We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ocean Riviera Paradise(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Petit Lafitte(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cocos Cabanas(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Viceroy Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Reve Hotel & Spa(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (9,789)
Filter reviews
9,789 results
Traveler rating
4,285
3,121
1,339
586
458
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,285
3,121
1,339
586
458
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssports barfondueriviera sideplatinum sectiona la cartesmama miaplatinum loungesunset buffetlas olasplatinum packagedeluxe junior suitele fleurchill out barcooking showwater shoesprivate poolseafood
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 9,789 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The property of this resort was beautiful. Even though there had been a windy rain storm the night we arrived all was well cleaned and tidied the next day. The pools were cleaned daily, ours anyway!! We loved watching the small animals running around. The big tractor was cleaning the beach daily after the rain storm.

Room Tip: Dehumidifier would have been an asset in our room. I felt damp all the time and our room smelled of mildew. Never had this dampness in the room on our past. 2 trips.
Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank alanabartlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Villas are amazing the outdoor private shower, personal concierge service and private pool is honestly worth the extra. We would like to thank all the staff for their wonderful service especially the personal care we got from Molly and Connie! This was the second time we have visited here and have had a great time.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tczinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princess_RivieraMaya, Community Manager at Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear tczinn,

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at Laguna Villas, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your nice comments with us but mainly for choosing Grand Sunset Princess for a second time to host your vacations.

Our guests' satisfaction is the best recompense to the daily effort of all the staff, and we promise you tat Molly and Connie will be happy to hear from you. We hope you decide to visit us once again for the third time.

Warm regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We went for a week. The staff was friendly but no matter what we needed to do there was a LONG, LONG, line. We arrived after flying and tired and were about number 35 in line to check in. We went to our room which was very clean but reeked of Chemicals used for pest control. We went back to the ‘only’ front desk and had to wait another hour before we could get back to the counter as at least a HUNDRED more people were checking in. The manager said there were no other rooms available and sent a maintenance man up to spray something that smelled like perfume which overwhelmed the chemicals for about 20 minutes then it reeked of pest control chemicals again. We literally had to sleep with the sliders open the entire week or our eyes teared up and we had coughing fits from the chemicals.
The food was less then desirable unless you’re in college. The free all you can drink, drinks were bottom shelf and nothing we would order. If you like spring break or bachelor parties maybe this is for you. We would never go back and would discourage anyone who was looking for a peaceful vacation.

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
4  Thank ThomHutchinsonIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princess_RivieraMaya, Gerente at Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear ThomHutchinsonIsland,

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel because we learn a lot from our guest's feedback so that we can improve the overall experience and satisfaction of our guests.

We are sorry that you did not have a good experience with us but we like to address some aspects of your review that we see are unfair:

- You arrived during Easter Break which is one of the peak seasons of this region. We apologize for the delay in your check-in and we will look into ways of increasing the speed of our check-in service, especially in our peak seasons.

- As you mentioned in your review, you were informed that we had no rooms available for you to change which is something that is out of our hands, considering that we have full occupancy. Regarding the chemical smell, you mention we find it very hard to believe that you "suffered" from it during the full week considering that:
- Whenever we have a pest control service it is done by a specialized company and this service is done every other week, not every repeated day.
- Also, the pest control is made on the common hotel grounds not inside of the rooms. Which would make it hard for the chemical scent to be present in your room the entire week.

Regarding our food and beverage selection, and although we recognize that each and every guest have a particular palate, we found it hard to understand that you did not found anything desirable amongst de 7 a la carte restaurants and 2 buffets that we have available for our guests.

All in all, we understand that our hotel did not live up to your expectations but we hope that, in time, you will have a different vision of our hotel and maybe can give us another opportunity to welcome you.

Warm regards,

Joao Silva
Community Manager
community.riviera@princess-hotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel – As I mentioned the hotel buildings and grounds are beautiful and very well maintained (a few areas need some work but no biggie). As this is a large hotel walking is part of staying at bigger properties but the grounds made up for it.

Staff – Overall wonderful staff happy and friendly – bugged by the sale guys to join the Princess Group a little off-putting

Room – very clean, bed comfy we had no view at all as we were on the 2nd floor near the main building and all we could see was the leaves from the palm trees a bit disappointing but not that big a deal

Restaurants – Oh Dear – sorry but I cannot give a positive review on the food, except for the fruit and veg otherwise bland and tasteless even when it looked fabulous

Pools – 2 large pools and a few smaller, a few things if you want shade be prepared to get up early they were mostly gone by 7am covered with towels. There is only 1 pool were you can walk into the pool (party pool) the rest you have to use metal steps to get in and out this was very difficult for a number of elderly people that we ended up helping – One pool is the main party pool the other is quieter and more family orientated both have catering nearby one does the burgers and hotdogs the other chicken or pork fajitas

Beach- same issue with towels – loads of beds but it gets very hot if you don’t get some shade – also allot of seaweed and it smelled. There are people selling on the beach but they don’t bug you at all. I think on Thursdays they have a foam party on the beach

Entertainment – typical entertainment, I enjoyed Thursday night with the market and Mexican theme – show was wonderful – BUT everything is charged in US dollars I wanted to buy a wooden dish $180US way overpriced but it’s a personal choice

A few tips –
we were fed up trying to get shaded sunbeds and ended up going to the beach club (it’s on the same property) and paid $10US each to spend the day there MUCH nicer you can still order drinks but if you want food you have to pay.

As the drinks are mostly water due to the large amount of ice they use you might want to ask for an extra shot on top – just saying – we drank a fair bit if I had drank the same amount at home I would be in bed for a week.

I expected better quality and left feeling a little bit disappointed but we had the sun and that was a big bonus

Room Tip: Wish we had been able to get a swim out
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rosie778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princess_RivieraMaya, Community Manager at Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Rosie778,

We want to thank you for trusting in us and deciding to live the Princess experience. We are glad to know that our staff were friendly and helpful and that our facilities were to your liking but we are a little disappointed for not fulfilling your expectations at all at your recent visit, it is appreciable your honest review, as it will serve as an encouragement to us as we constantly strive to provide consistent quality of service to our guests.

Regarding the food, it is important to say that our Executive Chef along with our culinary team are working in order to provide a better gastronomic offer, with better seasoned dishes, made with the best ingredients.

We are truly sorry because you didn't enjoy your experience as you expected, hopefully you give us another opportunity to show you the level of service you have come to know and expect of our property, we promise you that for your next time you will have a 5 stars experience.

Sincerely, we look forward to a return visit from you.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here from April 23-30th. It was our frist trip together after meeting in mexico 3 years ago! It was our first time to this resort. I researched probably every resort in the Mayan Riviera before finally picking this one, and we were both so impressed with this resort! We loved almost everything about it. The staff were all so helpful, friendly and funny too! We stayed in the deluxe jr suite and were very happy with the room. It was large very clean and comfy, the fridge was stocked daily with bottled water pop and beer, our towels were replaced daily and bed was made too. Our room was in the middle of the huge resort so it was easy to get around everywhere. The resort is enormous, so a good amount of walking through the beautifully landscaped groups is required (they do have a shuttle serives if needed).
We tried 3 of the a la carte resturants the resort had to offer: Mama Mia (italian) we thought it was delicious, Miso (Japanese) we went for teppanyaki and very much enjoyed it and finally La Vaqueria (grill) which was our least favourite of the three, not bad but there are better to choose from. The resturants do book up fast so we found it best to make reservations as soon as we checked in.
We enjoyed the theme buffets every night. There was always something for us to enjoy. The beach bbq was also very good at lunch time. And of course all of the drinks were fabulous, there were so many delicous cocktails to chose from!
The pools were very nice and they are so many! The party pool had music and daily entertainment which was fun and of course a swim up bar!
Were are more if beach people so thats where we spent most of our time. The beach area is lovely, we never had a problem finding a spot that had sun for me and shade for my boyfriend! The water was great! There was some seaweed the first day or two but the rest of the week was perfect.
We did one excursion which started at the tulum ruins (which are beautiful) then we went into the jungle for zip lines, repelling into a cenote and snorkling it was fun and a good value for all that was included. We also checked out coco bongo, what an experience! A spectacular show and a great party! We also went on our own via the transportation the resort had, to 5th ave for some shopping in playa del carmen. It was a great day and all though we were hassled alot by vendors we never felt unsafe the whole day, or the whole trip for that matter.
All in all the resort was beautiful. We enjoyed everything it had to offer. I cannot wait to go back again, hopefully next year! Thanks Grand Sunset Princess for making our frist trip together unforgettable!!!

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Danielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews