra towels and even snorkeling equipment. Our room was atop a spiral staircase, with beautiful handmade wood fixtures and a treehouse feel. There were windows that we kept open at all times, letting in the breeze. W e had a little patio overlooking the street, where kids would ride by on bikes and we'd wave hello. Night times were quiet, and we had long sleeps.There is wifi (though it can be a little tempermental all over Tulum, not just the hotel) so we watched some movies on our laptops.
The hotel has bikes for rent (very reasonably) and that's how many people get around Tulum. We liked having a car, as the restaurants are about a mile away and the beach is 2 or 3 miles. We will definitely come again to this magical town, and to Posada Yum Kim.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Hola, Mr. & Mrs. R!! Thank you very much for the review! It is extremely sweet of you taking your time to describe your experience with us. We are happy you have found suite #9 as lovely as we do. As you said, it is a perfect spot to enjoy the sunrise and the moon at night. You were really nice guests and we are definitely looking forward to have you staying with us sometime soon again. Thank you very much for choosing us, next time you revisit, it will be like friends! Kind regards from the PYK Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Yes it is a bit away from the center but it is ok to walk during the day about 15 minutes and you can get a cab for a couple of bucks or ride a bike (the hotel rent them AT A CHEAP RATE). We came here on the 29th of Dcember 2013, Priced are crazy in Tulum during this time. MY advice BOOK IN ADVANCE during peak time!!! We payed $150 USD (not too bad considering that we booked two weeks before going and that it can be a lot more elsewhere!) The room 9 was upstairs a bit away from the swimming pool (which we liked) and there were a kitchenette and a nice balcony, a fridge and air con. The room was really clean.

My only recommendation will be to have a safe in the room.

The staff was really nice and were really helpful when we needed to call, they call from their place and spoke in Spanish for us in order to make sure that we booked our ferry. The swimming pool is really nice and you can order drinks if you need.

Soom room got a large terrace with hammocks on the ground floor. Wifi is available for free :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cecile M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Well, Dan and Bamvina, all we can start with is "THANK YOU!" Our return visit was just awesome! The property looks, and is fantastic! When our kids and us first stayed at PYK some 5 or 6 years ago, the hotel was still coming together, the friendship and hospitality has been remembered and talked about ever since. The warm and welcoming attitude from the entire staff is what defines a relaxing vacation at PYK. Liz, you are a sweet, cool, and gracious hostess and professional! Thank you for all your help and pleasantries. We still want to have one with you! Manuel, cooking breakfast for the guests was all smiles and happy to accommodate. The food at breakfast was very, very good with nice Mexican additions to eggs, and fabulous fresh fruit and juices. The coffee had a nice canella (cinnamon) twist to it, which we have been making at home since we got back! Waking up and having a great warm breakfast and coffee/juice was a very nice bonus. Talking to fellow travelers and hotel guests in a tropical garden, poolside over French toast and fresh watermelon juice was priceless. Minnesota has been a frigid nightmare this year! Tulum is not a secret anymore! The beach has gotten 10 times busier than it was 6 years ago. The word is out throughout the world. We met people from many countries, with many interests, but have realized that a place like Posada Yum Kin and it's wonderful owners and staff, are what make you feel like you belong and deserve a little luxury and time off. If you are thinking about staying at PYK please do! The rooms and property are very,very nice and very clean. You can not go wrong with any of the luxurious rooms and amenities. The property is NOT hard to get to, and is a great change, or alternative or escape from the crazy beach road. Being just a few minutes from downtown Tulum is refreshing from staying on a main drag with car and people noises. The loudest sound I heard was from a flock of green parrots talking to each other in a tree on the corner...very cool. I could go on and on talking about Posada Yum Kin, but if you want a cool place to stay with fantastic rooms, a genuine and friendly staff AND OWNERS, don't think twice about booking here! The website has great and accurate photos of everything so book it, and have fun!!!Thanks again to the Borks and Liz!!!
-The Slacks.......you guys have a special place that will always be in our hearts!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great! If you are a family try to get room #10 off of the pool, it is one of the best rooms(and huge with kitchen and 3 beds). The room above the pool looks very romantic as well!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MEXISLACK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews