We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget option!”
Review of Casa Melissa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Melissa
Ranked #22 of 185 Playa del Carmen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2017 via mobile

This was our sixth time in Playa and we've always tried staying at different places. We typically have a short list of qualities we look for (clean, convenient, inexpensive, and safe). Casa Melissa has all of these qualities. It's steps from the ADO bus station and 5th Avenue, but far enough away where you don't hear all of the noise. We had a room that didn't face the plaza, so I can't say much else for the noise level near the park. It's a basic hotel and the pool isn't much to write about (horrible view), but with so many beautiful beaches a short drive away - who cares? Staff is courteous, but don't necessarily go out of their way to make you feel special. No wifi in the rooms, but strong signal by reception. Clean towels are provided everyday. Bed is a little on the hard side for our taste, but not too bad. Great AC. Clean sheets. Good channel options with English channels included. No onsite restaurant, but so close to 5th Ave. it doesn't matter. GREAT OPTION if you're on a budget, but want to stay somewhere clean, safe, convenient and inexpensive!!

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Ruthie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 202 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2017 via mobile

As a solo traveler this place was nice. Simple and clean. Staff is friendly and everthing you need is close by.

They have an old key system (actual key) so don't lose it or you will have to pay bucks. Also pool at hotel faces a big empty lot which ruins the experience but overall this place was okay. It's 10 steps out the front and your beach is there. Plus all the coconuts you can drink right outside

Stayed: May 2017, traveled solo
1  Thank Nick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2017

We had a room with double beds.There was not a lot of space outside of that. The bathroom and closet size were OK. The rooms were clean but the beds were uncomfortable. The staff was not welcoming, and the "ocean view" had a lot full of junk (literally) in front of the hotel. Good location though.

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank darklighter67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2017

This is our second time back to this little jem. Nice big, clean rooms. We had a Jr. Suite which was quite large and had a bar area with fridge coffee maker and extra sink.
Staff was friendly and helpful. Location is top notch Close to everything
See you next year!

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank awall23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2017 via mobile

We came across this little hotel after renting a car in cancun with no particular itinerary. Once arriving in Playa this was the first hotel we checked out and we liked the looks of it. We continued to look at 4 more hotels. All of them more expensive, worse locations and no where near as clean inside. So we ran back to the melisa to book our room. The first night we had one bed. The bed was quite small, but then again my partner is 6,3 and a bed hogger!! The a/c gave us a few initial problems along with the tv but both were fixed immediately. We had a side view of the pool and could see the ocean to the right of us. There was a complimentary bottle of water in the room. The next night we decided to take a larger room. It was lovely. A small balcony and clean bathroom. Two double beds and lots of storage. We were minutes walk to the beach, wah wah bar (which had phenomenal music) and the ferry terminal for Cozumal. The hotel is situated just off of 5th Avenue. We walked all the way down to 38th and then walked the beach all of the way back. We loved it so much that we stayed for a third night. I would suggest this hotel for anyone looking for a well priced hotel just off the busy strip. We will definitely be back.

Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank britmarie911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.4 km away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#48 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,575 reviews
0.5 km away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#23 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,636 reviews
1.7 km away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
2,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Colibri Beach
Hotel Colibri Beach
#117 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
219 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#15 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
869 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Posada Sian Ka'an
Hotel Posada Sian Ka'an
#87 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Melissa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Melissa

Address: Ave. Juarez, entre 1ra y 5ta Norte | Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 185 B&Bs / Inns in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: ₱2,930 - ₱8,132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Melissa 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Melissa has a privilege location right in the hearth of the famous 5th avenue of Playa del Carmen in the Riviera Maya. Casa Melissa offer spectacular ocean views from every room, ideal for those seeking for intimate yet moderate lodging in Playa del Carmen, Mexico. Casa Melissa was fully renovated in 2011 and new building was added to extend hotel inventory to 32 rooms which are all connected to the main building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Melissa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing