We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Kinbe Hotel(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$92
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Banyan Tree Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$593
US$464
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$508
US$379
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
US$329
US$263
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
US$301
US$270
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 07/22
US$336
US$326
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Hacienda Tres Rios(Playa del Carmen)
US$550
US$407
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Free cancellation until 07/26
US$359
US$209
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$725
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,246)
Filter reviews
3,246 results
Traveler rating
2,155
740
193
88
70
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,155
740
193
88
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshangri la caribehalf boardlas olasfuego restaurantpalapa stylegarden viewbreakfast and dinnerlas palapaspalapa roofocean frontping ponginfinity poolfifth avenueyogurtpalm treesthe wait staffceviche
Filter
Updating list...
334 - 339 of 3,246 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

Was it the food (finger-licking delicious)? Or the sunrises (inspiring)? Or the weather (comfortably warm)? The location (quiet but at walking distance from bursting pdc)? What was it that made our stay at the Mahekal Resort so exceptional? For sure a combination of all the above, but the cherry on the cake was without a doubt the wonderful people employed at the Resort. Always friendly and helpful in a very cooperative, informative manner. Very elegant and eloquent. Whoever is in charge of recruitment is doing a fantastic job or can I assume that this is just the way all Mexicans are? Just wonderful. We will for sure be back! Thank you Mascha from TUI for this recommendation!

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank Ria V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen S, Sales at Mahekal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Dear Ria V,

Thank you for visiting us at Mahekal Beach Resort and for your five star review!

I am thrilled that we made your stay successful and I will certainly pass your good words on to our staff who do go out of their way to ensure each guests' needs are met.

We will be looking forward to your return.

Best wishes,
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

We were spoiled by Rojelio Valencia (Service Specislist) See you next year!!! Next to the beach, great pools and FOOD WOW!!! Bringing family and freinds. Seven days went by quick. We don't want to go home, but they made feel like we were home . Rogelio called us by name every day ,made great suggestions and recomendations. Can't say enough about Rogelio

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank Ricardo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Nice Caribbean style bungalows with modern decoration but also with a native touch. Very tastefully decorated. Delicious food. Good service. The beach is great - especiall for sunrise and for walking on the beach ideal spot. Also walking distance to the centre of the city.

Room Tip: the rooms at the pueblo area are more quite, de garden view rooms around 100 are also quite
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Feride0706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen S, Sales at Mahekal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Dear Feride0706,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Mahekal Beach Resort and for taking the time to write kind comments on TripAdvisor.

We embody the authentic Mexican experience from our landscaping, our accommodations to the interior design and food. Our location is perfect as we are a short walk to the shopping and sightseeing of La Quinta Avenida and for those that want to lounge on the beach or pool you have the option right outside of your door. Amazing!

We hope that you return for another visit soon.

Best wishes,
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 October 2017

Just returned from our third family trip to Mahekal. I LOVE THIS HOTEL. It feels like home. From the quaint bungalows to the beautifully manicured property and the friendly welcome staff and I cannot recommend this property any more highly. The breakfast buffet is my favorite way to start of the day with their special touches and glorious fruit!

Cocktails (and Happy Hour) at their 2 pool bars are great - and you can beat the ocean for jumping in the waves.

I love that I can walk into 5th Avenue for shopping, dining and then transport right back to paradise!

Cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: I love the Ocean Front Rooms - feet in the sand just steps to the ocean!
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karengunther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen S, Manager at Mahekal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Dear karengunther-

Third time is the charm!

Thank you so much Karen for visiting again our beloved Mahekal Beach Resort and for your stellar review of our resort. We love that you enjoy the location, the breakfast buffet and the waves. Our location is the best kept secret in Playa del Carmen.

We are delighted you LOVE THIS HOTEL and we cannot wait for you to return for your fourth trip! Please let us know how you like it next time...you are family now.

warmest regards,

Karen Smith
Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 October 2017

the Mahekal is located on the beach at 38th street, just one block from the end of 5th street, the "promenade " of playa del carmen. the over/under separate units are scattered across the property, with all being within a few steps of a pool, bar, or restaurant; yet each gives a feeling of quiet isolation as well. the staff is unobtrusive, yet ever present, willing to help with an easy smile.
the surrounding neighborhood includes a multitude of good restaurants, from traditional mom-and-pop eateries, to cuisines from around the world at all different price ranges. many of these can be seen along the 5th st "promenade". this street is open air, with restaurants, shops, markets, etc.
wether you spend your time on the beach, in the pool, oe exploring playa del carmen and the culturally rich surrounding area, the mahekal is a perfect jumping off spot, and a perfect oasis in which to rest, rejuvenate, and plan you next days adventures.

Room Tip: front desk staff more than happy to show you available options once you arrive. they helped us pick the best room for our stay.
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen S, Manager at Mahekal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Hi Juan S-

Thank you for describing Mahekal Beach Resort's location in relation to Quinta Avenida. We are the perfect "jumping off spot" to enjoy Playa del Carmen!

Our staff is the best part of this hidden resort, they are attentive without being over bearing and always available to help, no matter the request. We encourage our guests to dine at one of the many restaurants the resort offers and then stroll into town to dine there. We offer the perfect blend of seaside resort with a culturally rich town center.

Thank you for visiting,

Karen Smith
Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews