We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
US$276
US$232
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mahekal Beach Resort(Playa del Carmen)
US$235
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$210
US$183
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Magic Blue Hotel(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$108
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
US$379
US$318
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
US$416
US$374
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$425
US$329
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$271
US$101
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 38% below average rates

The price you found is 38% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$163/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$317
US$308
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hacienda Tres Rios(Playa del Carmen)
US$482
US$283
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveler rating
162
16
9
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
162
16
9
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolamazing hotelado bus stationbrie saladel tigrediamond membersintimate hotelbeach dayswithin walking distancesmall kitchencozumel ferryrecommend this hoteltequila barbottled waterconcierge desknachoslocation is great
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 192 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2018

Overall, the experience as good. Hotel is good, not great;however if you need service contact Manuel. He is amazing. He took great care of us, checking in, booked private tours we had no ideas about and made sure we had everything we needed. The hotel; well still learning. Service at pool area is a mess.. Had to ask multiple times for drinks, food and tab. Rooms were good, but dirty. I had to go to management, who never came as requested to discuss hair on floor all over room as well as left over food in bathroom...YUCK! Overall, would go back; however would make sure room is clean and Manuel was available!

Room Tip: We had forth floor and it was great!
  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 June 2018

Beautiful hotel, located in the heart of Playa del Carmen, But it never stated on web site that the hotel is undergoing construction (gotta lure those tourist in) I was furious! Banging can start anywhere from 6:30 am to 7am...any room with low numbers are too close to construction! After speaking to someone, our room was changed (3rd day of our week long vacation)

Other than that, staff are wonderful! They have a great concierge where they can take care of all of your site seeing needs! We had a blast thanks to them.

Restaurant staff for breakfast were fantastic! The place wasn't open for dinner when we had arrived but we learned that they were open after. Upstairs, the pool is wonderful!

Theres potential in this place but I guess its depending on the needs of your family.

Stayed: May 2018
1  Thank Gypsy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna C, General Manager at The Fives Downtown Hotel & Residences, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear Gypsy P,
Thank you for taking the time to share your honest feedback about your experience during your stay, we apologize for the noise due to the neighbouring construction but are glad you had the opportunity to be among the first guests to try Mercatto for dinner.
Thank you for recofnizing our wonderful staff, they are our most important asset!
We look forward having the opportunity to host you once again and you Will then be able to try their lunch menu starting soon.
Kind regards,
Joanna Cruzvega
Assistant to GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 June 2018 via mobile

Stayed at this Hotel during our 4 nights in Playa del Carmen. The Hotel looks really nice and so does the rooms. Good service and quality in all aspects. Nice infinity pool, excellent pool bar. Good service at the bar, but one waitress was a bit rude (she clearly didn’t believe that I was staying at the Hotel, perhaps me wearing a soccer jersey wasn’t the normal), so I ordered allways at the bar. But food at the pool bar was great, and I loved the drinks. Will clearly recommend this Hotel when staying in Playa del Carmen.

Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Ole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna C, General Manager at The Fives Downtown Hotel & Residences, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Dear Ole M,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your kind remarks about the hotel, our rooms, the pool and for giving a special mention to our bar's excellent drinks! Please know we have taken notes about your feedback as our commitment to constantly improve our service. We hope to have the pleasure to host you one more time on your next visit to Playa del Carmen.
Kindly
Joanna Cruzvega
Assistant to GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 June 2018 via mobile

We moved here after a terrible experience at the hotel we initially booked as part of a group. We booked here super last minute using the Hotels Tonight app. We were pleasantly surprised by the size and design of the room. Since we booked on the app at such a low price we were expecting the worst roommate in the place but the room was great (caveat below).

The hotel is a few months old and everything is very fresh, nice, and new. Our standard room was nicely sized and well decorated. The rain shower was great after a day at the pool.

Service wise, everyone was very friendly and enthusiastic. I had read reviews saying guests had gotten bad service but I felt that everyone was enthusiastically doing their best even if sometimes they missed the mark a bit. I can chalk that up to cultural differences. Vicente and Ceino were both particularly friendly and helpful during our stay. There were definitely times when things felt understaffed at the pool and service took a long time. It didn’t seem like it was due to a lack of effort though it would have been nice to have had better service while we lounged. Overall, the rooftop pool and bar were great.

One warning, there is construction ongoing for an extension of the hotel building. I have mixed feelings here because I frankly couldn’t tell if the hotel was being unscrupulous or if they truly believed our stay wouldn’t be affected.

When we complained about the noise they told us the construction was unrelated to the hotel but I have a hard time believing that considering there’s a distinct, decorative wall tile in all the hotel rooms that we could also see being installed in the rooms being constructed when we walked by on the street.

To make a long story short, we were woken up the first morning around 8:15 to a very, very loud consistent hammering noise. We were a little annoyed but brushed it off and went down to get coffee. While drinking our coffee, I overheard an Australian woman talking with a bellman about the noise. The bellman was kind of acting like he didn’t know what she was talking about. I heard her tell him that she talked to the front desk about the noise and the front desk said they had no idea what she was talking about. In an effort to find out myself and also to aid her, I popped over and said we were disturbed by it too.

Later that afternoon, we were on the rooftop and heard the same hammering noise. So, I went over to the edge of the building and poked my head over only to discover that and entire building is being constructed as an addition the hotel. Surely, the entire staff was aware of such a large scale project.

Realizing the noise would clearly continue we went downstairs and asked the front desk about what hours and days the construction would be taking place. They informed us that they don’t have control over the construction because the building was unrelated but they would try to move us the next night to a room further from the noise. They did move us the next day - into a bigger room, even. Unfortunately, the new room was only slightly better from a construction noise perspective.

At that point we just gave up because we didn’t want to spend the whole trip arguing and moving rooms. Our second room was far enough from the constriction that we figured the sound reached every room in the hotel.

Lastly, this hotel is listed at a five star hotel and that gives me a bit of pause. There were just a few odd things like the hotel being unable to arrange a car home for us when we met friends out for dinner, our patio door needing maintenance, the deadbolt on the room door not working, or bath robes not being replaced but instead being picked up off the floor, folded, and left on the bed. As I noted we got a great last minute rate on Hotels Tonight but I probably would have been a little annoyed had we paid more.

All that to say, but for the construction noise, the hotel is was a good escape for our time in Playa del Carmen.

Stayed: June 2018
Thank CCW1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna C, General Manager at The Fives Downtown Hotel & Residences, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear CCW1987,
Thank you for your feedback; we appreciate you bringing these details to our team’s attention. Rest assured that it has all been shared with our team leaders for resolution and future operational excellence delivering a consistent service. We are delighted to read how much you liked our carefully designed rooms and our enthusiastic staff, we hope to have a future opportunity to welcome you back in The Fives Downtown Hotel & Residences.
Kindly,
Joanna Cruzvega
Assistant to General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 June 2018

Had a great stay here. The service is wonderful. There is construction going on next door so i recommend asking them to put you in a room far from it. The roof top is incredible! Dont miss it. Very close to everything you want. Great taco place behind the hotel, has a blue facade. Close to the beach and ferrys to cozumel and 5th ave. Walking distance from pretty much everything. I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Curio – A Collection by Hilton
1  Thank DIGG89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna C, General Manager at The Fives Downtown Hotel & Residences, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear DIGG89,
Thank you very much for your taking the time to share your lovely comments about your experience in The Fives Downtown Hotel & Residences. We are glad to see how you much enjoyed the privileged location our hotel is in and you had the opportunity to enjoy the beautiful places nearby such as Cozumel island. Please know we truly hope to see you again and will be looking forward your next visit!
Kind regards,
Joanna Cruzvega
Assistant to GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews