We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great at all”
Review of Casa Melissa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Melissa
Ranked #18 of 166 Playa del Carmen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
High Point, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not great at all”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed at this hotel last week for 5 nights and the experience wasn't that great at all. Although the location is good (right by the beach and on 5th ave in PDC) but other than that nothing was good. First, there is no Wifi in the hotel room as its only in the public area which actually is right by the front desk. For two days we did not have our room cleaned and they gave us the same bed sheet for 5 nights. Things became worse when our bathroom tub clogged and we had to remind them atleast 4-5 times to fix it plus we ran out of toilet paper in our toilet!!! YUCK So you can very well imagine the type of service and value you get here. The BIGGEST problem we faced was that nobody speaks English here. I would highly recommend anyone planning to stay at this place to think twice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aj060281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    75
    14
    6
    10
See reviews for
54
90
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

This place is a few minutes walk to the beach and the ferry dock to Cozumel and it is situated right in the town center, which makes it a perfect place to get around places in playa itself. We booked a room with a great deal from Orbitz for 1 night and really liked the clean, modernly designed, spacious room provided to us. Our room has a great view of the sandy beach, the pool however the noise can be a little unbearable. Wifi is available at the lobby only. The staffs told us sometimes they band at the bars could play till 2am, I hope you all are not light sleepers. While we were there, the band stopped playing at 11pm on Sunday, lucky us.

Room Tip: make sure u got a room that is further from the music scene if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelneat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Two steps from the beach - our room also had a beautiful ocean view!

Air conditioner and fan worked great, the staff was helpful and friendly, and the place was always spotless. The pool is small, but who needs it with the beach right there! Location is great - middle of the action but not at all loud at night.

We would definitely stay there again - highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimosa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We photograph many weddings in the Riviera Maya and needed a place to stay overnight after our event. I found Casa Melissa on a search online and booked because it was within our price range. I didn't expect too much because it was such a great value. But I was totally mistaken. It was recently remodeled so the hotel was modern, clean and friendly. The rooms were very spacious. It's steps away from the Quinta Avenida and there are traditional taco carts right in front for a taste of some authentic food. We would definitely go back!

Room Tip: If you have a rental car, there is a parking lot nearby. You will have to walk a little with your l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cancun Studios P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Stayed there with 3 other friends and we loved it. We were greeted by a an awesome polite young lady named Karla. The room was clean. We got clean towels when needed the location was great. The hotel would close at night but they had a security guard who would let you in. He was very friendly and courteous. Domingo was his name I believe. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank USVet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Mimi del Mar
Hotel Mimi del Mar
#138 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
162 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Posada Sian Ka'an
Hotel Posada Sian Ka'an
#91 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
276 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Vista Caribe
Hotel Vista Caribe
#106 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Playa Maya
Playa Maya
#100 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
655 reviews
0.4 km away
Xaman-ha Luxury Condominiums
Xaman-ha Luxury Condominiums
#13 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
257 reviews
0.1 km away
No photo provided
Dolce Caribe
#81 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Melissa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Melissa

Property: Casa Melissa
Address: Ave. Juarez, entre 1ra y 5ta Norte | Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 166 B&Bs / Inns in Playa del Carmen
Price range (per night): ₱3,278 - ₱9,530
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Melissa 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Melissa has a privilege location right in the hearth of the famous 5th avenue of Playa del Carmen in the Riviera Maya. Casa Melissa offer spectacular ocean views from every room, ideal for those seeking for intimate yet moderate lodging in Playa del Carmen, Mexico. Casa Melissa was fully renovated in 2011 and new building was added to extend hotel inventory to 32 rooms which are all connected to the main building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Melissa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing