We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Carmen Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Magic Blue Hotel(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
US$370
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Playacar Palace(Playa del Carmen)
US$662
US$598
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Reef Coco Beach(Playa del Carmen)
US$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$520
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banyan Tree Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$464
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hacienda Tres Rios(Playa del Carmen)
US$385
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mahekal Beach Resort(Playa del Carmen)
US$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$480
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$411
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (662)
Filter reviews
662 results
Traveler rating
502
102
29
13
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
502
102
29
13
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolbeachfront hotelamazing hotelcevichethe location is perfectocean frontyogurtan ocean view roomwater pressurespecial shoutbeach restaurantfifth avenuecancun airportbeach chairssushikeeljorge
Filter
Updating list...
135 - 140 of 662 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

Hands down one of the best hotels I’ve ever stayed in. The staff was excellent. Lalo was exceptional. Very friendly and helpful always smiling and asked us how our day was or helped us find places to go. Jorge was also exceptional. Yael and Alain as well. Everyone always said hi and helped us with smiles on their faces and very attentive. The hotel was beautiful. Room was very nice. Nice beds and pillows. The shower was excellent. The hotel is right on the beach like literally the ocean is 5 feet away. The waitstaff were also excellent. One of the best hotels I’ve ever stayed at. We will be back for sure.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfredo S, Econcierge Service. at The Carmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Hello, Daniel S.

Our entire staff at The Carmen Hotel loves receiving reviews like yours!
I am going to let them know how happy you were with their service. So glad you had a fantastic time with us and we are so thrilled to know we met your expectations.

we look forward to your next visit!

best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

This hotel is awesome! The staff is crazy friendly and very professional. The bar and restaurant have great food at good prices. Rooftop bar/club is over the top with good music. The rooms are very very clean with everything you could want. The pillows are so good that we want to buy them. We asked for more and they were delivered in 3 mins. Elizebeth was or breakfast waitress and was so nice. Location of this hotel is unbelievable. Right next to the Thompson Hotel and 100 yards from the best part of the strip. Super safe feeling and very secure! Will be back regularly to this hotel!

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
Thank evo80cuin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfredo S, Econcierge Service. at The Carmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Hi, evo80cuin.

Thanks for the amazing review and for mentioning our impeccable service and staff!

We are equally happy you loved your room, our Keel restaurant and the Deck5- roof top, the pillows and the delicous food.

we are very proud of being located in the centre of Playa del Carmen, just some steps away from the famous 5th Avenue.

We hope you host you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 October 2017

This is my third and last hotel in Playa! I absolutely loved it here! First, the rooms are bomb!!!! Every little thing is awesome. Even with our minimal ocean view, sitting on the balcony with the view we did have was amazing! I loved the set up. Secondly, the pool is equally as amazing, the view is absolutely stunning and me and my boyfriend love the DJ. You can hear the music thumping in your room during the day but we love that so it was great for us. The panoramic view from the whole pool area makes it worthwhile by itself. Also this hotel is right on the beach so just an added bonus. They also make awesome drinks which is just an added bonus. Lastly, the staff! Oh my, I can't say enough! Lalo and Yasmin were so completely awesome and helpful! Also you get gym passes daily to The Gym which is a very modern clean high tech, just an added bonus. I will never stay at another hotel again, it will always be The Carmen that we come back to!!!

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Weubged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfredo S, Econcierge Service. at The Carmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Hi, Weubged

Thanks alot for the amazing review and being a loyal customer!

We are thrilled you had a great stay at the Carmen Hotel. We are so glad you loved our location, our minimalistic and modern suites, our infinity pool and the music of the DJ and last but not least our amazing staff, arent they the best???.

it will be our pleasure to have you back soon in this your second home away from home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

Went to celebrate a friends party....the place is chic...elegant...with a fab service.
Location wise....can not beat it...its in front of the Playa....1 block from the action of the 5th Avenue....we will defenitely come back

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Fergold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfredo S, Econcierge Service. at The Carmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Hi, Fergold

Thanks for your review and great score! 5th Av. In Playa del Carmen is such a fabulous place and we're so fortunate to be in the middle of it all for our guests to enjoy.

All of us at The Carmen Hotel look forward to your next visit!

kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

What an amazing place.

The rooms are modern with a psycodellic touch.
From the moment of my check-in I felt pampered.

The food is outstanding and there is a lounge on the rooftop called Deck 5
you can literally see Cozumel from there.

great place, highly recommended

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Ed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfredo S, Econcierge Service. at The Carmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Hello, Ed A.

Thanks for the amazing review! We are thrilled you had a great stay at the Carmen Hotel. We are so glad you loved our minimalistic and modern suites,the infinity roof top pool and our fun staff that pampered you.

We hope you stay with us again soon!

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews