We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Ranked #32 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 16, 2017

We were very impressed with the staff and the quality of food at all of the restaurants. Very quiet resort and not your typical crazy party atmosphere. They have a large beach with 2 great main swimming pool and some smaller private pool around the property. would defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalupe S, Gerente at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2017

Dear Mike S,

Thank you very much for your feedback and visit. We are happy to know you liked the food quality. We also appreciate your comments regarding our staff and hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,427)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

75 - 79 of 4,427 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2017

Outstanding place for a romantic vacation. Adults only, perfect location, lots to do. Good food and outstanding staff. Excellent rooms, very clean, comfortable and luxurious. Ventanas was our favorite restaurant and the pool bar had great atmosphere

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank 805joseluisr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalupe S, Gerente at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2017

Dear 805joseluisr
Thank you for staying with us, we really appreciate your comments and hope to see you soon.
Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2017 via mobile

We booked our trip in June and anxiously awaited for October!! We had an excellent time. Our rooms were in the villa closest to the front, on the top floor, and we loved them! They were close to two of the restaurants, the theater and a bar. The rooms were beautifully decorated and comfortable! We had a pool just outside our villa, but the larger pools, ocean, pool bar and two other restaurants were just a short walk away. This resort is located about 45 minutes from the Cancun airport and in a part of Playa del Carmen that you are comfortable walking around in if you want to do a bit of shopping or grab a Starbucks.
The “Fun Club” at the resort, Alberto, Brenda, & Brian, were awesome! The resort had just the right mix of entertainment and activities! These three entertained us with pool bingo, trivia and water aerobics plus several spirited games of sand volleyball. They also emceed the nightly entertainment in the theater. Alberto, Bryan and Brenda really made our time enjoyable and fun!
We had massages at the resort spa, and their services were exceptional!
Overall, our stay was fantastic. We kept saying that we hadn’t stayed anywhere where the service was so friendly! Everyone really went out of their way to ensure we had a great time. We are already planning a return trip!

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalupe S, Gerente at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2017

Dear Julie C
We are sincerely grateful for the time you spent to share your comments on your recent stay Royal Hideaway Playacar, your detailed review will certainly assist in order to keep on improving the quality of our services for our valued guests.
Warmest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2017 via mobile

Beautiful hotel/resort located in a quaint upscale area of Playa del Carmen. This resort never lacked in luxury and quality of services. Highly recommend booking early dinner reservations (6:00-7:00) in order to enjoy all courses of the meal and still have time to catch the 9:00 theater show and 10:00 entertainment at the Allegro Bar. The staff was friendly and accommodating. My husband and I were fully accommodated with our vegan diet and they made sure I had special treats on my birthday. The Fun Club, Alberto, Bryan, and Brenda did an excellent job making sure we had fun activities and entertainment throughout our stay. We played volleyball, pool trivia and ate ice cream every day! Enjoyed the music - they brought life to the party. I will be returning to the Royal Hideaway Playacar. It gets 5 stars!

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalupe S, Gerente at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2017

Dear Kathy S
We thank you for your very kind words about our entertainment team as they work tirelessly every day to entertain our guests during their stay among us, we will make sure to relay your praising comments to them and we are sure they will be happy to know their efforts have been appreciated.
Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2017

A beautiful hotel with exceptional staff. They could not do enough to make our stay enjoyable The restaurants were excellent. A great variety of food from international, Mexican, Italian, Japanese We would definitely re-vist Playa del Carmen and would definitely stay at The Royal Hideaway. Can't wait to get back!

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank Lana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalupe S, Gerente at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2017

Dear Lana S,

We would like to thank you for your recent visit. We are happy to know your comments regarding our staff and hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
3.8 km away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
2,844 reviews
10.8 km away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#11 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4,214 reviews
3.2 km away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#13 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
16,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#20 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
9,194 reviews
23.1 km away
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
12,192 reviews
18.9 km away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hideaway Playacar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hideaway Playacar

Address: Lote Hotelero No. 6 Fracc., Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Royal Hideaway Playacar & Occidental Resorts)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#13 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#27 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: ₱18,565 - ₱36,218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Hideaway Playacar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning luxury all inclusive resort set along the beautiful beaches of Playa del Carmen, Mexico. Ideal setting in a serene environment for complete rest and relaxation. Adults only. Member of The Leading Hotels of the World. 2008 winner of the coveted AAA 5 Diamond Award. 11 villas with private concierge are spread throughout the property's immaculate grounds. Six gourmet restaurants serve delicasies in menu-style dining. A full service spa offers the ultimate in papmering and body treatments. Personalzied service and attention to detail set this resort a world apart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Royal Hideaway Playacar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hideaway Playacar & Occidental Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hideaway Playacar And Occidental Resorts
Royal Hideaway Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hideaway Mexico
Occidental Royal Hideaway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing