We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value”

Grand Coral Golf Riviera Maya
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Grand Coral Golf Club is a Nick Price's golfer-friendly creation where everyone will enjoy playing this 18 hole, par 71 course which is 7,043 yards long. It offers a modern club House and exclusive Beach Club.The Green fee includes: Round trip transportation, golf cart, 2 bottles of water, golf tees, divot repair tool, fresh towels, dressing room whit lockers and safe deposit box.*transportation included for two or more players• NAME: GRAND CORAL GOLF RIVIERA MAYA OPENED: FEBRUARY 2011 COURSE DESIGNER: NICK PRICE HOLES: 18 PAR: 71 CHAMPIONSHIP COURSE TYPE OF GRASS: PASPALUM, SEE ISLE 1 ON TEES, FAIRWAYS, ROUGHS & PASPALUM PLATINUM ON GREENS. CARTS: CLUB CAR PRECEDENT ELECTRIC RENTAL CLUBS: TAYLORMADE SPEEDBLADE-SLDR & AEROBURNER
Reviewed 4 April 2018

I managed to play Grand Coral twice last week while in Playa Del Carmen. I was fortunate to be offered a free green fee from my resort, we just had to pay for the golf cart and transportation. I felt that for what we paid, it was an excellent value for this golf course.

The condition of Grand Coral is overall excellent. The green were well taken care of and with the exception of a few areas in the fairway, the course is in great shape. The greens did run a bit slow because they were over-seeded due to the time of year, but overall very nice.

The service of the staff is what makes this a great stop. Everyone from the drivers, the pro shop staff, to the beverage cart drivers were excellent and really made you feel at home. I'd probably have liked our pick up to be a bit earlier as both rounds I played we arrived with only 30 minutes prior to the round and my warm up and was quite rushed as a result.

Overall I think this is an excellent golf course and I'd recommend it if you're in the area. If you can pay around $100USD total it's a great value. I will certainly be returning the next time I'm in the area and I suggest the golfers out there give this course an opportunity. You won't be disappointed.

Thank IslanderOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand C, Manager at Grand Coral Golf Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2018

Dear IslanderOnTheGo,

Thank you for visiting Grand Coral twice during your stay in the Riviera Maya, and thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your feedback and are very pleased that you found our staff service levels great and our golf course in excellent condition.

We hope to serve you again on your next visit to sunny Mexico!

Best regards,
Glenn Doyle / PGA, Director of Golf
Grand Coral Golf Riviera Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (301)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"nick price"
in 20 reviews
"rental clubs"
in 18 reviews
"pro shop"
in 18 reviews
"in great shape"
in 20 reviews
"sand traps"
in 15 reviews
"range balls"
in 14 reviews
"beverage cart"
in 10 reviews
"golf balls"
in 8 reviews
"fairways and greens"
in 7 reviews
"wide fairways"
in 7 reviews
"great golf course"
in 7 reviews
"cart fee"
in 6 reviews
"played holes"
in 6 reviews
"golf experience"
in 5 reviews
"landing areas"
in 4 reviews
"secrets capri"
in 4 reviews
"great nick"
in 3 reviews
Filter

5 - 9 of 301 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2018

A friendly staff provides the icing on what's a and outstanding golf experience in the Playa del Carmen area. Started playing here 6-7 years ago when the course opened with just 9 holes. It's a relatively flat course with some challenging holes that's always fun to play. Carded an 87 a few days ago, but have had scores in the mid-90s on other days.

Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand C, Manager at Grand Coral Golf Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear Larry W,

Thank you for your continued loyalty to our golf course over the years, and for posting your comments on TripAdvisor.

We have a great staff who are always friendly with our golf guests, and we are pleased that you have had the opportunity to enjoy their service. Congratulations on the 87 and hope that you continue to shoot lower scores and improve.

We look forward to serving you on your visit!

Thank you again from the team at Grand Coral.

Best regards,
Glenn Doyle / PGA, Director of Golf
Grand Coral Golf Riviera Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

We played GC on a Wednesday. We never felt rushed and we never waited on the group in front either. Pace of play was on point and this matters to us. I really enjoyed this Nick Price design. I’d play this again for sure!

To add context, my daughter and I are single digit handicap golfers and enjoy challenging courses.

The layout is very nice. There is plenty of bunkering and although it feels wide open, you’ll hit your share of traps on tee shots.

The greens weren’t in great shape when we played, but not bad enough to affect the quality of the experience.

The staff was attentive, food and drinks are reasonably priced and the food is very tasty.

The track is pretty, the property is well maintained and the range is great. It’s a worthwhile visit.

Great Volvo’s merchandise too.

1  Thank WallStPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand C, Manager at Grand Coral Golf Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear WallStPete,

Thank you for visiting Grand Coral and for posting your detailed comments on TripAdvisor.

We strive to provide the best quality golf experience each and everyday, and we are very pleased you enjoyed your round of golf with us.

We are excited to now offer Volvik golf balls, caps, golf bags and accessories in our golf shop.

Please come and visit us again on your next trip to the beautiful Riviera Maya!

Best regards,
Glenn Doyle / PGA, Director of Golf
Grand Coral Golf Riviera Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 March 2018 via mobile

The thing about golfing down here is we're not used to the humidity.

The course itself has s good layout and it was in good shape.

Our resort advertised complimentary golf which translated into $100 USD per player: cart fee and transportation charge to and from the course.

Don't buy the optional $25 USD f & b cart package unless you plan on drinking - only food was chips and cheezies.

The pro shop staff are very serious, we had to wear wristbands and they double checked our receipt.

Overall, it was a relatively good round of golf for Mexico.

Thank tammy y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand C, Manager at Grand Coral Golf Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Dear tammy y,

Thank you for visiting Grand Coral and for posting your comments on TripAdvisor.

We have an agreement with two local hotel chains in the Riviera Maya that promote complimentary golf for their guests who play at Grand Coral. In these promotions there are mandatory cart fee charges, and surcharges for premium tee times, as well as additional costs for our optional round trip shared shuttle service.

The guest rates for golf in these promotions is approximately a 40-50% discount off our regular destination hotel golf rates, so the savings are considerable by staying at these resorts.

Since January 2017 we no longer offer an all-inclusive food and beverage package at our facility. Our two on-course beverage carts offer an a la carte menu which includes various sandwiches, hamburgers, hot dogs, snacks and alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks.

We are pleased that you had a good round of golf and hope that you return on your next visit.

Best regards,
Glenn Doyle / PGA, Director of Golf
Grand Coral Golf Riviera Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2018

I booked this on tee off so I got a discounted rate. The staff was very friendly and the course is quite lovely with the sand traps lending the difficulty. It's a pretty course to play because most of the time you never see condos or buildings, just nature.

2  Thank Marilyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand C, Manager at Grand Coral Golf Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2018

Dear Marilyn P,

Thank you for visiting Grand Coral Golf Riviera Maya and for posting your comments on TripAdvisor. We are extremely pleased you enjoyed your golf experience with us and found our staff to be very friendly.

Please come back and visit us again on your next trip to the Riviera Maya.

Best regards,
Glenn Doyle / PGA, Director of Golf
Grand Coral Golf Riviera Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Coral Golf Riviera Maya also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Grand Coral Golf Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing