We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Mahekal Beach Resort(Playa del Carmen)
US$251
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$508
US$379
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Free cancellation until 07/26
US$359
US$228
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$301
US$270
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 07/29
Book now, pay at stay
US$336
US$326
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Banyan Tree Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$464
US$450
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
US$424
US$271
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Hacienda Tres Rios(Playa del Carmen)
US$550
US$264
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$295/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Book now, pay at stay
US$725
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (17,903)
Filter reviews
17,903 results
Traveler rating
14,157
2,432
738
327
249
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14,157
2,432
738
327
249
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmaria mariecoffee housechef's plateromance conciergespice restaurantjose garciadanny boyfrozen grapesocean fronthour loungeturn down serviceall inclusive resorttequila barour honeymoonmain poolour waiterlobby bar
Filter
Updating list...
1,280 - 1,285 of 17,903 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2017

Loved staying at this resort! The service was impeccable! The food here was hands-down some of the best resort food I've ever had. I also loved the fact that you have access to the spa amenities even if you aren't being serviced. I hosted a yoga retreat here and the staff was so accommodating. The beach has a lot of activities to offer as well, there are several beach clubs close by as well water activities. I got my first ever beach massage & it was lovely! The location is perfect as it sits right on the beach & it's just a short walk to great shopping! If I could change anything it would be the drinks, the mixers seemed overly sweet. Other than that, I loved this place.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Keiwanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Dear Keiwanda D,

Thank you very much for your visit to THE ROYAL Playa del Carmen, we really appreciate you have taken the time to share your great review.
We would like to mention that our goal is to ensure our guest satisfaction, we always make our best effort in making feel our guest special and valued during their stay and we are so proud that we did with you!
We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 October 2017

We went to The Royal as a celebration of family. We had 11 people in our party. Everyone at the property treated us well. The service at all the restaurants/bars was outstanding. Our room was serviced by Maria Torres during the day and Yolanda Lombraino at night. They kept our room spotless and left lots of surprises for us like towel animals and fresh flowers. They even decorated our bed for my husband's birthday with balloons. On our last night our room had candles and a bubble bath waiting for us.

Room Tip: We were on the bottom floor. This made it easy to access the beach, pools, coffee house, and restaurants.
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank EHunt1287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Dear EHunt1287,

Your comments are very important for us and we are grateful that you took some minutes from your valuable time and did this fabulous review from us.
Thank you for visiting us, we hope to have the privilege to host you once again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 October 2017 via mobile

My fiance and I booked this trip 4 months in advance. We ready other reviews and knew we were going to love it. From the moment we pulled up to the hotel we we're greeted with drinks and kindness from everyone. We had the best guy help with named Juan Jose with our entire trip. He made sure we were taken care and we had things booked correctly. He helped us with booking the spa which was amazing 80min relaxation massages from Silvia and dauis. We couldn't of been happier. We then we're slightly confused when it came to the private Cabana which Juan cleared up for us that Expedia is showing false advertisement; however Juan Jose made sure we were plenty taken care of and said we will have a private Cabana if we wishes. We gave him our WhatsApp info and he made sure to check in with us every day to make sure we were good and happy. This was the best place we could if came to for our honeymoon for several different reasons. The food was exquisite, the people were very kind and friendly. We would love to come back.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Dear Joseph G,

Thank you for sharing your experience! We are excited you enjoyed your Honeymoon and that you especially like our service, we are very happy to read that our staff is doing a great job. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 October 2017

Hotel Resort is a really lovely place. A large complex, but incredibly clean and welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and all facilities were to a high standard.
Most of the restaurants we had access too, were good, especially, the Mediterano, Asian and Caribbean Fusion Restaurants. The Mexican restaurant, should, I'm afraid be avoided, food was dreadful.
The downside to the holiday is that the Hotel very much caters for the US traveller, with Europeans coming a very poor second. This was particularly evident in some of the food choices on offer. Breakfast could be a very odd experience with some strange dishes on offer for that time of the day. All TV Channels were tuned in to US News and Sport Programmes, along with only US Today Newspaper. As a result of aiming it's package and service more towards the US market, came the tip every time culture. We felt obliged to tip almost everyone, even for providing the most basic of service. There were looks bordering on disgust if you hesitated to tip. I guess it's a culture difference, where we tip for exceptional food and service, where here its, tip for everything and everyone.
The Pools and beach were again immaculate and the quieter poolside areas were a welcome break from blaring music pumped out for most of the day, around the main pool area. It's important to note this, as literally upon arrival, the Hotel staff casually mentioned our room was overlooking the street and had no view. However, their solution was to immediately try and sell an upgraded room overlooking the main pool area for an additional $900 for our 10 night stay. We had to move rooms anyway, on the second day, as the noise from drunken revellers returning throughout the night, was too much to bear in room 201
This isn't just a moan and groan, we paid a lot of money for the holiday. Whilst the Hotel is lovely and has great facilities, its simply not a 5 star resort.

Room Tip: Stay away from main pool area.
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Kieran J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Dear Kieran J,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us and the time you have taken to express your discomfort, we are sincerely sorry that everything was not up to the standard that you would have liked. We would like to mention that we take all comments very seriously as we know they help us to improve our services. We would be grateful to have another opportunity to pamper you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile

The rooms were wonderful, clean & comfy with a jacuzzi. My sister & her husband had a swim out pool. The bathrooms were clean & an excellent size. The restaurants were all good and the service amazing. The grounds were very well kept and all the staff very caring, respectful and helpful. The only thing we were not impressed with was the beach. The view was stunning but it smelled bad at times.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
Thank missey2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Dear missey2015,

We really appreciate this review. We are very happy to hear that it was a great experience for you. Thank you for choosing us to spend your vacation.
Thank you again for your great review and we hope that you come back and enjoy once again of all our services!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews