We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Melissa
Nearby Hotels
Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
US$529
US$417
Bookit.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$444
Bookit.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Reef Coco Beach(Playa del Carmen)
US$281
US$209
Bookit.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$1,323
Melia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banyan Tree Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$1,299
US$836
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Viceroy Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
US$508
US$484
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$453
US$439
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$347
US$305
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Iberostar Paraiso Maya(Playa Paraiso)
US$327
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$229
US$221
galahotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (213)
Filter reviews
213 results
Traveler rating
93
80
19
10
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
93
80
19
10
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsado bus stationferry to cozumelwah wahocean viewno wifi in the roomsgreat acfixed immediatelypleasant stayhotel locationdefinitely stay here againspacious roomsmall balconyclean towelsno hot watertwo double bedsbeach chairsave
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 213 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Casa Melissa was more or less what I expected from reading the reviews. Very good location just 3 minutes from old ado bus station, and in front of the beach. Rooms were surprisingly big but that could be because I'm used to European hotels. Staff don't speak the most fluent English but they're helpful. The swimming pool is small with almost no one using it which suited me on hot afternoons. It's also close the the busy 5th avenue so shopping and going out for meals were no problem. The only thing that lacked was a breakfast option, there are restaurants nearby but 5th avenue is so congested at all times of the day it would've been nice to have a calm breakfast before setting off for the day. The beach is quite nice but busy and you have to pay for sunloungers. For a true beach holiday it's better to spend time in Tulum or Akumal but for day trips staying at Casa Melissa was ideal.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Soo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We had a pleasant stay at Casa Melissa
Wonderful cozy place located in a walk able distance from everything: beautiful public beach area, taxi and bus station, catholic chapel, ferry docking bay, chic restaurants, bars, all kind of stores along the famous 5th avenue.

Rooms are nice, spacious and modern with a beautiful brick dome, there are rooms with double beds or king bed ,we prefer king our room was 302 outstanding ocean view with a flat screen, mini fridge, coffee maker, organic amenities and electrical outlets everywhere for all your devices.
I been working at the hotel industry for 10 years and beleive me, there are some all inclusive hotels or large chain hotels without all these services.

There is a small swim channel as well (tiny outdoor pool) and free Internet access at the lobby area (ask for the password at the front desk)


Overall we spend a great time for less than 60 bucks at day, definitely we will be back in a next trip to Playa del Carmen!

Room Tip: ask for Room 302 excelent view, quiet and confortable
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mundox79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for four nights in March and were quite satisfied with our stay. It is steps away from 5th Avenue, the beach and the ADO bus depot, but is tucked away nicely so that the hotel lobby is relatively quiet. WiFi is available only in the lobby, and the front desk staff speak limited English, but neither detracted from our stay. Our room was spacious, cleaned daily and reasonably priced. I will certainly consider this hotel for my next stay in Playa del Carmen.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KD_Brandon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

My daughter and I traveled to Playa del Carmen In December 2012, during high season. Casa Melissa was a last-minute find on Orbitz under "B and Bs". It is located a few steps away from anything you might want in Playa. A few steps from the beach, from Quinta Avenida (the main shopping/entertainment strip) and from the bus station. Casa Melissa is a very basic, but recently renovated small hotel snuggled between a typical bar/restaurant (mostly locals) and a scuba diving ticket office. Desk staff is very nice, maybe a bit too laid back for my NY taste. We were upgraded to a quiet oceanfront room with a great terrace. Unfortunately, the ocean view is tarnished by some small structures (water? electric? sewage?) sitting on this messy dirty weedy area right in between the hotel and the gorgeous ocean. Quite a spoiler. Rooms are basic, but quite clean. Great A/C. Large, tiled shower. Towel replacement was definitely a problem, as was the fact that it took 2 to 3 days for a bedspread to be put on one of the two beds. There's a coffee maker with 2 mugs, but you will have to provide all ingredients. No breakfast is served. Bring a hairdryer, if you use one, as there is none in the room. We overlooked the small pool. Although we were there for 5 nights, we never saw anyone in it. Why use the pool when you have a spectacular, calm, clean ocean a few feet away? Casa Melissa did not disappoint. I would return there with my daughter, but I'd probably choose something a bit more upscale if I were traveling with my husband.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet, oceanfront room.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The Hotel Casa Melissa was a very comfortable place to crash for 7 nights in Playa. It is steps away form the beginning of the 5th Ave pedestrian zone, and from the Cozumel ferry the bus station, and the beach. So whether you are going out, getting in, or lazing the day away you don’t have far to go to do it.
The rooms were spotless on arrival and kept that way by the unobtrusive staff, the balcony had an ocean view, I could fall asleep listening to the crash of the surf, an in room fridge kept my drinks cold and the massively oversized soaking tub that was fun for two but could accommodate four was quite a welcome surprise. The staff were friendly and helpful when needed, and let you go about your day when they weren’t.
There were some fairly energetic bands that preformed at some nearby bars till about 10pm most nights that were simply too loud to ignore, but after that it becomes fairly quiet at that end of 5th ave.
As others have pointed out there is no wifi in the rooms, but there is in the lobby. But also just about every bar has free wifi for the asking, so unless you aren’t feeling social it isn’t a big deal.

Playa del Carmen has accommodations to meet any taste and budget, and hotel experience is based on the expectations vs the delivered experience. So if you are looking for a clean, comfortable and central no fuss place to stay then Casa Melissa is an excellent choice, and I would choose to return there over some more posh places I have stayed.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank byzantium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews