We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding, friendly, happys stay”
Review of Posada Yum Kin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Posada Yum Kin
Ranked #16 of 99 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We brought the whole family including grandpa and a six year old for 2 weeks in Tulum. We stayed at Posada Yum Kin and here's what we loved about it:

- Small place that feels cozy and intimate.
- The house itself has an interesting, pleasant design.
- The manager Liz was a regular, friendly presence who was always helpful and made smart, thoughtful recommendations for activities.
- Our room was spacious and kept very tidy by the staff.

Its not for every body: if you like the appeal and facilities of a large, all inclusive hotel resort, then this could feel too small and simple. But if you like that 'little oasis' feel, you may find this place as charming as we did.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Alexander108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Dear Alexander, thank you so much for writting the review. You are all missed here at home!!! It was such a delightful experience to have you spending two weeks with us. You were a delight as guests, grandpa and all of you were amazing, interesting people to have an amazing conversation with. You were part of our family and daily life in Tulum. We will always have great memories of all of our guests in New Year's eve. Thank you! Please, come back anytime, this is your home now, too. Send our kind regards to all the M family! Love from Tulum, L.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (618)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

209 - 213 of 618 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2014

This hotel is definitely off the beaten path. Be sure to get precise directions before heading to Tulum. We had to call for directions. Posada Yum Kin is located on a street down from the town proper. We had a car so we never attempted to walk into town. Please note: this hotel is not located near the beach area.

Our room was up the spiral staircase. It can be difficult to get your luggage to your room. The room itself was very clean and spacious. We had a kitchen and a front porch with a hammock. The breezes were nice with the open windows and ceiling fan, but there is air conditioning, if needed. There is also a water cooler in the room.

Cons: We had no soap the first day to take a shower. Be warned, if you are the first one in the complex to shower, you will have cold water only. It takes about 10 minutes for the hot water to reach you, then it is fine. Breakfast is provided poolside.

We had difficulty falling asleep due to the barking dogs next door.

Pros: Liz, the manager, is very helpful and concerned with making your stay as good as possible. She made recommendations for dinner, both of which were excellent: Ginger and La Nave.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tuttie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Thank you very much for your kind review. We tried our best to make you feel at home. We are sorry for the inconvenients you experienced but everytime we read the things we missed with our guests we make sure that mistake never happens again, we really appreciate your kindness and patience. Next time you visit us we will make sure that your stay gets to be perfect!! Again, thank you very much for the kind words and your feedback, we really appreciate. Best wishes from Tulum!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

So, it's a 10 min walk along a dirt road to reach the most happening area of Tulum, but after looking at the "conveniently" located hotels/hostels in the area, Posada yumkin is paradise. It's a B and B complete with your own kitchen and dining table ( not that I cook) , but this will have been great for some kitchen pros.

Beautiful room, and a nice pool to dip into after a days trek through the Mayan temples. A plus is the ever accommodating receptionist, Liz.

And if anyone complains it's far from the beach, ha, I'd say that's a plus, coz Tulum beaches are exceptionally beautiful but really quiet. So, unless one wants to be stuck in an overpriced resort (which is open to public at daytime for 200 peso consumable fee per beach bed), and face a dark and quiet sea at night, one is better off staying downtown.

Since I'm not a biker, posada yum kin is 30 pesos away from the ado bus station, and downtown main road, and 70 pesos away from the beach by taxi.

Will I come back here? Yes

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Alipinofw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

What a find! While most of the visitors to Tulum stay on "the strip," Posada Yum Kim sits in the "real" town, so you actually get to visit Mexico during your stay, rather than some touristy village. Liz was at the helm while we were there and chatted with us each day about our stay, answering our questions, providing extra towels and even snorkeling equipment. Our room was atop a spiral staircase, with beautiful handmade wood fixtures and a treehouse feel. There were windows that we kept open at all times, letting in the breeze. W e had a little patio overlooking the street, where kids would ride by on bikes and we'd wave hello. Night times were quiet, and we had long sleeps.There is wifi (though it can be a little tempermental all over Tulum, not just the hotel) so we watched some movies on our laptops.
The hotel has bikes for rent (very reasonably) and that's how many people get around Tulum. We liked having a car, as the restaurants are about a mile away and the beach is 2 or 3 miles. We will definitely come again to this magical town, and to Posada Yum Kim.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Hola, Mr. & Mrs. R!! Thank you very much for the review! It is extremely sweet of you taking your time to describe your experience with us. We are happy you have found suite #9 as lovely as we do. As you said, it is a perfect spot to enjoy the sunrise and the moon at night. You were really nice guests and we are definitely looking forward to have you staying with us sometime soon again. Thank you very much for choosing us, next time you revisit, it will be like friends! Kind regards from the PYK Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Yes it is a bit away from the center but it is ok to walk during the day about 15 minutes and you can get a cab for a couple of bucks or ride a bike (the hotel rent them AT A CHEAP RATE). We came here on the 29th of Dcember 2013, Priced are crazy in Tulum during this time. MY advice BOOK IN ADVANCE during peak time!!! We payed $150 USD (not too bad considering that we booked two weeks before going and that it can be a lot more elsewhere!) The room 9 was upstairs a bit away from the swimming pool (which we liked) and there were a kitchenette and a nice balcony, a fridge and air con. The room was really clean.

My only recommendation will be to have a safe in the room.

The staff was really nice and were really helpful when we needed to call, they call from their place and spoke in Spanish for us in order to make sure that we booked our ferry. The swimming pool is really nice and you can order drinks if you need.

Soom room got a large terrace with hammocks on the ground floor. Wifi is available for free :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cecile M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
1.3 km away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#6 of 99 in Tulum
940 reviews
8.1 km away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 99 in Tulum
894 reviews
5.2 km away
Zamas
Zamas
#21 of 99 in Tulum
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Villas H2O
Villas H2O
#45 of 99 in Tulum
225 reviews
8.4 km away
PavoReal Beach Resort Tulum
1.3 km away
LiveTulum
LiveTulum
#41 of 99 in Tulum
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Yum Kin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Yum Kin

Address: Avenida Kukulcan Norte Manzana 403 | Lote 8, Tulum 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Tulum
#17 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: ₱3,534 - ₱12,872 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Yum Kin 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Yum Kin is a small Eco-friendly hotel. Inside each suite are beautifully-appointed rooms with high-ceilings, fully equipped kitchenettes, air conditioning, FREE Wi-Fi, and large luxurious Mexican-tiled bathrooms. FREE BREAKFAST is included with most stays. BIKES may be rented for $10 USD per day each. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Posada Yum Kin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Yum Kin Tulum
Posada Yum Kin Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing