We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing honeymoon in Playa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Ranked #39 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Room: The room was clean and spacious, we opted for the king swim-up. The shower was amazing and beds comfortable. There is a minibar but no fridge, prices are fair. Staff did a good job of cleaning daily.

Location: This is what you are paying for, it's amazing. The resort sits on a beautiful beach that is well maintained and stocked with plenty of lounge chairs. Seaweed was never a problem as staff swept it every morning. Multiple infinity pools overlook the ocean, adult only pool area is nice as well.

5th Avenue is only a block away and this is where all of the action takes place in Playa. Shopping, dining, nightlife, etc are all well within walking distance. We did not once require a taxi or any other transportation within the city.

Many other reviews mention the day club, our room was on the opposite side and we had no problems with the noise level.

Service: My wife and I spent many days lounging on the beach or by the pool. The staff is extremely attentive and quick to serve. Drinks were consistently delicious, however expect to pay slightly more than you would find outside the resort. They do offer a 2x1 cocktail each day that is a great value. We did not try the restaurants onsite as many of the local restaurants were just too good.

Argenis was an awesome bartender and had great suggestions for drinks/restaurants. We will be back!

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Justin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan M, Gerente at Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guest,

Thank you in advance for your great review. Our staff loves when we read our guests´s experiences. We noticed that you and your wife experienced the #LivingGrand concept so we are more than happy. I would like to explain you that our resort and staff elevate all the experiences for all our guests and offer front-row seats to the corners of Playa del Carmen. Our Guests prefer to book with us, in our property, to see the best Playa has to offer.

Again thank you for your review. We look forward to welcome you very soon

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,987)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 31 of 1,988 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We enjoyed our stay in a ocean-front room. We recommend the spa and gym as well. The coconuts at the pool area are outstanding. Everyone is very professional, friendly and caring. Special thanks to Andrea, David and the General Manager!




Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank JanRman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan M, Gerente at Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to describe us your experience. We love when we touch the life of our guests with our #LivingGrand concept. In general our resort has been designed to amaze our guests who come with us to see the best part of Playa del Carmen, supported with the Grand Hyatt brand support. All our staff daily strives to offer a great and unique hospitality service to our guests, who are very important for us.

Again thank you for your comment. We look forward to welcome you.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The beds in our queen standard room were uncomfortable, sound carried from the room next door so that we were kept awake. The level of air con was too warm and we couldn’t cool the room to a comfortable temperature. Overall the room was excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank 55edwinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan M, Gerente at Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guest

Thank you for sharing your opinion on tripadvisor. Personally I will review each theme you explained in your comment with our housekeeping manager and with our maintenance staff. On behalf our team please receive our apologies for the inconveniences. I appreciate your feedback, please be ensure that we will improve these situations.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank quetzalcoatlr2017
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Juan M, Gerente at Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Unfortunate attention. Just arrived at the hotel we wanted to have lunch on the delightful terrace of the restaurant "LA COCINA". We were about to sit down, but there was a girl almost screaming, saying that it was closed until 18:00 hrs.
The girl seemed to be the head of restaurants, pointedly pointed out that we should go to the restaurant "GRILL", the other hotel restaurant, which has no terrace.
It caught my attention because it was not even 3:00 PM. Along with casting we heard the team of garzones tell the guests that the remainder was closed until 18:00 hrs.
At the GRILL we had hot weather, the air conditioning did not work well and it took over 30 minutes to serve us a salad and some nachos with guacamole.
Unfortunate experience. I hope the next days we will have better luck.
The hotel website states that LA COCINA is open between 12:30 and 10:00 pm. Please do not lie to your guests ...

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Rodrigo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan M, Gerente at Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to share us your experience. Please receive our apologies for the inconveniences you experienced. In order to know more about this isolated incident, please email us at braulio.carrillo@hyatt.com who will provide you all the assistance. Again our apologies and I would like to reinforce our interest on give you the best support.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.5 km away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
2,841 reviews
0.6 km away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#23 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
857 reviews
7.5 km away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#11 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#43 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
1,396 reviews
0.3 km away
Live Aqua Boutique Resort Playa del Carmen
Live Aqua Boutique Resort Playa ...
#18 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
569 reviews
0.4 km away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#15 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort

Address: 1a Avenida esquina Calle 26 | Colonia Centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: ₱12,865 - ₱40,427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a privileged stretch of white sand, facing the turquoise waters of the Mexican Caribbean and surrounded by the energy and excitement of La Quinta Avenida - Fifth Avenue - , Hyatt Playa del Carmen will arrive to bring guests an intimate introduction to the Bohemian vibe of Playa del Carmen, or simply Playa, as it is locally known. Unique food & beverage concepts and signature offerings from our restaurants and bars will set the stage for you to enjoy the local flavors of Playa. Located along the Paseo, a large open air corridor that connects the entrance of the hotel all the way to the beach - our two restaurants and three bars/lounges are our own extension of the vibrant offerings of La Quinta Avenida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Ctrip TA so you can book your Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing