We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Nearby Hotels
The Reef Coco Beach(Playa del Carmen)
US$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Playacar Palace(Playa del Carmen)
US$662
US$598
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mahekal Beach Resort(Playa del Carmen)
US$231
US$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Banyan Tree Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$464
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hacienda Tres Rios(Playa del Carmen)
US$456
US$385
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Iberostar Paraiso Maya(Playa Paraiso)
US$420
US$397
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
US$370
US$356
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$411
US$399
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$583
US$412
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$478/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$480
US$339
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (5,098)
Filter reviews
5,098 results
Traveler rating
3,729
878
291
130
70
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,729
878
291
130
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslas ventanasthe grillspices restaurantdinner reservationsallegria barvilla conciergeclub royaledeck restaurantdinner theaterinfinity poolchef's tablewalk in closetother resortsour honeymoonall inclusive resortquiet resorttop shelf
Filter
Updating list...
636 - 641 of 5,098 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Outstanding place for a romantic vacation. Adults only, perfect location, lots to do. Good food and outstanding staff. Excellent rooms, very clean, comfortable and luxurious. Ventanas was our favorite restaurant and the pool bar had great atmosphere

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank 805joseluisr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalupe S, Gerente at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear 805joseluisr
Thank you for staying with us, we really appreciate your comments and hope to see you soon.
Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

We booked our trip in June and anxiously awaited for October!! We had an excellent time. Our rooms were in the villa closest to the front, on the top floor, and we loved them! They were close to two of the restaurants, the theater and a bar. The rooms were beautifully decorated and comfortable! We had a pool just outside our villa, but the larger pools, ocean, pool bar and two other restaurants were just a short walk away. This resort is located about 45 minutes from the Cancun airport and in a part of Playa del Carmen that you are comfortable walking around in if you want to do a bit of shopping or grab a Starbucks.
The “Fun Club” at the resort, Alberto, Brenda, & Brian, were awesome! The resort had just the right mix of entertainment and activities! These three entertained us with pool bingo, trivia and water aerobics plus several spirited games of sand volleyball. They also emceed the nightly entertainment in the theater. Alberto, Bryan and Brenda really made our time enjoyable and fun!
We had massages at the resort spa, and their services were exceptional!
Overall, our stay was fantastic. We kept saying that we hadn’t stayed anywhere where the service was so friendly! Everyone really went out of their way to ensure we had a great time. We are already planning a return trip!

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalupe S, Gerente at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Julie C
We are sincerely grateful for the time you spent to share your comments on your recent stay Royal Hideaway Playacar, your detailed review will certainly assist in order to keep on improving the quality of our services for our valued guests.
Warmest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

Beautiful hotel/resort located in a quaint upscale area of Playa del Carmen. This resort never lacked in luxury and quality of services. Highly recommend booking early dinner reservations (6:00-7:00) in order to enjoy all courses of the meal and still have time to catch the 9:00 theater show and 10:00 entertainment at the Allegro Bar. The staff was friendly and accommodating. My husband and I were fully accommodated with our vegan diet and they made sure I had special treats on my birthday. The Fun Club, Alberto, Bryan, and Brenda did an excellent job making sure we had fun activities and entertainment throughout our stay. We played volleyball, pool trivia and ate ice cream every day! Enjoyed the music - they brought life to the party. I will be returning to the Royal Hideaway Playacar. It gets 5 stars!

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalupe S, Gerente at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Kathy S
We thank you for your very kind words about our entertainment team as they work tirelessly every day to entertain our guests during their stay among us, we will make sure to relay your praising comments to them and we are sure they will be happy to know their efforts have been appreciated.
Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 October 2017

A beautiful hotel with exceptional staff. They could not do enough to make our stay enjoyable The restaurants were excellent. A great variety of food from international, Mexican, Italian, Japanese We would definitely re-vist Playa del Carmen and would definitely stay at The Royal Hideaway. Can't wait to get back!

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Lana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalupe S, Gerente at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Lana S,

We would like to thank you for your recent visit. We are happy to know your comments regarding our staff and hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

The Royal Hideaway in Playa del Carmen Mexico has to be one of the best places I have ever stayed at in my life. The beach itself is stunning with sand that feels like powder and the water is clear with beautiful blue tones through it... Absolutely stunning. The service is impeccable. And the food is absolutely outstanding. The rooms are beautiful and clean. The people are wonderful and they will help you with anything you need ...anything at all! It was such a pleasure meeting the manager Carlos Flores. He really cares about each and every person there and looks to accommodate whatever it is you need. The whole staff is such a pleasure to deal with. It's going to be really hard to top this place. I'm already planning the next trip back! Which will be very soon!

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank JuliaGuliatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalupe S, Gerente at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Dear JuliaGuliatrip,

Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to Royal Hideaway Playacar and are delighted to read that we were able to exceed your holiday expectations.

We look forward to your next visit. Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews