We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good tour for beginners”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Underwater Expeditions
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Reviewed 7 June 2015

We snorkeled at Akumal Beach with a group of 10. We saw a number of sea turtles and some reef fish. They have you stay with your guide which is good if you are new to it. We have snorkeled on our own dozens and dozens of times, so we were hoping for more on our own to enjoy the reef and turtles. If I were to do it again, I would take a taxi to the Akumal Dive Shop and do it on our own. The resort staff estimated a $50 round trip fare. We paid 3 times that to go on the tour. However, part of the tour was an hour at a private cenotes. The under ground river cave system was very cool.

Date of experience: June 2015
Thank cotto19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (18)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Filter

5 - 9 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2015 via mobile

Great instructors and well organized with well maintained equipment. Besides that, everyone involved creates a nice vibe and Luis and Victor make sure you'll have a good time during The a very Safe dive. Amazing dive un cenote dos ojos. Would Totally dive with them again (looking foward to do whale shark diving)

Thank Juan G. Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 January 2015

There are tons of Scuba businesses and this one is a well run and safe one to go with.
The majority of the scuba shows take the ferry to Cozumel and have a separate boot there (Try Tank-Ha to go direct - only for frequent divers).
We got a free separate refresher at the hotel from the instructor, as we have not been diving for 10+ years.
The team on the boat was friendly and got everything done, what you need to get done (but you need to adjust your expectations - This is Mexico, not the US). The fins were not a perfect fit, the wet-suits were worn. - But the BCDs were in good shape and they checked everybody's setup before going into the water.

Date of experience: January 2015
Thank TanyaandBurkhard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 January 2015 via mobile

We did two dives both the Cenotes and Reef/Bullsharks. All were amazing! Luis is very knowledgable and takes great care of each and every one of you. Both of these dives were well worth the experience and he was attentive to our questions and needs. He ensured all of us had a great experience. Luis gave us personal attention and I cannot say enough about his experience and knowledge which made the entire experience so positive for us. I highly recommend Luis and his team!

Thank iloveitalysanjose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2014

I was lucky enough to do a discovery dive with Leo, who was patient, kind, and encouraging. I was a little nervous, but he made me feel very safe and reassured. Luis was incredible at the organizing and very friendly. I also snorkeled in the Cenotes with Oscar as a guide, who was friendly and wonderful. Highly recommend these guys!

Date of experience: December 2014
Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Underwater Expeditions also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Underwater Expeditions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing