We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FUEGO RESTAURANTE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mahekal Beach Resort
Ranked #28 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our last night at the Mahekal Resort was spent at the Fuego Restaurante. It was incredible food and service with an amazing view of the beach. Our servers, especially Emmanuel, were one of the best we have ever experienced. Very attentive and went the extra mile giving our 3 daughters a little gift at the end of the meal. The food was fresh unique and very high quality. Would highly recommend this restaurant!

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank rclarkjdclarkddsaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen S, Manager at Mahekal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hola rclarkjdclarkddsaz-

Many thanks for the shout out to Fuego Restaurante!

We are delighted you enjoyed the restaurant and the views of the beach, mere steps to the beach with a few palm trees to break up the sea view.

And thank you for the mention of Emmanuel. I will personally find him tonight and tell him how much you admired his personal service. Our staff is the best part of our resort and time and time again people write to tell us how much they love the team at Mahekal. Thank you for mentioning them by name. They read your reviews and they love seeing their names listed here.

We hope you will visit again soon,

Warm regards,

Karen Smith
Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,841)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 25 of 2,841 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Was it the food (finger-licking delicious)? Or the sunrises (inspiring)? Or the weather (comfortably warm)? The location (quiet but at walking distance from bursting pdc)? What was it that made our stay at the Mahekal Resort so exceptional? For sure a combination of all the above, but the cherry on the cake was without a doubt the wonderful people employed at the Resort. Always friendly and helpful in a very cooperative, informative manner. Very elegant and eloquent. Whoever is in charge of recruitment is doing a fantastic job or can I assume that this is just the way all Mexicans are? Just wonderful. We will for sure be back! Thank you Mascha from TUI for this recommendation!

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank Ria V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen S, Sales at Mahekal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Ria V,

Thank you for visiting us at Mahekal Beach Resort and for your five star review!

I am thrilled that we made your stay successful and I will certainly pass your good words on to our staff who do go out of their way to ensure each guests' needs are met.

We will be looking forward to your return.

Best wishes,
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were spoiled by Rojelio Valencia (Service Specislist) See you next year!!! Next to the beach, great pools and FOOD WOW!!! Bringing family and freinds. Seven days went by quick. We don't want to go home, but they made feel like we were home . Rogelio called us by name every day ,made great suggestions and recomendations. Can't say enough about Rogelio

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank Ricardo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice Caribbean style bungalows with modern decoration but also with a native touch. Very tastefully decorated. Delicious food. Good service. The beach is great - especiall for sunrise and for walking on the beach ideal spot. Also walking distance to the centre of the city.

Room Tip: the rooms at the pueblo area are more quite, de garden view rooms around 100 are also quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Feride0706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen S, Sales at Mahekal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Feride0706,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Mahekal Beach Resort and for taking the time to write kind comments on TripAdvisor.

We embody the authentic Mexican experience from our landscaping, our accommodations to the interior design and food. Our location is perfect as we are a short walk to the shopping and sightseeing of La Quinta Avenida and for those that want to lounge on the beach or pool you have the option right outside of your door. Amazing!

We hope that you return for another visit soon.

Best wishes,
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just returned from our third family trip to Mahekal. I LOVE THIS HOTEL. It feels like home. From the quaint bungalows to the beautifully manicured property and the friendly welcome staff and I cannot recommend this property any more highly. The breakfast buffet is my favorite way to start of the day with their special touches and glorious fruit!

Cocktails (and Happy Hour) at their 2 pool bars are great - and you can beat the ocean for jumping in the waves.

I love that I can walk into 5th Avenue for shopping, dining and then transport right back to paradise!

Cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: I love the Ocean Front Rooms - feet in the sand just steps to the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karengunther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen S, Manager at Mahekal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear karengunther-

Third time is the charm!

Thank you so much Karen for visiting again our beloved Mahekal Beach Resort and for your stellar review of our resort. We love that you enjoy the location, the breakfast buffet and the waves. Our location is the best kept secret in Playa del Carmen.

We are delighted you LOVE THIS HOTEL and we cannot wait for you to return for your fourth trip! Please let us know how you like it next time...you are family now.

warmest regards,

Karen Smith
Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.3 km away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#22 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
1,606 reviews
7.0 km away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#11 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4,205 reviews
0.9 km away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#43 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#39 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
1,988 reviews
0.8 km away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#15 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
645 reviews
0.6 km away
Be Playa Hotel
Be Playa Hotel
#29 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahekal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahekal Beach Resort

Address: Calle 38, Entre Avenida 5a y Zona Federal Maritima, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Shangri-La Caribe)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#20 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#30 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: ₱11,645 - ₱23,138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mahekal Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mahekal Beach Resort is a legendary resort village located on 800 feet of white sand beach in the heart of vibrant Playa del Carmen. It has 198 thatched roof, palapa-style bungalows within steps of Fifth Avenue, the celebrated entertainment, shopping, and restaurant district of Playa del Carmen. The thousands of loyal repeat guests at Mahekal Beach Resort describe it as magical, memorable, and authentically Yucatecan. Our style is friendly and relaxed, a unique Caribbean experience where you can rock gently in a hammock on your private terrace and enjoy undoubtedly the best beach in Playa. Our guests love the fact that we have never compromised our truly unique ambiance and style. In keeping with that style, our rooms do not offer televisions. Instead, they feature original, brightly colored, Mexican tile bathrooms, private terraces with hammocks for siestas and star gazing, and locally-crafted Mexican wood furniture in an outdoor seating area where you can enjoy our magical sanctuary. The Resort offers meal plans that include breakfast daily and lunch or dinner. This choice gives our guests the opportunity to explore the many dining options in Playa del Carmen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mahekal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahekal Beach Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Shangri La Caribe Hotel
Shangri La Caribe Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing