We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
US$276
US$232
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mahekal Beach Resort(Playa del Carmen)
US$164
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
US$416
US$395
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$210
US$183
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Magic Blue Hotel(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$108
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
US$379
US$318
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$425
US$329
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$766
US$308
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hacienda Tres Rios(Playa del Carmen)
US$482
US$330
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$271
US$237
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,443)
Filter reviews
2,443 results
Traveler rating
1,673
431
166
84
89
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,673
431
166
84
89
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsday clubclub levelthe grillcocina restaurantbeach club next doorclub musicbeautiful hotelrooms are modernrestaurants and shopspool areaocean frontadult poolfifth avenuesushi barpool staffswim up roompartial ocean view
Filter
Updating list...
333 - 338 of 2,443 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay in a ocean-front room. We recommend the spa and gym as well. The coconuts at the pool area are outstanding. Everyone is very professional, friendly and caring. Special thanks to Andrea, David and the General Manager!




Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank JanRman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan M, Gerente at Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to describe us your experience. We love when we touch the life of our guests with our #LivingGrand concept. In general our resort has been designed to amaze our guests who come with us to see the best part of Playa del Carmen, supported with the Grand Hyatt brand support. All our staff daily strives to offer a great and unique hospitality service to our guests, who are very important for us.

Again thank you for your comment. We look forward to welcome you.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 October 2017

The beds in our queen standard room were uncomfortable, sound carried from the room next door so that we were kept awake. The level of air con was too warm and we couldn’t cool the room to a comfortable temperature. Overall the room was excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank 55edwinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan M, Gerente at Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Dear guest

Thank you for sharing your opinion on tripadvisor. Personally I will review each theme you explained in your comment with our housekeeping manager and with our maintenance staff. On behalf our team please receive our apologies for the inconveniences. I appreciate your feedback, please be ensure that we will improve these situations.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 October 2017

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Juan M, Gerente at Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 October 2017

Unfortunate attention. Just arrived at the hotel we wanted to have lunch on the delightful terrace of the restaurant "LA COCINA". We were about to sit down, but there was a girl almost screaming, saying that it was closed until 18:00 hrs.
The girl seemed to be the head of restaurants, pointedly pointed out that we should go to the restaurant "GRILL", the other hotel restaurant, which has no terrace.
It caught my attention because it was not even 3:00 PM. Along with casting we heard the team of garzones tell the guests that the remainder was closed until 18:00 hrs.
At the GRILL we had hot weather, the air conditioning did not work well and it took over 30 minutes to serve us a salad and some nachos with guacamole.
Unfortunate experience. I hope the next days we will have better luck.
The hotel website states that LA COCINA is open between 12:30 and 10:00 pm. Please do not lie to your guests ...

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Rodrigo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan M, Gerente at Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to share us your experience. Please receive our apologies for the inconveniences you experienced. In order to know more about this isolated incident, please email us at braulio.carrillo@hyatt.com who will provide you all the assistance. Again our apologies and I would like to reinforce our interest on give you the best support.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

Considering Grand Hyatt Playa del Carmen. Good choice.

Location: The hotel is located 45 to 60 minutes south of Cancun International Airport. Renting a car or taking a shuttle is the best way to go. A one-way ride to the hotel from the airport is $150 (quoted by the hotel) versus the $17 ride on a shuttle. Seems a little outrageous especially if the hotel is looking to get travelers to choose this hotel over others in Cancun.

Arrival: Upon arrival to the hotel, right as you see the Grand Hyatt sign, you think to yourself, wait is this it? This does not look anything like the photos online. The main entrance to the hotel is at street level and there is absolutely no curb appeal at all. For it being a resort, was expecting to pass palm trees to get to the lobby. This is not like that so do not expect it. However, once you catch a glimpse of the lobby...whoa. Hello ocean. Spectacular view await.

Rooms: Swim-up room is definitely worth the extra upgrade fee. Was really refreshing having a swim up right outside our doorstep. Picture opening your patio door to find a pool. Pretty spectacular! Definitely loved having the swim-up. What the hotel needs to do is offer guests staying in this room the guest room beach towels available for the swim up. It was hard to decide if the towel in the bathroom was to dry off with after a shower or after a dip in the swim-up. You go through all the trouble to build a swim-up do it right and have towels available. Take note. If you are expecting your swim up to overlook the ocean, however, not going to happen. From the interior (picture opening the door to your guest room), the view is not pretty. An empty building up for rent and a day club which at night was very loud and obnoxious. The sound came from patrons exiting at wee hours in the morning pretty was obnoxious and loud. Very loud. While nothing to do with the hotel, pretty frustrating being woken up that early. Shared this feedback with the agent who checked me out, he brushed it off and continued to check us out.

Food & Beverage: The food and beverage options are good. It lacks what other hotels in the area have, which is an all inclusive package. If you dig online, you will find that they offer a meal plan for $74 a day available for stays of 3 days or more. This option was not offered when we booked. Tried for several other random dates in the future and still did not see this package being offered online. Hmmm. Breakfast buffet in La Cocina is good as well as the food offerings in the Grand Club, which has complimentary cocktails, wine and beer in the evening. The hotel has a restaurant for dinner but did not give it a go. The hotel did offer a $150 per person “special” that was for surf and turf, but that seemed a bit steep, especially with plenty of options within a few minutes walk of the hotel (5th Avenues). For poolside drinks, the hotel offers a daily two for one cocktail so for about $10 you can get two cocktails. Not bad for a resort.

Hotel grounds: Plenty of pools, an adults only one, and with the beach right there, what could be better. The grounds are well maintained.

Resort fee: Paying a resort fee is ok, when it is warranted. For this hotel, truly do not understand the $25 a day fee. Most if not all hotels in PDC charge a resort fee, but we did not feel value from paying this at all. All Hyatt’s offer free wi fi, so what did the resort fee get us? Two bottles waters in the room? I was expecting a welcome letter of what the resort fee gets you, but nothing, so felt completely clueless. Could have looked it up, but this is something that the hotel shares with the guest.

Spa: Using the spa cost $40 per person (15% if you are a WOH member). It is basic. The hot pool was not ho and the lap pool was out of service. Would have rethought entering.

Other: Bring change. The hotel does not exchange currency at all. Was very frustrating as most hotels have some type of currency exchange. Very challenging leaving gratuities for staff who deserved it.

Overall, good experience. Service from the hotel was attentive and courteous. Would certainly consider staying here again.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank awrldtrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan M, Gerente at Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to share us your opinion. we re very glad to know that you enjoyed your experience with as and that you are considering to stay here again. Our property, under the Grand Hyatt brand, is oriented to exceed the expectation for those travelers who are looking for a wonderful venue supported by our grand hospitality service and the care of all our staff who daily strives themselves to give the best attention. Our apologies for the inconveniences I read with the beach club who is next to us. As you see this center is not part of our operations, however we are working together to reduce the impact of the sound in the rooms. Regarding the resort fee, its explained in our website and our reservations center also explained it. This concept is distributed to those employees who work very hard (back of the house) to offer you a great stay. Finally, I would like to thank you, your preference and kind comments and your great feedback.

We look forward to welcome you very soon

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews