We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Know What you Want don't Assume ask.”
Review of Casa Melissa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Melissa
Ranked #18 of 166 Playa del Carmen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Know What you Want don't Assume ask.”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Ok, every country is different, so understanding who is supposedly serving you goes a long way in making your stay enjoyable. Casa Melissa is newish hotel, it has maintences issues, ie sliding doors that don't slide that well, toilets that don't refill etc that can occur in every hotel. The catch is what you do about it. At the Casa Mellisa the staffs approach is there is no problem if you don't raise it. So raise it. Secondly don't expect it to be fixed to your standard or within your time frame (here is the catch) unless you tell them exactly how you want it fixed and when. Example: The sliding door to the balcony does not lock (we see this as security and safety issues, small children) can you fix it please? This means to the staff whenever you feel like it. If you add politely this is not acceptable and we want to change rooms now, then they will move you. Our first room had this issue and few others and we were upgraded to a better room. Once in, unless you specifically ask and tell them exactly what you want you will be left alone.

Some thing to note bed linen gets musty if left for extended periods. If your room has not been used in while ask for fresh linen or it will take on the typical tropical musty smell which can be a bit unpleasant and a bit overwhelming, especially during the wet season.

Generally always Check the toilet, hot water, aircon, fans, remote controls, door locks, linen before whoever shows you to your room, so things can be addressed then and there on the spot. Beds are comfortable but firm.

If anything remember this and you will be fine. Ask and you will receive( be specific).

Water
If you want water as non is provided an oXXo is 150 metres west which is cheaper than the big souvenir shops, however once you have empty bottle ask at reception if they can refill it free of charge, which they do.

The enterance from the street is small so keep an eye open.

The pool comprises of two 4 x 3 metre by. 80cm deep plunge pools joined by a 20m lap lane 1.32m deep. Great for kids. If you want towels for the pool ask at reception.

Food.
If you want cheap burittos tacos etc head west to the park vendors sell from carts for 30 pesos for big buritto without the hard sell of 5th Ave.

There is no food or beverage service at the hotel.

If your on a budget to get from playa del carman to Cancun by shuttle bus IE white mini van will cost you 30 pesos, expect to pay for an additional seat if you have alot of luggage. Shuttle buses are great, cheap and safe alternatives to coaches and expensive tours if you're a little independent.

Enjoy.

The rest is covered in other reviews.

All the best

Room Tip: Ask for an el Grande room. 253 has issues and is a standard room 251 is a good room though sliding...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Geoman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    75
    14
    6
    10
See reviews for
54
90
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Casa Melissa was more or less what I expected from reading the reviews. Very good location just 3 minutes from old ado bus station, and in front of the beach. Rooms were surprisingly big but that could be because I'm used to European hotels. Staff don't speak the most fluent English but they're helpful. The swimming pool is small with almost no one using it which suited me on hot afternoons. It's also close the the busy 5th avenue so shopping and going out for meals were no problem. The only thing that lacked was a breakfast option, there are restaurants nearby but 5th avenue is so congested at all times of the day it would've been nice to have a calm breakfast before setting off for the day. The beach is quite nice but busy and you have to pay for sunloungers. For a true beach holiday it's better to spend time in Tulum or Akumal but for day trips staying at Casa Melissa was ideal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Soo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cozumel, Mexico
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We had a pleasant stay at Casa Melissa
Wonderful cozy place located in a walk able distance from everything: beautiful public beach area, taxi and bus station, catholic chapel, ferry docking bay, chic restaurants, bars, all kind of stores along the famous 5th avenue.

Rooms are nice, spacious and modern with a beautiful brick dome, there are rooms with double beds or king bed ,we prefer king our room was 302 outstanding ocean view with a flat screen, mini fridge, coffee maker, organic amenities and electrical outlets everywhere for all your devices.
I been working at the hotel industry for 10 years and beleive me, there are some all inclusive hotels or large chain hotels without all these services.

There is a small swim channel as well (tiny outdoor pool) and free Internet access at the lobby area (ask for the password at the front desk)


Overall we spend a great time for less than 60 bucks at day, definitely we will be back in a next trip to Playa del Carmen!

Room Tip: ask for Room 302 excelent view, quiet and confortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mundox79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for four nights in March and were quite satisfied with our stay. It is steps away from 5th Avenue, the beach and the ADO bus depot, but is tucked away nicely so that the hotel lobby is relatively quiet. WiFi is available only in the lobby, and the front desk staff speak limited English, but neither detracted from our stay. Our room was spacious, cleaned daily and reasonably priced. I will certainly consider this hotel for my next stay in Playa del Carmen.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KD_Brandon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

My daughter and I traveled to Playa del Carmen In December 2012, during high season. Casa Melissa was a last-minute find on Orbitz under "B and Bs". It is located a few steps away from anything you might want in Playa. A few steps from the beach, from Quinta Avenida (the main shopping/entertainment strip) and from the bus station. Casa Melissa is a very basic, but recently renovated small hotel snuggled between a typical bar/restaurant (mostly locals) and a scuba diving ticket office. Desk staff is very nice, maybe a bit too laid back for my NY taste. We were upgraded to a quiet oceanfront room with a great terrace. Unfortunately, the ocean view is tarnished by some small structures (water? electric? sewage?) sitting on this messy dirty weedy area right in between the hotel and the gorgeous ocean. Quite a spoiler. Rooms are basic, but quite clean. Great A/C. Large, tiled shower. Towel replacement was definitely a problem, as was the fact that it took 2 to 3 days for a bedspread to be put on one of the two beds. There's a coffee maker with 2 mugs, but you will have to provide all ingredients. No breakfast is served. Bring a hairdryer, if you use one, as there is none in the room. We overlooked the small pool. Although we were there for 5 nights, we never saw anyone in it. Why use the pool when you have a spectacular, calm, clean ocean a few feet away? Casa Melissa did not disappoint. I would return there with my daughter, but I'd probably choose something a bit more upscale if I were traveling with my husband.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet, oceanfront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Mimi del Mar
Hotel Mimi del Mar
#138 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
162 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Posada Sian Ka'an
Hotel Posada Sian Ka'an
#91 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
276 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Vista Caribe
Hotel Vista Caribe
#106 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Playa Maya
Playa Maya
#100 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
655 reviews
0.4 km away
Xaman-ha Luxury Condominiums
Xaman-ha Luxury Condominiums
#13 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
257 reviews
0.1 km away
No photo provided
Dolce Caribe
#81 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Melissa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Melissa

Property: Casa Melissa
Address: Ave. Juarez, entre 1ra y 5ta Norte | Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 166 B&Bs / Inns in Playa del Carmen
Price range (per night): ₱3,278 - ₱9,530
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Melissa 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Melissa has a privilege location right in the hearth of the famous 5th avenue of Playa del Carmen in the Riviera Maya. Casa Melissa offer spectacular ocean views from every room, ideal for those seeking for intimate yet moderate lodging in Playa del Carmen, Mexico. Casa Melissa was fully renovated in 2011 and new building was added to extend hotel inventory to 32 rooms which are all connected to the main building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Melissa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing