We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A M A Z I N G! Not one bad thing to say.”
Review of Ocean Maya Royale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Maya Royale
Ranked #50 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First - this is NOT the resort where you can't flush TP - so I assume all those people posted their comments under the wrong hotel and I also assume any negative reviews about this resort are under the wrong hotel!!!
From the moment we got there till the moment we left the ENTIRE staff couldn't do enough for you. I hate listing anyone's name because it would make it seem like everyone didn't go over the top to make you happy.
The preferred service upgrade was definitely worth the $35 p/p a day. Access to the preferred lounge alone would be worth it but you also get in room mini bar, 23 hours room service, and the preferred concierges to take care of everything you need. These concierges are wonderful, sweet, and always check on you to make sure you don't need anything and everything has been taken care of properly.
Rooms are spotless and spacious. For those complaining about a lack of hot water - turn the faucet so the red dot faces up (it's counter-intuitive - you turn away from the direction of the water you want and then let it run a bit). The trick to the espresso machine in the room is you press 1 button to heat the water then once its heated press the button to brew the coffee (another couple on the beach figured this out for me :-) ). We didn't have a pillow problem - there were 6 perfect pillows on our bed,
We were never approached by time share people so I have no commentary to that.
The gym is adequate - if you search images it is the gym with the black flooring - 2 ellipticals, 2 bikes, 2 treadmills, free weights, some cable machines (but as is the case with most hotels they are a bit of a rough pull and don't adjust to smaller people).
All the food was wonderful! There was always plenty of authentic Mexican dishes on the buffet. They have a full infused oil and vinegar bar, every type of steak sauce, all sorts of seasonings, pico de gallos and fresh Mexican hot sauces/vegetables to top your dishes, anything you can think of they had. There was always a full bread bar (to answer the stale comments - if you find stale bread it is because it has been sitting out sliced for a while - just slice a new loaf!). Ice cream bar with all the toppings and to go cups if you wanted to take some with you. full salad bars, cold cut bars (which included fish carpaccio and lox). Plenty of veggie dishes for vegetarians, fish usually 7 to 12 ways for pescatarians. Something for everyone and it was DELICIOUS!
At Blue Moon get the coffee flambé - the show is great and the coffee AMAZING! We didn't have one bad thing at any of the a la carte restaurants. At privilege lounge you can order off their dinner menu or the Italian menu (La Dolce Vita) so you can dine in AC. The Japanese place serves you what they serve you - some sushi and a hibachi dinner - but very tasty.
We had incredible massages (book with the spa concierge on the beach - they'll give you a great deal!) 80 min hot stone and aromatherapy - amazing! Make sure you get there early - the relaxation room is EXACTLY that - its so wild - there is this amazing breeze in the room and the loungers so comfy! My spouse fell asleep within 5 minutes of sitting in the lounge chair.
The foam party was cool and funny! I didn't do a whole lot of the organized activities but everyone who did was having fun. Word to the wise - be careful of the "poppers" - its a tequila shot - stick to one or two - all the people that were in the pool the day of our arrival were doing them and almost no one made it to dinner that night (regardless of age or size)!
The prices for souvenirs in the gift shop/pool area were actually pretty good - remember almost all of it is hand made and they had some pretty pieces. If you aren't going to go into town to do shopping do NOT wait till the airport - prices are double and the selection is non-existent - much better off with the hotel. They also have vendors who come in once a week and set up around the fountain.
Can't comment on late night stuff as we are early birds - bed by 9:30 up to the gym each morning but the couples we met raved about the shows. The live music before the shows and the sax player at breakfast are amazing!
Animals are everywhere and the grounds are meticulous. You can walk quite a ways on the beach and the lagoon a 10 minute walk is beautiful and worth a dip.

Room Tip: the rooms toward the front of the resort (lobby building) are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank nikcentralny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanCustomerService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Ocean Maya Royale Former Guest,

It is a pleasure to know that you had a great time during your holiday here at the OMR, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review about our resort and for sharing all the little details of your experience, we really appreciate it since this is very important for us and for future guests.

We would like you to please let us know the next time you plan your holidays since it will be a big pleasure to have the chance of hosting you again in a nearby future.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,777)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

52 - 56 of 6,778 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I have been to a few places in the Carribeans such as Varadero and Punta Cana but my experience with this resort is by far the best. Is it the highest star rating resort? No, and it only has to do with the miniscule details such as designs and maybe less complicated or delicate placemats at the restaurants and such. But the service from all staff is def top notch! Isreal, our chef from the Teppanyaki restaurant onsite is extremely friendly and humorous, and anyone from the front desk down to the securities are super friendly and make you feel immediate at home.

Only thing that this place can benefit from is maybe an upgrade in the production scale nightly entertainments, and again just small details in designs, presentations, and a few more complimentary water sports could also benefit the resort. But these won't stop me from booking with this resort again and rooms are beautiful and comfortable. My girlfriend and I had a great time and it has a lot to do with the staff and the great services they stand behind.

Room Tip: Beach view will get you just that, but obviously a lot of noise coming from people having a good tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Roybok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanCustomerService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear OMR Former Guest,

It is a pleasure to know that you had a great time during your holiday here at the OMR, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review about our resort and its highlights, we really appreciate it since this is very important for us and for future guests.

Please let us next time you are planning your holidays we will be looking forward for the chance of hosting you once again.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2017 via mobile

We just got back from a 7-night stay at OMR and already can't wait to go back! The resort was beautiful, staff great, pools so much fun and food and drink delicious.

Resort:
We were in a standard room in villa 5, and it was beautiful. The resort is the perfect size - getting around was a breeze. The grounds and our room were very clean.

Food and Drink:
We never had a bad meal. We went to every restaurant and the buffet. The drinks were great.

Staff:
We loved the staff! Especially Hugo, with the Entertainment Staff. Everyone was so friendly. We enjoyed the entertainment out by the pool each day. Alexis, the rep for Coco Bongo, was also really great. We enjoyed chatting with him.

Pool:
We spent most of our days at the pool with the pool bar. It was so much fun each day!

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Kristen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanCustomerService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Ocean Maya Royale Former Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review about our resort and for mentioning our co workers Hugo and Alexis, we really appreciate it since this is very important for us and our future guests.

Please let us know next time you plan your holidays since it would be a big pleasure to have you back and host you once again.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2017

While my checkin was not as smooth as it could have been (mix up on my room) my overall stay was great. Aranza was one of the many staff members that was very pleasant and made our time at this resort fun. Very entertaining! I was also surprised with a fabulous piece of cake for my birthday that was delivered to my room while I was goon for the day.

The only thing I would suggest is when a person books a room with 2 beds and has proof, don’t try to tell them that it was booked with a king bed and then when moving them the next day to a different room don’t make them check out of the wrong room at 11am and make them wait until 3pm to check in to the correct room. That was so inconvenient! I was not able to get to my clothes to shower and change for plans we had at the spa and was almost late for my appointment because I had to wait for someone to open the room (which by the way was already clean when my stuff was put in there so I don’t know why I had to wait until 3pm).

Room Tip: there Are several buildings close to sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sdakotajoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanCustomerService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Ocean Maya Royale Guest:

On behalf of the entire staff we would like to thank you for taking the time to share this comment and your experience, with all the community of travelers and future guests.

All of your specific comments regarding service and suggestions will be taken as opportunity areas to improve our service.

Please let us know next time you plan your holidays, we will be looking forward to be your host once again, we are sure this time we will be able to achieve a 5* review from you.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2017 via mobile

We have been at The Ocean Maya Royale for almost 1 week and I have to say the trip was awesome. The staff at the hotel were very accommodating, and the staff at poolside was entertaining the guests continually, especially a young lady named Aranzo. She was funny and worked very hard to get everyone involved in the different events going on-you could tell she loved her job. Price for trip was good, restaurants offered a variety of food choices and I would recommend coming here

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanCustomerService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Ocean Maya Royale Former Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review about our resort and for mentioning our co worker Aranza, we really appreciate it since this is very important for us and our future guests.

We would like you to let us know next time you plan your holidays since it would be a big pleasure to have you back and host you once again.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
3.4 km away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#62 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
5,756 reviews
8.8 km away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
2,841 reviews
0.3 km away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#41 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
9,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Petit Lafitte
Petit Lafitte
#7 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
1,578 reviews
1.7 km away
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda
#98 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
9,817 reviews
3.9 km away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#68 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
2,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Maya Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Maya Royale

Address: Carretera Federal Chetumal, km. 299, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#36 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#51 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: ₱9,662 - ₱32,087 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Maya Royale 4*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-inclusive luxury in an intimate Caribbean setting, in the heart of the Riviera Maya. Ocean Maya Royale is a luxury all-inclusive beachfront resort in Riviera Maya, in the heart of the Mexican Caribbean. Offering intimate settings and lush tropical landscapes, this Caribbean gem is very close to Playa del Carmen, Tulum, Cozumel and Cancun. Relax and enjoy our Despacio Spa, two swimming pools, exclusive south beach section featuring Balinese sun beds, Dive It! Watersports center and our a la carte restaurants, where you can taste the best International cuisine, including our new beachfront La Dolce Vita restaurant. Ocean Maya Royale is exclusively an Adults Only resort, a perfect retreat for couples, honeymooners and any one over the age of 18 looking for a more relaxing and sofisticated Caribbean experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Ocean Maya Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Maya Royale Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Ocean Maya Hotel
Ocean Maya Playa Del Carmen
Hacienda Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing