We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$405
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
US$385
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mahekal Beach Resort(Playa del Carmen)
US$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kinbe Hotel(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$359
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hacienda Tres Rios(Playa del Carmen)
US$550
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Banyan Tree Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$464
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
US$424
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$336
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveler rating
73
49
21
14
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
49
21
14
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshared kitchenoutdoor kitchenlocation is amazingado stationbeach entrancedouble bedconvenient locationshort walkrooms are nicehostelfabianhammocksavesandstovepesosrefrigerator
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 164 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2018 via mobile

We had a great time! The staff is friendly and the location is amazing! I’m already planning my next trip back. This hotel is good for long and short stays. Very clean. Very accommodating and safe. Beach is literally 30 steps. I would wake up, make a cup of coffee and walk to the beach and drink it. I would get a $20usd (1hour) massage every morning ( not right in front of this hotels beach entrance. ) I would walk out the hotel beach entrance 30 steps, take a left walk 30 more steps in the sand and get a beach chair from LUCIANNO (100 pesos for the entire day) and best massages were from Salomay and her daughter Norma ..

Stayed: February 2018, traveled with family
Thank KINESSAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 February 2018

We were looking for a budget accommodation centrally located and Popul Vuh was the perfect fit. Great location: walking distance from the ADO bus and to the beach! Right off 5th avenue for all the action if that is your thing. Our room had a double bed, single bed, mini fridge and a couch. Their staff were very friendly but lacked English-google translate came in very handy!
Our room was cleaned daily.
Shared kitchen was great to save some money and cook your own meals.
There are cute hammocks throughout but I found it too cold under all the palm tree shade to sit out there during the day.
It was a bit noisy at night from surrounding bars but didn't bug us too much.

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KT_coops2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 December 2017

Popol Vuh is our favorite and the most central place to stay in Playa D. C. Price is absolutely fair for what you get. Everywhere clean. It is safe. Super cozy garden with shared kitchen with everything you need and more. Garden is an oasis with mostly shade, a nice breeze from the beach, which is 1 min. away and hardly any mosquitoes here. Atmosphere is relaxing, down to earth, with tropical birdsong. You can be private or you can easy hang out with other travelers. A good mix of different types of people, both younger and older. We have met some good friends here. Staff and owners are so kind, helpful, absolutly good karma and it is runned professional. The bed has super comfortable madras. My husband and I have stayed at Popol Vuh many times. We feel really at home and can only recommend this place highest.

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LindaBruun1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 November 2017 via mobile

Staff very friendly and helpful. The property needs some work however for a short stay it is great. You can’t beat its location super convenient, short walk to ADO station and ferry pier, right on the middle of 5th Avenue with plenty of food choices and bars. A few steps from the hostel and the beach is right there. Will definitely will use it again.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
1  Thank Drolu08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 November 2017

This place is about a minute (if that from the beach) and next to so may places that cost a lot more money. It was definitely clean and had everything we needed. Beds were fine, AC and fridge worked. Not sure if TV worked or not as I never used it. The kitchen is shared so you can save yourself some money by just making your own coffee in the morning and making a little breakfast. You can get a bus from the airport and then walk from bus to here in about five minutes, You can take a cab from here (or walk to Wal-Mart) to stock up on essentials like beer and again save yourself money. I packed beer in my backpack everyday and then headed to the beach. Both my companion and I were very happy here. This is not a posh place but it doesn't have a posh price tag. This is located next to everything and hard to believe that just a street up is so busy and noisy. Couldn't hear a thing in our room. And the WifFI was better then I've had had much more expensive places. Including Hotels in Canada and US.

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Craig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews