We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Royal Playa del Carmen
Ranked #13 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have stayed at numerous all inclusives in Mexico and Jamaica. This was our first trip to this hotel. Pool area was really nice. However, the beach is not the greatest. We had a Master Suite and it was fantastic. Separate sitting area, big deck. Would highly suggest spending the money. However, they are not ocean view so if that is your thing, you may want to re-think. Jose Garza was out butler and I have to say probably the best butler we've ever had at any resort. The pool bartender Caesar was fun and always remembered our drinks. Our housekeeper Teresa Castellanos did a fantastic job. Don't hesitate to book, you won't beat the staff.

Room Tip: Master suite was incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Capricorn13816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Capricorn13816,

Thank you so much for your kind comment posted at Trip Advisor! As you know, our main goal is make sure that you have a wonderful stay.
Once again thank you for staying with us and remember… “The Royal Playa del Carmen” is your second home.
We remain at your service!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (16,517)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

117 - 121 of 16,517 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Loved staying at this resort! The service was impeccable! The food here was hands-down some of the best resort food I've ever had. I also loved the fact that you have access to the spa amenities even if you aren't being serviced. I hosted a yoga retreat here and the staff was so accommodating. The beach has a lot of activities to offer as well, there are several beach clubs close by as well water activities. I got my first ever beach massage & it was lovely! The location is perfect as it sits right on the beach & it's just a short walk to great shopping! If I could change anything it would be the drinks, the mixers seemed overly sweet. Other than that, I loved this place.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Keiwanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Keiwanda D,

Thank you very much for your visit to THE ROYAL Playa del Carmen, we really appreciate you have taken the time to share your great review.
We would like to mention that our goal is to ensure our guest satisfaction, we always make our best effort in making feel our guest special and valued during their stay and we are so proud that we did with you!
We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went to The Royal as a celebration of family. We had 11 people in our party. Everyone at the property treated us well. The service at all the restaurants/bars was outstanding. Our room was serviced by Maria Torres during the day and Yolanda Lombraino at night. They kept our room spotless and left lots of surprises for us like towel animals and fresh flowers. They even decorated our bed for my husband's birthday with balloons. On our last night our room had candles and a bubble bath waiting for us.

Room Tip: We were on the bottom floor. This made it easy to access the beach, pools, coffee house, and restaur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank EHunt1287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear EHunt1287,

Your comments are very important for us and we are grateful that you took some minutes from your valuable time and did this fabulous review from us.
Thank you for visiting us, we hope to have the privilege to host you once again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My fiance and I booked this trip 4 months in advance. We ready other reviews and knew we were going to love it. From the moment we pulled up to the hotel we we're greeted with drinks and kindness from everyone. We had the best guy help with named Juan Jose with our entire trip. He made sure we were taken care and we had things booked correctly. He helped us with booking the spa which was amazing 80min relaxation massages from Silvia and dauis. We couldn't of been happier. We then we're slightly confused when it came to the private Cabana which Juan cleared up for us that Expedia is showing false advertisement; however Juan Jose made sure we were plenty taken care of and said we will have a private Cabana if we wishes. We gave him our WhatsApp info and he made sure to check in with us every day to make sure we were good and happy. This was the best place we could if came to for our honeymoon for several different reasons. The food was exquisite, the people were very kind and friendly. We would love to come back.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Joseph G,

Thank you for sharing your experience! We are excited you enjoyed your Honeymoon and that you especially like our service, we are very happy to read that our staff is doing a great job. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel Resort is a really lovely place. A large complex, but incredibly clean and welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and all facilities were to a high standard.
Most of the restaurants we had access too, were good, especially, the Mediterano, Asian and Caribbean Fusion Restaurants. The Mexican restaurant, should, I'm afraid be avoided, food was dreadful.
The downside to the holiday is that the Hotel very much caters for the US traveller, with Europeans coming a very poor second. This was particularly evident in some of the food choices on offer. Breakfast could be a very odd experience with some strange dishes on offer for that time of the day. All TV Channels were tuned in to US News and Sport Programmes, along with only US Today Newspaper. As a result of aiming it's package and service more towards the US market, came the tip every time culture. We felt obliged to tip almost everyone, even for providing the most basic of service. There were looks bordering on disgust if you hesitated to tip. I guess it's a culture difference, where we tip for exceptional food and service, where here its, tip for everything and everyone.
The Pools and beach were again immaculate and the quieter poolside areas were a welcome break from blaring music pumped out for most of the day, around the main pool area. It's important to note this, as literally upon arrival, the Hotel staff casually mentioned our room was overlooking the street and had no view. However, their solution was to immediately try and sell an upgraded room overlooking the main pool area for an additional $900 for our 10 night stay. We had to move rooms anyway, on the second day, as the noise from drunken revellers returning throughout the night, was too much to bear in room 201
This isn't just a moan and groan, we paid a lot of money for the holiday. Whilst the Hotel is lovely and has great facilities, its simply not a 5 star resort.

Room Tip: Stay away from main pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Kieran J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Kieran J,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us and the time you have taken to express your discomfort, we are sincerely sorry that everything was not up to the standard that you would have liked. We would like to mention that we take all comments very seriously as we know they help us to improve our services. We would be grateful to have another opportunity to pamper you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.6 km away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
2,841 reviews
7.7 km away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#11 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4,206 reviews
2.4 km away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#21 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
9,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#32 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4,417 reviews
19.9 km away
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
12,177 reviews
6.8 km away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
3,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Playa del Carmen

Address: Avenida Constituyentes 2 | Centro, Gonzalo Guerrero, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#9 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: ₱15,623 - ₱38,064 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Royal Playa del Carmen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the powdery white sands of the Caribbean, The Royal welcomes guests to a world of all-inclusive luxuries exclusively for adults. Situated on the Riviera Maya just steps from Playa del Carmen's famous Fifth Avenue, the AAA Four-Diamond resort boasts all-suite accommodations with private balconies and spectacular views, plus special options such as swim-up suites and beachfront walkouts. From beach butlers to romance concierges, the attentive staff provides genuine hospitality at every turn as guests enjoy the luxurious spa, exquisite cuisine, natural beauty, and many other delights of The Royal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your The Royal Playa del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Playa Del Carmen Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Porto Real
Royal Playa De Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing